We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
53
89
36
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
89
36
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating hut karaoke boats rabbits hopping asked to change rooms kwai bridge the river small fridge amazing sunset mosquito net nice garden air conditioning hotel is great walking distance recommend staying here hard beds breakfast was included death railway museum
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 196 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at Bamboo House really amazing place to stay. Staff very friendly and the Restaurant food is amazing. Location couldn't be any better so near to Bridge over the River Kwai and just a short Motorbike taxi ride to Kanchanburi War Cemetry cost 8o baht £1.81. Accommodation is very clean and the scenery is amazing.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank alan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

I stayed in one of the Bungalows. Not fancy, but still very nice and clean. Great view from the Bungalow to the river. I also went to the Swimming huts to sit an evening and watch the sunset: Fantastic! Direct view to the Bridge and into a beautiful scenary.
Downsides: During day there is Little to do; I thought from the Pictures that you could stay there, but there is no pool or sundbeds to lay on.
In total: Good value for the Price!
Further info: The Swimming huts are really simpe, and if ships pass by on the river they move significantly up and down (for those who get seasick easily...)

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

During our trip to Kanchanaburi, my wife, little son and I stayed for two nights in Bamboo House. In general the accomodation is nice, our bungalow was clean and comfortable and also the free WiFi worked rather good (not allways the case in hotels). Also the staff was very gentle and helpful. However I want to mention that during the night, party boats are passing by on the river and the music on this boats is extremly loud (especially if you book a cheaper room, which is a swinning bungalow on the river). The included breakfast was ok, but nothing special.
The location of the hotel is great. It is close to the bus station (approx. 3 km) and city center and also the River Kwai Bridge is in walking distance (10 minutes). Besides quite some restaurants in the close surrounding of the hotel also a big shopping center is 15 minutes of walking away.
All in all we can totally recommend the Bamboo House Kanchanaburi.

Room tip: The cheaper rooms on the river are quite loud, especially during the night, when the party boats are passing by.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris318i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

Good value for money. We stayed for 4 nights. Our room was in the main accommodation building and basic but clean. The a/c was good. WiFi was hit and miss. The room wasn’t serviced during our stay and we had to ask for more loo roll and empty the bins ourselves. No big deal!

The setting for Bamboo House is fantastic, right on the river and 5 minute walk from the River Kwai Bridge, where there is a little market and a few restaurants open during the tourist part of the day. The garden area is well tended and there are a few chairs. The reception area garden has rabbits hopping around.

There is a lady at the top of the road that hires scooters and does laundry. We hired a scooter for 4 days and were glad of it to get to the nearest shops and restaurants, which is a little bit too far to walk and in the evenings there are not so many tuk-tuks around.

We would recommend staying here.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank SteveandKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

Sorry, but this Rafthouse is incredibly bad. The Beds are just 2 hard matrasse at the floor. Each 5 min a boat was passing and the whole house was shaking horribly. The cold Shower Toilet was to far. And when i asking for another simple room, they wanted to charge us a extramoney. Its a Trap. This Boat House never ever have a value of 2000 Baht...we dident stay there and my wife booked another room in the center. With a nice Bed and our own warm shower and even cheaper.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank 367subyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamb00h0use, Owner at Bamboo House, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

Sorry ,the room that you complain it’s the family raft with fan and share bathroom for 4 persons , it’s cost 700 baht not 2,000 baht.
If you would like the other room better , you have to pay extra because they are not the same price . We have the air-con rooms with hot shower , tv ,fridge include breakfast , 1,100 / 1,200 /1,800 baht.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews