We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$57
View deal
Expedia.com
US$60
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-09
Agoda.com
US$51
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-08
PricelineUS$57
Hotels.comUS$60
Destinia.comUS$99
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
287
201
36
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
287
201
36
9
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 539 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Imperial River House was my base for four nights at the very beginning of a five-stop South East Asia tour. The hotel is situated in a quiet semi-rural riverside location about 10 minutes by taxi from Chiang Rai proper. The property is beautifully maintained with gleaming floors throughout.

All the staff are extremely courteous and helpful, particularly the restaurant staff. The restaurant itself though, like the hotel in general, has a slightly utilitarian feel to it, but having said that, the food is excellent and amazing value. Perhaps this was because the hotel appeared to have very low occupancy during our stay. On the plus side this meant we had the pool and surrounding gardens almost to ourselves – the prefect antidote to jetlag and relaxation.

The rooms are standard fare, all overlook the river but sadly the design of the hotel means that none have balconies. Free (and decent strength) wi-fi is available throughout the property.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garfster_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Khun Garfster_S,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, may I take this opportunity to introduce the Balcony River View Suite (the very nice larger room with big balcony at the corner of each floor) as an alternative for your next time visit. However, we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Room size is very spacious and comfortable. Beds are comfortable. Bedroom and bathroom are clean and spacious. Provide everything you expect like hairdryer, free water, hot coffee and tea. There are shower, large bathtub in Bathroom. Private, Peaceful, calm and good location. Service mind. We will back here for sure.

Room tip: We stayed Deluxe room and it's perfect and all rooms are nice scenery. Hotel is a single corridor.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LcLk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Khun LekVP,

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just left the Imperial Riverhouse hotel in Chiang Rai, Thailand. We spent five nights at this wonderful resort on the outskirts of downtown Chiang Rai. If you are ambitious, you can walk the 2.5 miles to the city center from the property. We often walked, but the tuk-tuk fare was around 100 baht one way. The resort fulfilled many of our needs: rooms were spacious, clean, and very comfortable; breakfast and other meals were tasty and reasonable; pool area was a major plus; and the staff delightful. I should mention that the breakfast was part of the room rate. If you decide to have clothes cleaned, be aware that it is pretty costly.....think twice about that! A typical rate for high season was nearly $125 so plan for that. Overall, we were super pleased with our stay at the Imperial and would recommend the resort highly.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Khun Jeffrey49,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. However, we definitely took your comment regarding the laundry price to our attention and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next visit Chiang Rai

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was initially known as River house resort Before it is rebranded I booked this hotel becaue I get special price. The lobby and the pool look great although we didnt have a chance to swim. The hotel is situated next to Kok river and the view there in the morning is absolutely great. Better take a walk there when the sun rise or sun set. On the first night we stayed on the cottages because the room on the main building was fully booked. Thr bed on the cottage was quite dirty. There were several dead ants on mattress. We had to call maid to clean up. The room cannot keep the warm. The floor was too cool too in the morning. The next two night I stayed on the main wing which is a lot better. The room and bathroom is quite large by a standard four stars hotel. The view was great too though theres no balcony. I really like porridge and cheese omelette that is served in the breakfast. Overall it is a really good hotel and probably the best Imperial brand hotel. (I dont really like this brand though because its normal standard is quite low)

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kibibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay wiht us recently. We are very appreciated with all of your comments and sincerely apologized you for all inconveniences that occured during your stay at the cottage. Please be assured that the problems you've faced at the cottage has now brought up to our attention for the improvement purpose.

By the way, we look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J. (Ms.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very peaceful and calm atmosphere. Lovely big pool which our kids enjoyed. Room was very well appointed and big enough for our little family of 4. Felt spotlessly clean. Bathroom was great (although shower could have used some bleach for a little bit of mould showing). Enjoyed the lovely bath products. Other reviews have pointed out the remote location however the mini bus was very handy. All in all very happy with our stay and would recommend as a short stay for those wanting a bit of peace. (Which we were after a few hectic days in Bangkok)

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews