We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Good Times Resort(Kanchanaburi)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Raft Resort(Kanchanaburi)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vista Pool Villa(Kanchanaburi)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
US$23
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaan Guesthouse(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
US$10
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$10/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
173
281
182
65
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
281
182
65
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtsfloating restaurantbreakfast buffetwalk across the bridgebit datedriver kwaiground floorfamous bridgelarge roomjeath museumonly stayed one nightgarden viewswimming poolmain towndeath railwaytuk tukhellfire pass
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 730 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

The grounds are very well kept, our room was large and clean and there is definitely a very nice feeling of older days glory to the hotel. But ... the wifi is unreliable or just bad depending on your room, certain food ran out at breakfast at 8.00 eventhough breakfast is supposed to be until 10.00, and we were served spoiled fish at dinner. There is a lot of potential in the hotel. With a little more care this place could be amazing.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank stacy558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janjira J, Secretary To Hotel Manager at Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear stacy558,

Thank you very much for your your review and for choosing to stay at Felix River Kwai Resort while visiting Kanchanaburi.

We are glad that you have nice feeling with our resort. we aim to keep improving ourselves and so to maintain a high level of Wi-Fi.
We all very much look forward to your return and to continue to meet and exceed your expectations.


Warm regards and best wishes,
Janjira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Do not stay at this hotel, as there is no free reliable Wi-Fi in the rooms and if food is not served to customers expectations there are no refunds!! Hotel is also not near any city but I would still walk Bridge Over River Kwai to go to a real restaurant than the two restaurants (in the basement of hotel that are open air with mosquitos and flies)! You will end up running up Roaming Fees on your cell phones, due to pathetic internet due to lack of upgrades at this no more than 3 star resort. I have traveled all over the world and this is second worst hotel I have stayed at anywhere!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel to stay at or be sorely disappointed with the results!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Wi-Fi does not work, so offer of free Wi-Fi does no one any good, as our I-Phones and Google Pixel 2 phones on Verizon had to be used on roaming mode, which caused us additional expense of $45 for 1 full day we were there. Hotel is well aware of this Wi-Fi problem and Wi-Fi problem is not due to loss of electricity but is directly related to hotel owners/managers being too cheap to actually upgrade their hotel!

This translates to food served in the restaurant, as well. Be careful, as receipts in restaurant list No Refund on them. Be sure to get credit (we could not) as no one on staff on March 18th was able to credit our bill and I was so tired from our trip, I did not notice this No Refund statement and I believe it was added after I signed the receipt. This was a great hotel about 30 years ago and should be a 3 star hotel at best.

I have traveled all over the world, so Three Stars is correct.Staff not friendly either and whole room left a lot to be desired, as only one outlet worked, hair dryer did not work, and bathroom was dirty. Patio had probably been cleaned at New Year's or maybe even before that! Tour groups love this hotel and its description lists it as in the city, when it is really several kilometers away. If you want a hotel worth the money, you need to walk the Bridge Over the River Kwai!. Even though this is not close or necessarily safe, it is a better choice than getting the standard tourist screw job at Felix!

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel, any hotel but Felix!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janjira J, Secretary To Hotel Manager at Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear Todd F,

Thank you for staying at Felix River Kwai Resort and for taking the time to post your review.
Please accept all our apologies as it seems that your stay wasn't matching with your expectations. I am taking good note of your comments as we aim to keep improving ourselves and so to maintain a high level of Wi-Fi and Service or exceed the expectations of our valued guests each time.
Thank you again for your review. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again to remedy to the first impression left.

Best Regard,
Janjira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We were here one night as part of a tour package after visiting the River Kwai bridge. The room was large however didn't have a safe and the walk from the front desk to our room was quite the hike. Our sink had no stopper and when we asked for one, we were told that there wasn't one. Also there was NO hot water which was apparently blamed on a lightning strike and the power being out three days prior. Not sure if that was an excuse or what. Found the staff to be quite rude and unhelpful which was not helping the situation.
Also the mosquitoes were out in full force. Being April I did not think that it was quite the rainy season however I guess being in the jungle and near a river brings the bugs out. This was also not very pleasant at meal times since the restaurant is basically open air so the bugs were all over the place.
As the hotel is quite a way into the area, I could not see how easily it would have been to go off site to find food as the restaurant had a very limited selection in both their dinner buffet as well as breakfast. It wasn't to our taste at all.
We did take a dip in one of the swimming pools which was pleasant however they shut down quite early and of course with no safe in the rooms you basically had to take your valuables with you.
The hotel could be a gold mine if maintenance was done to the place along with better staff hospitality.

Room Tip: Make sure you have mosquito bug spray
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GatorVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janjira J, Secretary To Hotel Manager at Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear Gatorvictoria_BC,

Thank you for staying at Felix River Kwai Resort and for taking the time to post your review.
I am taking good note of your comment as we aim to keep improving ourselves and so to maintain a high level of services and met or exceed the expectations of our valued guests each time.
Thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Felix River Kwai Resort in order to remedy to the first impression left.


Warm regards and best wishes,
Janjira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Very close to the Kwai River bridge ( a few minutes walking), in a very nice garden with a fantastic view to the river.
Unfortunately, rooms are not very well decorated and furnitures are old fashion. The staff is lovely.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank beat69747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janjira J, Secretary To Hotel Manager at Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Dear beat69747,

Thank you very much for your great review and for choosing to stay at Felix River Kwai Resort while visiting Kanchanaburi.

We are glad to read that you have a wonderful times at our property and enjoyed our nice garden and river view.


We all very much look forward to your return and to continue to meet and exceed your expectations.

Warm regards and best wishes,
Janjira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews