We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel, or posh guest house.”
Review of Araya Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Araya Residence
Ranked #186 of 291 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel, or posh guest house.”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I recently booked on-line for a a 3 day stay at the Araya residence, where it was described on its web site as a "brand new boutique hotel" .... well, in my mind, brand new should mean just that, and clearly the Araya has been around for some time.
It also doesn't help sooth things when you book online for the lowest guaranteed rate, (1300 bht), only to find a blackboard at the door, advertising rooms for 1000 Bht - yes, it probably was lesser quality room, but then why not offer that on the net too !
The rooms were a little tired, and the bathroom, had a somewhat contemporary smooth rendered concrete look, unfortunately this gave rise to a lot of black stains in the shower area where it must have been difficult to clean (compared to tiles).
The bed was nice with clean plump duvets, and the TV carried a few English channels.
OK, that's the bad bits .... on a positive note, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and it felt like a personal service. Breakfast (American) was individually cooked to order in the small kitchen adjacent to the lobby, and was of a good standard, even if a little delayed one day as the chef attended to some guests checking out !
The Araya has free Wifi throughout, and a book share, is available in the lobby.
The location is excellent, and you are very close to the beach and the numerous sea food restaurants that jut out into the water on stilts.
I would stay here again, but I think that with other guest houses charging around 7-800 bht, the Araya rack rate of 1500 is too much. Yes, it offers a little more than guest houses, but I feel the description of a boutique hotel is perhaps a little optimistic. If you get a room for 1000 bht for a night, in my mind, then that's a fair price - any more, and I suggest you look for alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Russ-McD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

there is close to everywhere in Hua HIn, 5 minutes drive to everywhere, friendly staffs and even owner, room is quite comfortable, especially on the top floor, I love the view!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichieOMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 4 days having booked two penthouse rooms (special offer). The view from the upper floor is very nice. The hotel does not have an elevator. Was no issue for us but important to know if you book upper floor and have somebody with walking disabilities. The rooms were spacious and nice however the management should do some renovation / repair works.
Especially impresivve was how friendly and helpful the staff was (from cleaning lady till manager). This gave a real feeling of home away from home. The farewell was as if we were not just guests but family members. The beach and night market are ca. 15 min walking distance from the hotel. Should we come again to HuaHin, will stay there for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucca
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

everything is run down. overpriced. for this money you can find much better.
very derty toilette!!!!!!
people working at hotel nice...but the owner dont care about service!
in the toilette was full of hair from previous customers. disgusting!!!!
sheets broken!! light in the room not working
for 2500 bath you shoud get much more.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabai66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hua Hin hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,000 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The location is good but it is right on a busy road so choose your room carefully. First impressions were just OK as the reception is scruffy and clearly has not been maintained. This continued with the broken concrete on the steps and dirty floors to the upper floors. There is no lift. The bedroom is furnished with cheap tacky furniture. The walls tired and the curtains thread bare which let in light from dawn. This was over the road so it was noisy from 0600 onwards. The noise from other guests was also unacceptable. The shower room was filthy....disgusting. The toilet was dirty and broken (reported and ignored), the ceilings patched and walls cracked. We only noticed this at 2300 as the shower curtain was pulled over when we arrived. At breakfast we were served by a woman who seemed to resent people to serve. She was unhelpful, unfriendly and offered no service at all.(The receptionist on the other hand was lovely and very apologetic). This is one hotel that has clearly had better days and not a penny seems to be spent on proper maintenance. The hotel is a dump and I would never stay here again. There are far far better hotels in the area for the same, and less, price. AVOID!.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Been there in two during the jazz festival ,and i have to say that for a 3 star hotel all i saw was good , i mean clean and friendly, i was lost in the room my valet and they send me to bkk.. thanks again..
btw a special point its for the breakfast in the hotel s bar where i can say, much better than at least other three 4 star hotel ive been around that area
good!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

I chose this small hotel due to favourable reviews, but was badly disappointed. The problems started even during booking. I called to book, and agreed on one price. Then I asked if it included breakfast. The woman said something to the effect that there was something wrong with the restaurant, but did not answer my question. I asked again and she said no breakfast, but she would reduce the room rate by B100 because there would be no breakfast for now. When I arrived, a man said I have to pay in advance the full rate, and even said the woman wrote the full rate in a message to him. I argued that the woman told me otherwise. Finally he relented. The room, the cheapest category, was small and very ordinary, with hardly any windows. The bathroom was very cramp and moldy. Worse was that every noise outside -- whether in the corridor or on the street -- seems to be amplified inside the room. Then in the afternoon as I was having a nap, a commotion outside woke me up. Then I had the shock of my life when I saw my room floor being flooded with dirty water. I ran out of the room, to find out that a pipe in the adjacent room had burst. How it happened was not clear, but it seemed to involve an enfant terrible guest in the next room. The staff, to their credit, were apologetic and quickly cleaned up my room. They also offered a refund if I wanted to move out. My partner decided against going out in the scorching sun to look for another accommodation, so we stayed. There was in fact no food & beverage outlet in the hotel, and we had to look for breakfast in other hotels in the area. There are other small hotels on the same street that looked OK and were much cheaper. A big mistake to choose Araya. Also, though we were on the 2nd floor, I noticed the hotel has 5 floors but does not have a lift. There was one computer with Internet that guests can use for free.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank-Mozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.4 km away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,273 reviews
4.8 km away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#12 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,215 reviews
0.8 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
0.6 km away
Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
3.5 km away
Korawan Garden View
Korawan Garden View
#48 of 136 in Hua Hin
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Araya Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Araya Residence

Property: Araya Residence
Address: 15/1 Chomsin Road, | Hua Hin 55, Prachuabkirikhan 77110, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Araya Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the ambience of our brand new boutique hotel in central Hua Hin. Araya Residence is a stylish mix of traditional and modern decor. We are centrally and conveniently located; a few hundred meters from the sea and moments away from the night market & nightlife of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Araya Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing