We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Flora Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Leaf Oceanside(Khuk Khak)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$31
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$37
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MANATHAI Khao Lak(Khao Lak)
US$76
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leaf on The Sands(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sarojin(Khao Lak)
US$749
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveller rating
669
334
89
28
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
669
334
89
28
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio roompool access roomview restaurantsunny sideday bedhappy hourbars and restaurantsbeach barour honeymoongarden villamain poolsun loungersinfinity pooljames bond islandchinese new yearplenty of sunbedselephant trekking
Filter
Updating list...
559 - 564 of 1,125 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed for 6 days at the La Flora recently. As were were having a two-centred holiday, I decided to pay more money for La Flora (over £100 a night for the standard `Deluxe room` as it read as if it was of a high standard), and then stay at a lower rated/cheaper hotel in Kammala, Phuket. Ironically we enjoyed the cheaper hotel more than La Flora.

We booked the Deluxe room. At first I thought it was quite nice. It had a lovely big balcony, with good views towards the sea. But on closer inspection, although it was trying to be contemporary in style, it was dated in parts. We had a old fashioned box tv. Not flat screen as they present on their website. There was a little white plastic fridge on display which you would expect to see in a bed and breakfast. Normally in a reasonably stylish hotel they are integrated. The worst part was our bathroom. They had obvously refurbed part of it to look contemporary, but had the original sink taps which were white plastic from the 90s. The same with the shower too. It had a really old fashioned surround, which was so shabby, terribly grouted. Really not up to scratch for the price we paid. We complained and after showing us other rooms (which still were shabby in places), they upgraded us. To be fair, the manager was very professional and handled it well.

The grounds were ok, but, have seen much nicer hotel gardens. They were nicer at night. The beach was quite nice as was really long and wide.Golden sand, warm sea. Have been to much nicer, but it did have something very nice and relaxing about it. There were no hawkers either.

The breakfast was reasonably good, especially the omlettes. The fruit selection was good, it had most of the usual selection. Dissappointed though no fresh fruit juices which you normally get it in Thailand.

The staff in general were lovely and helpful.

One of the reasons I chose this hotel, was to play tennis every day with a coach which they said they had in previous email conversations. It turned out they didn't actually have a coach, just a `knocker`. This was misleading, but turned outto be ok as I played every day with the knocker whose name was Oil, who was a lovely guy and we played some good tennis. But the balls that they provided were so poor, they hardly bounced! So we had to use mine the whole time as the hotel wouldn't buy anymore for us. I think the hotels website is very misleading when it comes to what they offer for recreation in general. The gym too was dissappointing. The treadmill was on it's last legs, and it had a very limited equipment. They didn't even provide water. Most of the people that I met in the gym moaned about that.

I really liked Bang Niang at night. La Flora has an excellent location. You can just walk down to the main few roads which are very close and there is a really good selection of resteraunts and bars. We had some excellent food for both lunch and dinner and it was cheap. I recommend Sawsadee and Rabang, and the one right at the end of the street overlooking the beach. I loved the little bars. They had such a lovely, relaxing vibe.My favourtes were Mumbar and Piranha. I found most of the people in Khao Lak genuine and friendly and not out to rip you off. It had a lovely feeling about it.

I liked the hotel bar on the beach at night. It was great to have a drink on the beach at end of the night and chat with other guests. The drinks were actually not that expensive to say it was a hotel bar.

Overall, I was dissappointed with the standard of the rooms of the hotel. Therefore I didn't find it good value for money. It was overpriced. However, we had a good time still and liked Khao Lak and Bang Niang.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sweetpeakirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear sweetpeakirk,

Thank you very much for your staying with us recently and for taking your time left a review on us here in Tripadvisor.

We all regret to know that even we did our best, you still feel dissappointing and feel overpriced to stay with us. All of your constructive comments has been shared in the management meeting in order to put into our improvement plan for a better service offer to our valuable guest.

We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A very happy and well run hotel. The service was wonderful from everyone – reception, restaurant, cleaners, sports personnel etc. Everyone was polite, smiling and charming. It was our wedding anniversary while we were there and when we went back to our room from the pool, our room was transformed. On the bed were two swans fashioned out of towels and two big hearts made out of flowers. There was an iced cake with a personal message, a vase of flowers, a personalised card signed by the manager and a bottle of champagne. The jacuzzi bath had been filled, with rose petals and flowers floating on the top. Lovely! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: The best rooms overlook the second pool. Some have direct pool access, so you can walk straight into to the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Judith G,

Hope it is not too late to say congratulation to your wedding anniverary once again!

Thank you very much for choosing us to celebrate your special occasion and we all more than happy to know that it turn out be one of your memorable experience. Thanks to the Housekeeping team for their room arrangement, Food & Beverage team for champagne and cake set up.

You are more than welcomed for the next annivesary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here 5 nights wish it could have been longer , stunning hotel on a lovely sandy beach, with a beautiful pool. Our rooms were spacious and clean , Breakfast was very good egg station for omlettes etc. Lovely walks on the beach with restaraunts on the beach. would love to go back so restful no rush for sunbeds .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riley021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Riley021,

Thank you very much for your recent staying with us and yes, we also wish to have you hear for more than 5 nights!

We appreciate your nice review left here and look forward to your re-visit soon, maybe 2 weeks stay this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

just arrived back after 14 nights it was amazing so clean, pool area great, resturant great just a bit on the pricey side but there are loads on the beach which you can eat for next to nothing and the thia people are so friendly, the owner of this hotel even walks round a lot speaking to guests, all the staff are very good nothing is to much trouble for them, had a tsumi warning while we were there, scareist thing ive experinced but the thia people took us into there homes and were so orginised it was untrue, would not hesitate going back again, the swimming pool is amazing and only a couple of steps to the sea which was like getting into a warm bath!!!

Room Tip: ask for a pool room your room goes directly onto the pool
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chizzyliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear chizzyliverpool,

It is so nice to know that you have left us with a memorable experience, to be mentioned as "The best ever" is something so specail!

We did our best during the unfortunate Tsunami Warning situation, most of our guest appreciate our effort and even some who we missed during the evacuation due to they were not in the hotel has been assisted by local people. Everybody in the area not just our staff has done a great job on this, the bright side of this is we gain more confident from both guest and staff of how we manage the situation.

We all look forward to see you back here once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed here eight nights at beginning of April one of the few hotels we would return to. On arrival the hotel has a small informal reception area,no problems at check in or check out.
The hotel is located in a quiet area which has a beach front location, central for short walk into town or five minute TukTuk into Khao lak town , with many good restaurants close by either a short stroll along the beach or into town, ,The grounds are very compact the pools good size with no shortage of sunbeds.We stayed in the standard deluxe rooms which were very spacious with plenty of storage areas, the toilet had separate bath and shower area.The staff and service were very good and the food at breakfast was excellent.
For the first time we booked an excursion through the hotel instead of a local operator and although slightly more expensive the service throughout the day was second to none and I must pay tribute to their rep "Tiger" who was brilliant.
Our only negative was that at night we used to have a drink at "happy hour" before going to our room but on one occasion they cancelled it for it was too busy! I thought the idea was to attract people?
So if you are looking for somewhere away from the party places this is ideal

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snaps57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear snaps57,

Thank you very much for your nice review on us, we all glad to hear that you have had a great staying with us recently. We have passed your personally mentioning to "Tiger" who were so joy to know that you could remember and appreciate his service.

The only negative regarding the "Happy Hour" might be a misunderstanding as we never cancel it because we are "too busy", in fact we would cancel if we have specail function or the weekly theme night. We also brief our staff on this so that we can communicate the right information to our guest in the future.

Look forward to welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews