We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good camp ground but bring toilet paper!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twiga Campsite and Lodge
Ranked #40 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We are travelling as a family of six (kids aged 9-14) on a safari tour.
We camped here and as a campsite, it was lovely. The surrounds were nice under trees, there was a rather cold pool and good areas for our chef to work in & for us to eat.
The showers and toilets were not so good and need an upgrade. Although you need to bring toilet paper, we were provided with towels! However the amenities were in a better condition than our next campsite.
We didn't use the WiFi, as our guide was able to provide it for us.
It is a great place to stop on a camping safari, perhaps not to use as a lodge based on previous reviews though.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank LeethalLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

We stayed there for one night during our safari and really liked the place. Lodge room was comfortable and big, the dinner and breakfast were good as well. Staff is friendly and helpful and there's a small pool near the bar.

There were a few minor problems - there were lots of bees that were getting to our room under the door, so we had to block the way through, you need to pay for the internet and it's only available in the bar area (though we did get an hour free) and the breakfast could've been a bit larger.

But overall we had a nice stay there and if I'd go on another safari i wouldn't mind staying at this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmatys91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The service is very bad, the reception is a sad room more likely to be a the reception of an hospital. The staff was not very helpful when I asked about wi-fi, which - by the way - is free only for 30 minutes. The place is in a good and a strategic position, the rooms are ok, with AC, but are DIRTY: I found hairs in the shower....!
The food is not bad, although the dining room looks like a canteen with long queues, white walls and very poor neon/white-lights. The bar is very shady but very cheap. The lodge could improve with very little investments (like planting some banano tree near the walls of the lodge; making the dining room and reception a more decent places; giving free wi-fi..). If you can afford to spend more I recommend NOT to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank br1_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a camping experience, this is for you. If you want something a little more comfortable and upscale, spend a bit more money and go somewhere else. Rooms were dirty, shower horrible (no hot water 1 of 2 nights) and food is edible at best. Manager thought we were going steal a cup of coffee and yelled at us to pay on the spot, so customer service needs some polishing. Don't count on the wifi either.... that didn't work.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dreinblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We stopped over on our safari in Northern Tanzania in a small town Mto wa Mbu. This town is a mecca of Tanzanian culture in itself and a must see!

Twiga offered both lodging with spacious and clean rooms with hot water (joy!), as well as a tent area if you are on a camping safari with a guide and cooker/chef. The staff was friendly and attentive during our stay. African Wonderland Safaris made the right recommendation at the right price during our safari tour.

We were close enough to the center of town and had access to the markets and cultural tour locations. Lake Manyara NP is a quick drive down the road and we even took some time to go hiking up to the rim of the Rift Valley.

We enjoyed our short stay at Twiga and will stay there again when visiting in the Mto wa Mbu area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mjfmail2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Camped here the night before and the night after we camped in the Serengeti. The grounds themselves are nice but the toilet block needs looking after. Firstly, no loo roll in the toilets at any point. It's common in Tanzania but we hadn't expected to need some for the places we actually stayed at. The shower blocks have open drains so leave anything that might fall into them in your room/tent. The showers have big open windows towards the top so if someone was inclined to go around the back they could look in if standing on a stone or something.

When we returned from the Serengeti we were hoping to upgrade (sometimes you just need a private toilet), however we were told that the cheaper rooms had been taken. Some people in our party did upgrade however they were disappointed to find that they were exactly the same as the regular rooms.

There is a pool need the bar however it needed a clean. It was nice enough to pop your legs in and enjoy a cold beer in the evenings though. It was quite fun watching the bats swoop over it at dusk too.

Overall, it's a good place to stay, just needs a bit of attention paying to the toilet and shower blocks.

Room Tip: If you are thinking of upgrading your room ask to see a standard and an upgraded room before committ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

This is my third visit to Twiga, each time with a large group of students and accompanying team. The students pitch their tents under the shade of the trees on the grass, while the team and I stay in the rooms. After camping for several long hot days it is wonderful to have a hot shower, ceiling fan and comfortable bed. And the students are always very excited to see the swimming pool. Overall, I am always thrilled to be back in Twiga's peaceful haven!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Felicity K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
94.6 km away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 45 in Arusha
111 reviews
2.5 km away
Africa Safari Glamping Manyara
Africa Safari Glamping Manyara
#28 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
9 reviews
93.7 km away
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
33 reviews
22.1 km away
Eileen's Trees Inn
Eileen's Trees Inn
#5 of 55 in Karatu
251 reviews
4.4 km away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twiga Campsite and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twiga Campsite and Lodge

Address: Mto wa Mbu, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: C$42 - C$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Twiga Campsite and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing