We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The simplest and the most enjoyable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanadu 2008

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Xanadu 2008
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The simplest and the most enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

It is somewhat difficult to find something original to say about this place in that most of the points have been picked up in previous reviews. Xanadu was the first stop on a three destination 10 day whistle-stop tour of Thailand and in terms of luxury was streets behind anywhere else we stayed at. So why then, was it our collective-favourite place?

It is very honest. What you see is what you get. There are about 10 bungalows, simply and cleanly kitted out; some with a fridge and some with a TV and DVD player. A number of the bungalows have adjoining bedrooms. Everything is totally unpretentious.

The grounds are well looked after and the pool very inviting. There is an abundance of wildlife, including chickens that roost overnight in one of the trees (the “Chicken Tree”). Ironically, we had come expecting mosquitoes and brought the appropriate measures. Of the places we stayed at, this was the one location where they weren’t around and the Deet stayed firmly in the cases.

At the bottom of the property lies the River Kwai and according to Dennis, one of the owners, does not suffer from houseboats travelling up and down the river broadcasting drunken Chinese Karaoke as other reaches do, because his neighbours number Bangkok’s police chief and high-ranking government and military officials, whose taste in music is (thankfully) more sophisticated.

The other two key benefits are the owners; Dennis, who has spent a lot of time in various parts of Thailand and settled here, because it was his favourite. He seems to be able to fix and organise virtually any requirement – he organised transport to and from Bangkok for us, elephant riding, Death Railway, waterfall climbing, longboat rides and a number of other things, which we managed to cram into the space of under two days. This in itself is a good reason to pick Xanadu if Kanchanaburi is your destination.

Nee, his wife and the other owner, and her cooking have already been commented on and we would totally concur. All ingredients are fresh and some are grown on-site. What you get is good honest and very tasty homemade Thai food. One of the things that endeared us was to be given little extra snacks on the side – one breakfast she appeared with a plate of banana leaf wrapped sticky rice parcels and another day produced a fresh cocoanut that had been cut down a few minutes earlier.

Prices are very reasonable, certainly for Westerners, although I do understand the comment made in a previous posting that the food is expensive for a Thai. Most mains (bearing in mind these are not small portioned jobs) come in at around 150 Baht, which translates to around £3 each.

For us, Xanadu fulfilled our needs – a good base to explore the area, which was comfortable, clean and well-provisioned and if time had allowed, we would have liked to have stayed just a little bit longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BertyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    81
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
153
195
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Everything that's been written previously is accurate: rooms are basic, but spotless, food is good, hosts go the extra mile and are ultimately what make the place.

Only negative is that the beds really are too hard: We find it amazing that it's actually possible to buy mattresses like that. That said, after all the fresh air, fine food and the odd beer or two, we had little trouble sleeping!

For either a couple of days' get away from it all, or a few day's exploring the area - a highly recommended spot.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GweiloOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

My family love this cosy place especially having breakfast by the River Kwai and the cool weather. It’s peaceful and serene with memories of the olden days. My children enjoyed “chasing” the chicken. Dennis was a great host bringing my family to the village market and introducing us to the local food and place. Dinner and breakfast at the resort was great at reasonable price. Dennis gave good advices and helped to arrange transport and also tour to places of interest. As I can’t speak Thai language, I greatly appreciate Dennis and Nee’s help in sorting out my problem with the accommodation booking at Bangkok.

Getting to Xanadu from Bangkok is easy and not expensive. Do some research and ask around; and you can get a mini-van direct to Xanadu.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We've now had to drag ourselves away from this little piece of perfection 3 times over the past couple of years, and we hope to have to repeat the trauma many times again in the future.

Where to start? Getting the rooms out of the way first, they are fairly basic as other reviewers have noted, but do include air con and a TV you can watch DVDs on from the Xanadu library. That said, you simply won't give a toss, because you'll be enjoying the hospitality, food and location far too much to care what the room is like.

Dennis & Nee, in between working like troopers to keep the place clean & running, offer the sort of easy hospitality that makes you feel like you're round at your best mates place back home for an (unusually sunny) weekend. They are able to arrange taxis & tours into Kanchanaburi, or to any of the attractions nearby (Erawan Falls being the best), and can also offer minibuses or taxis to your next destination.

Nee cooks the best food I have ever tasted. Simple as that. The menu is not enormous, but the portions are, and include the usual favourites plus some unusual dishes making use of the beef cooked over charcoal for 4 hours that got me a bit worked up most evenings. Nee is also quite happy to turbocharge your food to whatever heat levels you require. My tastes are extreme, and Xanadu was one of the few places in Thailand that I've found which is willing to cater for them, rather than writing me off as a white westerner who doesn't know what he is asking for. Try their papaya salad, thai style!

If you can remove yourself from the bar/restaurant, you'll can wander around with a big grin on your face and find the resort full of plants, resident chickens & fighting cocks, wildlife and the sort of views from the stone platform looking onto the River Kwai that might just lead you to think this is a good place to propose to your girlfriend. I did :-)

Roll on next time. I want me some more steamed beef!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClanParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Like many others, we found Xanadu a fantastic location to stay. From there you can discover the lovely countryside of Kanchanaburi. Dennis was fantastic in communicating everything we needed (including booking us on the public minivan and giving us advice about the weather, Tours etc.).

The Bungalow was spacious, very clean and had everything we needed. The garden was gorgeous and the view on the river is amaizing! The pool was lovely and very clean.
Nee's food was divine (real home-made thai food) - you must try the different dishes as it is always lovely and if you are interested Nee will come and explain what she has cooked and how she has done it. What can I say: the staff was the best we had in three weeks vacation in Thailand and they are really interested in making your stay perfect.

We really recomand this place! Enjoy your Stay!
Christian & Kristina

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRIandKRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forries
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

As previous reviews have said this place is quiet,clean and friendly.Dennis was a great host, full of useful local information and terrific at organizing drivers and tours.Nee was the best exponent of Thai cooking we have come across-even when we came in late a beautiful meal cooked with passion could be ordered.A great place to return to after a long day out but if you wanted to just kick back and relax then that was offered too.Gret value all round

Room Tip: single bungalows or adjoining available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Really welcoming and friendly place with great pool and excellent standard of accommodation. The four of us shared two interconnected bungalows which was ideal. Everything in the bungalows worked (!) and was spotlessly clean; what more can you ask? Great pool area and great food. The only downside is the distance from town, but the owner effortlessly organises taxis so that was not a big deal either. And it has the advantage of being very quiet. Erewan Park was absolutely stunning and a definite 'must do'. Also the train ride from Nam Tok and the museum in town (even the kids found the museum interesting) were both excellent. Could have spent longer . . .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkNosedPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
4.7 km away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
5.6 km away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 77 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.9 km away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 77 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#6 of 77 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.8 km away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 77 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
5.6 km away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#12 of 77 in Kanchanaburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu 2008? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu 2008

Property: Xanadu 2008
Address: 19/5, Moo 1 | Tambon Nong Bua, Kanchanaburi 71900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xanadu 2008 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family owned resort on the banks of the famed river Kwai. With a large swimming/spa pool with adjoining bar and restaurant this is the perfect place to relax or as a base to explore the stunning local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Xanadu 2008 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu 2008 Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing