We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kanchanaburi tour”

Thai-Burma Railway (Death Railway)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$108.00*
and up
Private Kanchanaburi Erawan Waterfall&Thai-Burma...
Reviewed May 18, 2018

A great experience and you can decide how long you wish to ride the train. It was built by thousands of Allied Prisoners of War. Learn some of the history before boarding and do not put your hands or head out the window. Visit the cemetery and museum while in the area.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank CherylM119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nam tok"
in 110 reviews
"hellfire pass"
in 79 reviews
"death railway"
in 130 reviews
"the river"
in 200 reviews
"open windows"
in 16 reviews
"right hand side"
in 14 reviews
"trestle bridges"
in 9 reviews
"wooden seats"
in 13 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 21 reviews
"pho"
in 10 reviews
"thai burma railway"
in 37 reviews
"kwai bridge"
in 32 reviews
"thai countryside"
in 9 reviews
"taking the train"
in 9 reviews
"train trip"
in 24 reviews
"during wwii"
in 13 reviews
"piece of history"
in 11 reviews
Filter

57 - 61 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

The train journey can start anywhere along the line. I took the train from Thonburi station in Bkk. Don’t leave getting to this station to the last minute as traffic in that area is hell even on a good day. I took the train to kanchanaburi about 2.5 hours and lots of countryside to
watch, rice fields, fruit and lots of cheap snacks on board. You can walk to most hotels from the centrally located station in Kanchanaburi. I took the train to the River Kwai bridge, the next station and then walked to my hotel from there as it was closer than from the main station. The next day I took the train to the end of the line at Nam Tok. Amazing scenery, wooden trestles, panoramic views of the river Kwai and a history lesson about how the railway was built. All this for $100 baht each way. Lots of places to visit nearby Namtok too but don’t miss the last train back.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank DaleL943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018

I have been to Kanchanburi many time however this was the 1st with my family , 7 people in total . We book the full day : Cemtey , Jeath Museum , Bridge , Train , Lunch, Elephant camp , rafting , and finally Sai Yok waterfall .
Tour was booked through Click2go Thailand , about 1000b each ...but well worth it .
Minivan was on time , clean and with a safe driver .
We had varous guides through the day and the tour was mix and match ....but all knowledgable and effiencient ....

it was a public holiday in Thailand on the day we went so a little busy , especially on the train ........we paid a little extra for guaunteed seats, water and wet towel ...100b each .

No real issues all day ......on time , plenty of time in each spot to do what we wanted .
The family really enjoyed .

the only issues was the waterfall .....Hot season and no water , no water , no waterfALL....more of a trickle .....

Very busy with Thai families enjoying the cool shade under the trees , so a good place to people watch .

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jimjuum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2018

It was included in our tour. A great experience and lasted about an hour. It travels along part of the original line built by POW's and has some great views along the way. The guide offered everyone an upgrade to a better carriage so that we could sit at either side of the carriage when ever we wanted to. A few of us declined and we could do this anyway in the carriage we had.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2018

Excellent journey up the valley to hellfire pass - full of emotion and sentiment having first visited the allied cemetery and museums.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank purchases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai-Burma Railway (Death Railway) also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to Thai-Burma Railway (Death Railway)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing