We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
286
198
109
44
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
198
109
44
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entertainment team water gymnastics ocean grill bigger room carpe diem swimming pool cleaning staff hotel is situated rooms are big thai massage mattress topper main town breakfast buffet table tennis family room kids club phuket airport
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 668 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Villa #7 close to the swimming pool and about 10m away from the beach. Beautiful.

Unfortunately, this resort has more cons than pros.

For the price one pays, I definitely expected a finer place.....
- Very unfriendly staff with lack of communication skills.
- Poor wifi connection.
- Housekeeping unsatisfactory: They only come in after 3pm to “clean”.
- Buffet breakfast was an absolute nightmare! A struggle to find cutlery. Plates were served wet after dishwashing. Empty casseroles, fruit bowls and pastry baskets until someone asks a staff member to refill them.
- To top it all off, the peacefulness was demolished by all of the renovations that took place on the premises.

Really disappointed. Would not return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Linke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days. A lot of chinese people here (they cater for bus loads full daily). Renovations at reception, Turtle Restaurant, kids pool, shop- all over. Beach restaurant also being built/renovated. Staff not too friendly... training seems to be lacking. Rooms cleaned after 15h00. Sooo many kids in pool at beach... no rest there. Beautiful beach and close to Tablamu pier.

Tips:

Eat breakfast after 8...
Phone hotel before booking to hear if renovations are finished.
Lovely spa right at the end of road of town. Ask for Donut- precious soul!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AnnelineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017

Despite the fact that renovations were underway, the staff went out of their way to ensure my stay was a positive one. I felt welcome at all times, and all of my needs were met. The renovations, which all hotels need at some point, were not a problem for me; the staff took them into account and provided a room with no disturbance or noise. I can see that the resort will definitely benefit from them this high season.
My room was well maintained and had a few little flourishes here and there to make it feel welcoming. It was clean, bright and airy, and, as mentioned, I had no noise to disturb me in the part of the resort where I was staying.
Special mention to the staff at the front desk. They were very helpful, always cheerful and polite, and a gave me plenty of tips regarding the local area.
I would definitely return to the Emerald Beach Resort, and am already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MattJC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017

Stayed for a week, and we enjoyed our stay very much.The staff are very friendly and accommodating,We were settled in very quickly after our long journey and from that moment we had nothing but friendly,professional and quick service from the minute we arrived to our final farewell.
Tip: If you want to avoid the noise from Chinese guest you can have a breakfast from 8 in the morning onwards, as we notice they have gone for a trip by this time.Overall, we enjoyed our stay! Thank you very much Emerald Team for an awesome experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank smarie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Emerald, Manager at Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear "smarie2017"

We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are grateful to have you at Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort and Spa and we are hoping that you will consider staying with us again should your travels bring you back to Khaolak. Thanks once again and we wish you pleasant journeys.

Best regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

This hotel now caters on mass for Chinese tour groups who have no regard for other guests. They scream and shout running up the echoing corridors slamming doors all night. For four nights we suffered this until 2 or 3 in the morning. Forget trying to have breakfast. They charge in again screaming and shouting grabbing everything , walking around shoveling food in their mouths , dropping it on the floor and piling it on their tables then leaving most of it.The only quiet you get her is during the day when they go on trips. Our trip was totally spoilt and the only response from staff was sorry sorry they are noisy!! We are leaving today for a smaller hotel that does not take these groups,who according to the front desk come all year around now. They get discounted prices and spoil it for the other guests. The beach was nice the pool and hotel grounds pretty and room good .Breakfast is hard to rate as you can't get anything as it's grabbed in front of your eyes.The breakfast restaurant is so noisy it's so unpleasant , it's better to go elsewhere. We shall never return again to this once lovley hotel..

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank teeno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Emerald, Manager at Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2017

Dear "teeno1",

We regret that the experience you had at the hotel did not meet your expectations. While we have received so many positive feedback recently, it is always concerning when guests leave with a negative impression. I read that this was primarily due to the noise from other guests. We've done our utmost to remind guests to respect the privacy of others. It seems that we need to do a better job at this. We are privileged to welcome guests from all over the world and at certain months of the year we may have more guests from one country than others. This is not only evident at the resort but everywhere on Khaolak or even more, in Thailand. We understood that you have informed the reception about Chinese noise on the night before you checked out, the resort reception is 24 hours on service, we could have been happy to assist you to move you to a room where you will be more comfortable if only informed us earlier . As what you have shared in your review, Chinese groups are out during the day for tours, so they normally have breakfast very early in the morning. Breakfast starts from 6AM – 10AM, most of our foreign guests come down for breakfast around 8-10 AM, when it’s a lot quieter. Meanwhile, we thank you for your appraisal of our beach, pool, hotel grounds and room, thank you for mentioning this in your review. We do appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for staying with us. We all wish you many pleasant journeys.

Best regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews