We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value by the beach and a short walk from the hustle & bustle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suwan Palm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suwan Palm Resort
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great value by the beach and a short walk from the hustle & bustle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

For the equivalent of about $20 a night I found the Suwan Palm Resort to be great value. Granted. it's no 5 star resort, but I don't go on holidays to a foreign country only to spend time confined at a resort. Nevertheless this place had wireless internet access (just get the password from reception upon your arrival), a reasonably sized swimming pool, enough to do short laps up and down or to throw a ball around with your family and have a bit of a splash about.
When checking in, I noticed the reception area had a strange odour, I though it was urine because it smelt faintly like a public toilet, but there was no such problem in the room or anywhere else. Staff were pleasant.
There is direct access to Nang Thong Beach at the rear of the property, with a few bamboo lounge chairs scattered around to lie down on. The water is a great temperature, just watch the current, though I had no trouble when I went in for a dip.
There is a restaurant at the resort but I'm not sure if it only serves breakfast, or whether it is open during the day. I got the impression it only served breakfast, and I didn't take advantage of this anyway.
The property itself has a pleasant atmosphere, with palm trees around it, especially at the entrance. There is parking at the front, enough for 3-4 cars and some scooters.
The rooms are what westerners would expect of a 3-star hotel/motel, and the TV had a good selection of English and Thai channels, as well as some other European language channels from memory. An in-room safe was provided, and everything worked. I'm not sure what had happened but the ceiling had partially collapsed in the corner of the bathroom. It wasn't a danger though, I suspect it was just due to poor workmanship.
The Suwan Palm Resort is about 15 minutes' walk from the main road in Khao Lak, with a good selection of restaurants and other souvenir shops in that area.To get to the resort from the main road, you head towards the beach down the smaller road which has the taxi/songthaew and bus stop on the corner, and follow the signs. If catching a public bus from Phuket, it will drop you right on that corner. In the evenings, there is a nice roti cart which sets up on that corner also.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    70
    43
    11
    13
See reviews for
35
78
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bedale
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

hotel is small and cosy, does need a little updating, pool small but cleaned every other day, beach clean, enough sun beds but not enough brollies/sunshades, the sea is great to swim in but no good for snorkelling as visibility bad due to strength of current and size of waves especially when tide coming in. location of the hotel is away from main drag which makes it lovely and quiet during day, khaolakfriends.com have a little eatery on beach at back of hotel which is great for snacks and drinks during day, then only 10 minute walk up to main street where there is loads of choices for eating ,drinking,shopping etc. great value if booked through someone like agoda, hotel direct rates are too high for standard of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Suwan Palm was an average hotel but it has an exellent location on the beach. The beach is very nice, clean and worthy of swimming just there and the hotel has a few sunbeds on the beach. Hotel has also a famous beach restaurant with reasonable priced foods. Good choice for lunch.

Our familyroom had two doublebeds and a balcony. Room was big enough but a little bit tired, smelly and dirty. Hotelbuilding is in quite bad repair and needs fixing. The reception is a small box and the staff was not very polite.
I think 100 eur per night is too much though it was a peak season.

We liked Khao Lak very much and it became a new favourite destination in Thailand for our family. We have been to Thailand in over 10 places and Khao Lak is one of the best.
Next time we don´t stay at Suwan Palm. There are many charming hotels nearby with same price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

We spent only two nights here and it was enough.

We checked in late so got a very basic room on the ground floor. There was nothing wrong with it , but it was very tired and simple little things we asked for took several requests. The bed was rock hard but we had gotten used to hard Asian beds by this stage of our trip.

The staff were nice enough and the breakfast perfectly adequate. The restuarant on the beach was also OK but it was nothing special.

The good points were its location on the beach and just off the very centre of Khao Lak for shopping or arranging trips.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

only 3 couples staying at the hotel when we stayed. to they up graded us to the top floor. it was facing the sea. there is no lift a bit of a strain after walking back from shopping in the heat and not good on the knees. a ghostly figure on the door both nights l took a picture
it did not bother us though. its good if you want to get away from areas like patong nice and quiet. there is a McDonalds for the kids and the big kids it has great aircon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stayed at Suwan Palm for 8 nights. The staff were friendly and pretty helpful. There wasn't too many people staying here, it was low season. Room was neat and had all the essentials. We like a firm bed but the bed here was pretty hard. The resort could do with a spruce up. its a little run down in places. Have to be careful walking on some of the wooden walkways. Some of the wooden slats were cracked. But the owner was replacing some while we were there. Also the irish Pub they advertise on their website is no longer there. There is however a great little pizza place instead. Does pretty good pizza's. They also didn't have internet access whilst we were there. But you can get it cheaper in town anyway. Also when we went to check out we couldn't pay by credit card as there machine wasn't working. So would suggest you check with reception a few hours before your check out that this facility is working. We also had the power go out on us a few times (I'm guessing thats normal as they supply a torch in your room) But it didn't really interfere with us at all. The resort is located in a good spot, right on the beach and its pretty quite which was nice. It was only a 5 -10min walk into town. It was nothing flash, but it was enough for us. Also this time of year not all places are open for business in town. But the ones that were the food and people were wonderful. I would also recommend stopping for a massage at B Massage. Its on the road into town and the girls here were fantastic. They do excellent thai & foot massages.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiseCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We booked this place online and the rates were $20 a night! I'm not sure what its like in high season, but I loved that there were not a ton of tourists around and the beach felt private. There were only a handful of people at the beaches while I was there. They upgraded our room and we had an ocean front view from the balcony. It's steps away from the beach and the staff was incredible. The rooms are a bit dated, but very clean and comfortable. You can't beat it for what we paid. We were originally going to stay one night but stayed for 3! You can read more about my experience at: www.discoverystreet.blogspot.com

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discoverystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.2 km away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#2 of 7 in Khuk Khak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 km away
Khaolak Oriental Resort
Khaolak Oriental Resort
#21 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
9.5 km away
Palm Galleria Resort
Palm Galleria Resort
#43 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Baan Krating Khao Lak
Baan Krating Khao Lak
#52 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 km away
Baan Khaolak Beach Resort
Baan Khaolak Beach Resort
#42 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suwan Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suwan Palm Resort

Property: Suwan Palm Resort
Address: 30/27 Moo 7, Nang-Thong Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suwan Palm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suwan Palm Resort is now under new management since its recent reaquisition from a rental company back to the owner in November of 2014. The Latest renovations include new premium mattresses for ultimate comfort, new air-conditioning systems, new flat screen TV's, an improved water system and thorough safety inspections. Enjoy a swim in our pool, or a dip in the ocean, a walk on the beach or perhaps a massage on the beach. International buffet style breakfast and live entertainment by Canadian musicians at our beach restaurant and bar. Suwan Palm Resort is moving forward by grand leaps in terms of quality, service, comfort, dining, entertainment and most importantly, customer satisfaction. Give Suwan Palm the opportunity to provide you with comfort, relaxation and great memories you deserve at a very reasonable price. Suwan Palm Resort is striving to become the most sought after boutique resort in Khao Lak, Phang Nga Thailand by 2018. See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Suwan Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suwan Palm Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing