We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed before and after my Mt Kilimanjaro Trek.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 184 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017

This was a solo trip for me but I met up with others who booked the same tour.

This place was definitely a hidden gem. The location, grounds and atmosphere of this beautiful hotel was not what i expected. They were exceeded. I booked a Kilimanjaro climb and the tour company chose this hotel for our before and after stay. The staff was always friendly, attentive and accommodating. You are greeted with fresh fruit juice as you check-in.

You can walk the grounds and see various trees, plants and flowers. You can see the lake in the back some rooms have a glimpse of it for a view. The main building has the reception area, lounge/bar and restaurant each with a side entrance for direct access. It also had a gift shop and some other areas I didn't explore.

I think some of the rooms are newer than others as both my rooms had a few things different. My first room (higher#) had more electrical outlets in the main room and some in the bathroom with a hair dryer. Windows could be opened to have a nice breeze coming into the room. TV was flat screen I think.

My second room (lower#) did not have outlets or hair dryer in the bathroom but did have one in the main room. Windows in room were old and appeared broken and could not open. Toilet was directly behind the bathroom door with the doorstopper in a weird spot as you used it....There was a lot of room available for better placement of the toilet. TV worked but was one of those old big ones. This room was missing the laundry bag and some toiletry items that my first room had...most of this was more inconvenient.

Since I had two different rooms, I noticed the differences between the two...it did NOT take away from the overall experience and a few things...just needed to be attention to detail on the part of housekeeping.

The Restaurant was a nice place to eat with friends and had a nice menu.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here again. Attaching 6 photos viewable when approved.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ldjhns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ldjhns,

Thank you for taking your time to write a very detailed review of your recent stay with is before and after your Kilimanjaro trek.

we thank you for the suggestions and comments which we shall definitely discuss with the team here with a view to seek remedial action.

i hope we can have the pleasure of hosting you again next time you are in this part of the world.

Best Regards

Felix Ogembo
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

The large stone manor house is now tucked away with a multitude of thatched roof bungalows. The grounds are full of large, tropical flowers and vines among huge trees. The interior takes one back to Colonial Britain with interiors of lush fabrics and rich hues of deep mahogany browns.

The dining room was inviting, and the staff were exceptional in their wanting to fulfill our every wish.

The room we had was quiet, and comfortable, with huge bathrooms, and quality throughout. We thoroughly enjoyed out stay here. Highly recommend this to any travelers lucky enough to come this way.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OregonAngelwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear OregonAngelwings,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review after your recent stay with us. we are really delighted to read that you took your time to appreciate the architectural design and the interior decor of the hotel as well as enjoying our facilities.

we hope we can the pleasure of hosting you once more at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel.

Best regards

Felix Ogembo
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

After a long flight this hotel was a perfect place for a one night stop before starting our safari.
The main building takes you back 40 years with its beautiful frontage and lawn overlooking the lake.
The rooms were perfect, large, and most had a great view. Being able to make tea/coffee in your room was welcome.
Lunch on the lawn was relaxed and just what was needed.
The bar area was very welcoming in the evening, as were each and everyone of the staff throughout the hotel.
The evening set meal was excellent value $25 for 4 courses and tea/coffee.
Breakfast was excellent, all you could want with plenty of fresh fruit and hot food cooked to order.
Lovely garden areas to walk in and the opportunity to do a guided walk around the lake.
Would recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jenny H,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities as well.

Its our hope that we can have the pleasure of hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Felix Ogembo
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Everything about it from the service, to the rooms and food was very good - (including the vervet monkey on my doorstep, after breakfast.....).

As this was my first night in Tanzania, I didn't realise that all accommodation I stayed in (arguably, with the exception of the tents at Kiri Kiri camp in the Serengeti) have the same problem - lighting. If you want to read anything after 1800 in Tanzania (and in someplaces, including reception here, before then) make sure the torch in your mobile phone is well charged - better still bring an LED rechargeable torch. Rooms, reception, restaurants - you name it, they don't light it properly. Understand ambience/romance etc. but at check -in/out?????

Otherwise, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Simon,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken note of your comment on the lighting and i would like to assure you that we shall review this with the team with the hope of making improvements on the lighting. i hope that this did not however take away too much from your overall experience at the hotel.

i hope we can have the pleasure of hosting you again at lake Duluti Serena In the near future.

Best regards

Felix Ogembo
General Manager
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was once a private house which now has small but pretty thatched bungalows in the grounds with views of lake Duluti in the background. The rooms are furnished to a good standard with a tv and larger than average bathroom. The gardens are immaculate and very pretty. This hotel was the first we visited for our safari. Meals very good with good selection. Large communal lounge with bar. The monkeys made an appearance at breakfast time and provided photo opportunities not to be missed. Small gift shop on site. Only down side you can see lake Duluti in the background but didn't get close up to visit as part of our package. We returned to this hotel at the end of our stay which is approx 1hr from Kilimanjaro airport. Would definitely use again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Moya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Moya N,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review. we are glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel.

Best Regards

Felix M Ogembo
General manager
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

A lovely situation being able to see the lake from the bedroom. We didn't find the way to the lake which would have been pleasant. the staff were very willing turning out in the wee small hours to carry our bags to our taxi. As it was b and b we were sent away with a packed breakfast which had great variety and was very good

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Jane T,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us.
We have taken note of your comment and the team and i will look at it with a view to finding a way to make it easier for our guests to access the lake.

we look forward to hosting you again at lake Duluti Serena Hotel.

Best Regards

Felix Ogembo
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

The hotel is about a 45 minute ride from the airport and outside the town limits. (This is a description, not a drawback.) The hotel arranged the transportation for us. When we arrived, the posted dinner hour was nearly over, but the staff gladly provided us with a good meal. Our room was attractively furnished with an African motif, including mosquito netting, and comfortable. Meals were plentiful. The staff arranged a day tour (coffee tour). As we slept in the first morning, we did not have a full day to explore, so we did not see the grounds of the hotel which were quite picturesque.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Kristen a,

thank you for taking your time to write a review of your recent stay with us. we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with the team as well.

we hope we can have the pleasure of hosting you again for a longer stay so that you can explore our beautiful grounds as well.

Best regards

Felix Ogembo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
10.0 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
614 reviews
8.0 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
494 reviews
10.2 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
10.5 km away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
273 reviews
10.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Address: Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 184 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $206 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Duluti Serena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Mountain Village Lodge offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Duluti Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing