We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Training and wonderful Team !!!

I was training at Rawai for two weeks this year in November. It was a great experience wether you... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Chriscologne1975
via mobile
The best place to train

I love Rawai! I stayed 9 days and by the time I left it felt like family. The trainers are... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
na_claire
,
Los Angeles, California
via mobile
Read all 88 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Khao Lak
from US$234.70
More Info
from US$109.50
More Info
from US$109.50
More Info
from US$60.00
More Info
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
68
19
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
19
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great training group sessions great gym weight loss unlimited data training area personal training private lesson heavy bags morning session local hotel martial arts training camp rent a scooter speak good english phuket area air con
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 88 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2018

As a complete novice at Muay Thai I was looked after for the first few days, the trainers are friendly and professional. The gym experience is lively and energetic. The camp felt safe and staff are friendly. I had a great experience here and recommend making the trip. The camp is 5km from the beach so you will need to rent a scooter (200 baht / €5 per day) or get a taxi. They train from beginner to fighting levels. You can book private sessions too. Really happy with my stay here and imagine that I will be back to train in the future. Food is good, good prices and there are some other restaurants nearby to switch up, recommend Tik restaurant & Happy Time. Couldn't fault the place atall.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank ail0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2018 via mobile

It’s clear that Rawai Muay Thai have the best gym in Khao Lak. It’s by far the largest out of why we have seen, with more than 4 rings, but also the most structured.

I went to the Ilovekickboxing gym back in the USA, it was/is an excellent workout, but not focused as much on technique. When I got here, you practically have a 1x1 the entire time. Structure starts with a warm up jump roping for 5-10min, then 8 Laos around the gym jogging as a group. After that an instructor will lead a thorough group stretch to make sure everything is ready. They then assign you based on “new,” or “experienced.” New start off by learning each move while the experienced group breaks up into 2 groups, one group does bags while the other group is 1x1 in the ring while a Thai instructor holds Pads for you for 5 rounds of 3min each. Incredibly hard workout! Then the groups switch, bags goes to padwork and vice versa.

Each day of the week remains consistent with a theme, kicking, mitwork, etc. I really enjoy the excellent structure and the Thai guys make you feel so welcomed and teach you so much. Some know more English than others, if you stay a while I’m sure they would appreciate English lessons traded for Thai language lessons, if you’re into it.

Lastly, the group finishes with some abs but mostly a good stretch. Honestly a lot of people who go here come year after year, a lot of foreigners practicing, and the people are awesome. Highly recommend and awesome rats too.

There is a morning class 7:30-9:30 and a 4:00-6:00 class, some people come twice a day. It’s 300thb a class, but the monthly packages are well worth it!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Alix M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana_Campillo, Owner at Rawai Muay Thai, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Thanks for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed training with us.

Sincerely,
Diana
Rawai Muay Thai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

Had a great time at Rawai Muay Thai in the two weeks of training! Speaking for myself, I could moslty improve my Muay Thai techniques, especially while sparring with their young Thai champs. It is a more traditional camp (for example they teach you the Wai Khru) and has a nice family-atmosphere. Tuk and Diana (owners of the gym) were super friendly and helpful, although sparring with Tuk is very exhausting (but beneficial) :D Btw: the beaches in Khao Lak are a very beautiful and nice to hang out during the two training sessions ;) Just consider: the gym is not close to the city center, but in a calm and green area. Note that you need a scooter on the daily basis to get around.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Anja Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana_Campillo, Owner at Rawai Muay Thai, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Thank you for your nice review. glad you enjoyed training with us.

Sincerely,
Diana
Rawai Muay Thai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile

Amazing gym to train. Every body is friendly and welcoming. The gym is keep very clean and most trainers speak good English. The rooms are also very nice as is the pool for chilling out after training. There is much to see and do also if you have days off training and so much choice for food. I would definitely recommend Tik's resultant which is only about 300 meters from the gym. Hope this helps

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank MickyC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

All levels and everyone is welcomed. Family vibe promoted and easy to make new friends from all over the world. Training is offered 2 hours in the morning n evening. Beach training on Saturdays and restaurant and massage on site. 3 restaurants in close proximity also.. I’ve enjoyed the tranquil setting in the thai countryside. There are stray dogs n cats roaming around but they are friendly like family pets free range roam. I felt very comfortable and safe here and the beaches of Khao Lak are so much prettier and less crowded than Phuket area. I will come back again and recommend anyone interested in training Muay Thai...whether that be fighter training or for weight loss and healthy benefits. The traditional thai massage is the best I’ve ever had..all my knots were gone. Scooters are for rent 200 baht and it is much quieter area so driving around khao Lak is much more relaxing than Phuket. There is photographer that offered to capture your training moments and they can help you book several action packed water, sightseeing adventures.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank vickfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews