We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“An enjoyable alternative”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Really enjoyed our two nights, tents are very well equipped with modern bathrooms and very clean.
Breakfast and dinner were superb. Enjoyed using the mountain bikes.
Hintok is further away from Kanchanaburi than we realised - 75 kilometres - it's very tranquil in a rain forest type of setting.
Staff were okay ....... maybe more training is required - one man appeared to do most of the work and he was friendly and helpful.
Hintok and the surrounding area are historically significant and we particularly appreciated a visit to the nearby Hellfire Pass Museum, which we recommend anyone who is in the area to visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank manorom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    165
    55
    14
    5
See reviews for
149
180
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed for one night in the middle of our trip to Bangkok. The property is gorgeous & the staff were really nice. Lam's English was perfect (his accent had a bit of Aussie in it).

We picked this place as it looked nice and it had airconditioning. Even though the days were hot, we did not need airconditioning as the breeze was gorgeous. Great outdoor pool & massage room.

It was a little piece of paradise.

Only downside was the way we go there...a ute with a cabin on the back with no seatbelts which I could have coped with if we weren't overtaking cars doing 150km/hr!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ginaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Wonderful place, beautiful setting and truly outstanding service. Nothing was too much trouble - from climbing a tree to show the kids how to pick mangoes, to arranging a birthday blessing from a local monk and a cake! Tents great, pools wonderful, can't recommend Hintok highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mara356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The location of Hintok River Camp is amazing. The view over the River Kwai Noi is beautiful. Staff were great and the food plentiful and tasty - a range of Thai dishes were delivered to our table each evening.

The tents are great, but there are some holes in the mesh and fabric which need checking if you react badly to insect bites - as we do. Tape over the holes did the trick and we kept mosi free.

The sprint fed pools are lovely. Well shaded by trees and give a cooling dip. The deck over the river was lovely for sunbathing and enjoying the peaceful, fast-flowing river.

Bikes are available to borrow and the locals greeted us and waved as we rode by. The route over the suspension bridge was well worth the trip.

The camp was quiet. On our second night it was just the 8 of us on our trip and maybe another 4 on the previous night.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kattraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Wonderful location high above a bend in the peaceful (but fast-flowing) river. Great natural spring pool down by the river to splash in on hot days (= all days!). Terrific views from the lunch terrace. Staff were very nice and helpful, especially Khun Da who manages the reception. The a-la-carte food is very good (but stick to Thai dishes), the set meals included with the half/full board can be a little uneven--one meal was fantastic, another just so-so. Breakfast is OK. Tents are great, especially if you get one a little away from the main BBQ area where they do the evening meals, as it can be a bit noisy there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cecio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Staying in a tented camp can raise questions, but I can assure you this one is like staying at a 5 star. Strangely enough there were no insects! The food was great and the prices of the drinks were very reasonable. They have a natural pool and it is a great experience swimming there. The tents are so cool. You feel like doing a great adventure, but yet with ALL the comfort in the world. Even air conditioning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swissmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Was a litttle worried about styaing in a tent but as soon as we arrived my worries went, the tent it self was roomy, very clean, the staff and food was outstanding all in all it was fantastic, would love to return

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ndhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanchanaburi
69.6 km away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
312 reviews
70.7 km away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
970 reviews
70.6 km away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
20.5 km away
Boutique Raft Resort
Boutique Raft Resort
#5 of 103 in Kanchanaburi
210 reviews
8.7 km away
River Kwai Resotel
River Kwai Resotel
#1 of 5 in Sai Yok
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass

Property: Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Address: 109 Moo 9 Ban Had Ngew | Tambon Thasao, Kanchanaburi 70150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass is an exceptionally safari tented camp resort 'Glamping' stunningly located on a upon the pinnacle of Hintok mountain in Kanchanaburi, Thailand where the historical river, River Kwai runs through. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintok River Camp Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing