We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
Nearby Hotels
Korona House(Arusha)
US$60
US$46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
US$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mvuli Hotel(Arusha)
US$55
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
97
29
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
29
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal marketcultural tourindividual hutsprimary schoolngorongoro craterswimming pooldriver guidespent nightsdala dalaafrican experiencecomfy bedafrican stylearusha national parknice staya great place to stayrooms are nicegrounds are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 135 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted warmly at KIA by Sandra and Amos and welcomed by all the staff upon arrival at the Vijiji Center. Really good family style meals cooked on site by an excellent staff who are always willing to help and guide you for a perfectly Arusha experience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank PebblesTheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Vijiji center is an amazing place to stay. The staff is unbelievably friendly and always around to help with anything you could need. The guides were incredibly knowledgeable and always willing to answer questions and teach us about the village and the culture.
The meals were delicious (every meal cooked with fresh, local produce from the market next door), and the rooms were beautiful - hot showers and wifi and electricity really helped to make the stay comforting and relaxing. The whole center is beautifully furnished and has amazing gardens and flowers and trees everywhere. And everyone in the village outside of Vijiji was so welcoming and friendly to us.
The staff went out of their way every day to make it feel like home, and I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone travelling through Arusha.
It is definitely the place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were very pleased we chose to spend our first 2 nights in Tanzania in Vijiji - Amos and his team did everything they could to ensure our holiday got off to the perfect start.
Nice rooms, hot showers, comfy bed, lovely gardens to relax in, great restaurant, peaceful location - Vijiji is a great mid-range option in Arusha. The pool was not quite finished when we were there (the hotel only opened in January, we were there first week in Feb) but understand that it should be ready for use very soon.
The hotel is located just outside Arusha, on the way to Mount Meru/Arusha national park
Amos did everything he could to make sure we made the most of our stay - he took us to a great local restaurant, arranged a great day in Arusha national park and took us to Arusha airport at the crack of dawn so we could catch our very early flight. The rest of the team were also great - especially the guys in the restaurant. Meals were good, plentiful and served with a smile.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed to be equally as good
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJ1234029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have just returned to Canada from time in Kenya and Tanzania, including 10 Days (Safari and local tours) hosted by Vijiji Center. Coming from Kenya,we were pleasantly surprised with the lush vegetation, moderate climate, good roads, and beautiful mountain scenery around Arusha.

A customized 7 day safari was organized by Vijiji to experience the best of local parks and wildlife, and included a walking safari, and visit with a Bushman's camp near Lake Eyasi. We were very fortunate to witness the beginnings of the great wildebeest migration in the Lake Ndutu area, and a little less lucky with an early arrival of seasonal rains! At times this made travel in the area quite challenging, but the skilled Vijiji driver Nicxon kept us moving! The remaining days were spent enjoying cultural tours in the local area, based at Vijiji, including an introduction to local agriculture, a primary school, and Maasi village. Managers Suma and Amos were excellent guides and hosts!

We found the accommodation at Vijiji very comfortable ('a home away from home'), the staff very friendly and accommodating, and the food very good. Compared with our more 'commercial tour' in Kenya, we enjoyed a very personal, and authentic experience with Vijiji, sending us home with lifetime memories! The whole package of safari, tours and accommodation was very reasonably priced and great value compared to similar more commercial operations. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I've been to Vijiji Center and was very satisfied with the welcome of the crew there ! Tila, the manager has been very nice to me and offered me a tour in his center with explanations about the wonderful paintings that surround the place and explain the History of the region of Arusha and of course of the Tanzanian land. Fascinating!

Room Tip: Feel free to ask before you book, or even after arrival, im sure the manager will find the best for you!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yohann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews