We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
9
72
79
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
72
79
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was lovely and clean central location night market would stay here again decent size the air conditioning walking distance nice swimming pool excellent hotel disco nightlife electricity key
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 194 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018

Had 2 days at this hotel on my way to Bangkok. Choose it because of price and closeness to the beach, which both are ok.

The rooms are old, there is no coffee or tea or amenities other than soap/shampoo. The
towels had stains and cleaning varies from room to room. My kids rooms had ants in one and spiders in the other.

We "uograded" to executive rooms with the result that we had no balcony.

Breakfast is basic, no cheese, one type of meat, watery juice and so on. The staff never serve you anything. I did not see any of them smile to visitors during my stay.

But, if all you need is a bed close to the beach it is on enough.

Room Tip: If you want room with balcony do not upgrade to executive rooms
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja_C68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018

Dropped off the train from Surat Thani with no fixed place to stay. Got
Got a tip from Patty at her cafe next to the station about this hotel. Value for the money. Pool and room was ok, but a bit worn in places so don't expect luxury. Main thing it's in walking distance of the beach and the rest of the city center including the train station. (Taxi drivers must have a hard time in this city as everything is pretty much bunched up in walking distance, unless you're very lazy)

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank Håkon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2018

Our 8 man golf squad used City Beach as our base during a recent visit.
It is a no frills hotel but offers spacious rooms with its position in the centre of town its best asset by far. It offers easy access to the beach, town and many bars and restaurants as well as the night market which is only 5 minutes away.
The decor throughout is a bit dated and breakfast which was included in our rate average to say the least.
Nice outdoor pool on the second floor but what happened to the poolside bar?
Staff were on the whole friendly and courteous.
Recommended as a budget option.

Room Tip: Most rooms offer good views of either city or seafacing. Look at the choices available before deciding.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eric312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018 via mobile

Stayed on the 6th floor with great views out of the back of the hotel across the town to the beaches.

The hotel is 3 star, has been around a long time but is still in good condition. Rooms are spacious, clean and are serviced daily.

Pool is small and unwelcoming, there is no gymnasium.

Breakfast is very average in a dark room next to the swimming pool and the staff in the restaurant are very few in numbers and quite unhelpful.

There are some good prices on this hotel and it's a real bargain as it's in the centre of the town, 5 minutes leisurely stroll to the beach and bars.

Best point is the view if you have a room at the back, worst point is the staff, they are on the whole quite miserable with the exception of one of the bell staff who was absolutely fantastic, unfortunately I did not get his name.

One final note, on our penultimate day 4 coaches arrived and the hotel was very full, this turned breakfast into a nightmare as there was not enough seats and many guests were trying to eat stood up, also the usual lack of staff allowed unused dishes to build up and no clean ones supplied, it was avoidable if someone had managed the situation, more concerning was the ramifications if a fire had broken out. We unlocked the restaurant door to the pool and many guests were sitting on sunbeds eating breakfast! I'm unsure how often these tours arrive but if you catch a few on your stay it will most certainly be an annoyance.

So in summary average hotel, but to be honest it's very cheap so you can't have it all!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank DavidRS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2018

We visited Hua Hin for the jazz festival and stayed here. The price for a double room was THB1,500 per night. This is super value given the location so close to the beach. Hotel is a little old but very well maintained and kept very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast leaves a little to be desired, not much choice and food largely cold, drink choice not great. But there are no shortage of good restaurants all within 5 min walk. Overall we had a very nice stay. I'll go back for sure next time I'm in Hua Hin.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews