We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Most educative way to spend a chill day

authentic market tour with a lot of tasting (keep away from thai olives :)), beautiful home with... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 5 days ago
lucianpri
,
Barcelona, Spain
Great cooking class

I never really cooked Thaï cuisine, I really enjoyed the class with a great teacher and great... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 1 week ago
Dreamer09249230087
,
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Read all 783 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Rai
from US$62.60
More Info
from US$90.80
More Info
from US$68.90
More Info
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveller rating
738
43
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
738
43
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market tour local market nan fresh ingredients thai food cooking course great teacher cooking teacher local snacks different foods step by step market experience papaya salad curry paste from scratch speaks excellent english takes place
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 783 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful day with Nan and Suwannee. Nan picked us up and led us on a very interesting tour of the morning market. We went from stall to stall meeting the locals and selecting the finest ingredients. Lots of sampling and tasting too! Once we arrived at their beautiful country home we enjoyed delicious appetizers. Suwannee had the kitchen ready with a separate cooking station for each class member. We had so much fun learning to prepare and cook each menu item. The other class members were delightful to spend the day with. And the food was some of the best Thai food I've ever eaten. Anyone would enjoy this class!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Zillah989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwanneekwan, Manager at Suwannee Thai Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Eileen and Dave,
Thank you for your kind words, we wish you enjoy Thai Cooking back home with your family especially making Banana Stemed Cake with your grandson.
Regards,
Suwannee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2018

Welcoming teachers providing the authentic flare that everyone is looking for when attending something like this. I would recommend this to any and everyone as it provided every aspect of cooking, from selecting the food at the market of which was an experience in and of itself to preparing and communicating with the teachers in their own home. If you have the good fortune to attend this class, it will be a beautiful memory for you to keep.

Date of experience: October 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Sunshine35598465315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwanneekwan, Manager at Suwannee Thai Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for a great review, we wish you enjoy your own Thai Cooking back home.
Regards,
Suwannee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018

This Cooking class was recommended to us by the Concierge at the Le Meridian. From the pick up at the hotel, Nan, our guide and cook for the day, was very personable and her genuine interest in us as a couple was endearing. The market visit was outstanding. We met many locals, all personally known by Nan. We learned a great deal about the food, the wares the culture and the friendliness of the locals added greatly to the activity.
Nan made the cooking class great fun and the overall experience was very enjoyable. Nan was informative and her bubbly, interactive style was a pleasure as we learned about the ingredients, the importance of selecting fresh produce, the methods and the order in which they are used etc. This led to an outstanding lunch. Nan’s photos were great and captured the fun we had. Furthermore, we have been able to use the skills (and the recipes) to create and enjoy authentic Thai food now that we have returned home.
Overall Suwanneekwan (Nan’s aunt and the owner) was an outstanding host who ensures that the Cooking Class has an excellent touch of class.
We highly recommend this activity to any visitor interested in learning about Thai cooking and culture.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank TripMember12662016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwanneekwan, Manager at Suwannee Thai Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Dear David and Linda,
Thank you very much for joining and for writing this pleasant feedback. We're delighted to know that you've enjoyed the market Tour and cooking class with our terrific guide, Nan she’ll be so happy when she reads this review.
We wish you enjoy your journey though Thailand.
Regards,
Suwannee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018

I learned invaluable cooking skills - for both Thai food and cooking in general - that I will always remember. I also had a blast doing it. I only wish I had time in Chiang Rai to take more classes! Will definitely do it again when I am back in town.

Date of experience: October 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Tourist53027415175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwanneekwan, Manager at Suwannee Thai Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear Marissa,
Thank you for your review, we are so happy to be a part of your Chiangrai’s memories and hope to serve you again in nearby future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2018

I would highly, highly recommend anyone visiting Chiang Rai to sign up for a cooking class with Suwannee. She makes it fun, entertaining and an informative day. We started the morning visiting a local market selecting our ingredients for our Thai cooking experience. Suwannee's attention to detail and knowledge of the Thai cuisine makes her a first class act.

Date of experience: October 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Winnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwanneekwan, Manager at Suwannee Thai Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Dear Winnie,
Thanks so much for the lovely review. So pleased that we managed to amuse whilst teaching you too! We hope to see you back someday.
Regards,
Suwannee Thai Cooking Class Chiangrai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews