We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oriental Kwai Resort
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed for 4 nights ( wished it was longer }
What an enchanting place, a real tropical paradise.
Everything was spot on.
Amazing attention to detail.
All you could wish for to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Family owned and operated. It is very well appointed with large, comfortable rooms that are beautifully decorated.Restaurant overlooks the river. Food was great and reasonably priced. The owner takes a personal interest in all of her guests. While it is out "in the countryside", you will not be disappointed spending your night here and just relaxing in the tranquil atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irulan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

It took us 2.5 hours from BKK to Kanchanaburi by public bus with the local people, which made us just feel that we were also the local. I called OK when we arrived at the bus station and the drive appeared in 3 minutes.It's about 20 minutes' drive to OK, which is in a village and just on the riverside. As soon as I stepped out of the car, it was like 'Wow, this is heaven, isn't it'! I like the villas, the decor, the garden, the pool, the food and the dogs! There are 3 dogs and 2 puppies. The dog Babe loved to kiss my Daddy's knees. The OK it self is already a sightseeing place. Most of us spent most of the time inside OK, swimming, reading...just relaxing. If you want to go to other places, Jo and Evelien could arrange it as you need. They can also book SPA for the guests and the transfer is free.
It's quite a great place far from the busy city life. Best for family travel. We'll definitely be back.
Thank you Jo and Evelien. Love the cute dogs.
Suggestion: It'll be better if OK would put the photos of every dish in the menu. I love your food!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BingBai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Location: Overlooking the river but about 20 minutes from the city - it is isolated from everything and has absolutely breathtaking views

Room: Gorgeous and huge - is immaculately clean and looks brand new, all rooms are individual cottage/villas, our room had 2 twin beds shoved together, each room has a tv/dvd player and air conditioning, also a porch/balcony with cushioned chairs, the bathrooms are beautiful and have hot water with good water pressure

Food: Breakfast is included and there are several western and thai options that are large portioned and very filling, lots of thai and western choices for lunch and dinner at reasonable prices, the Bill and Lou shake is a great cocktail! We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner every night rather than take a taxi into town to a restaurant. Most other guests chose this as well.

Staff: extremely helpful and welcoming

Transportation: Taxi will take you from the resort to wherever you need to go (cost is from 200 THB up), owner will send a taxi to town to get you when you arrive (complimentary)

Other: Had a great book of activities/tours/suggestions for the area and you can book the tours directly through the hotel, welcomed with a glass of lemongrass tea, orchids everywhere!, pool is beautiful, dining area overlooked the river and was amazing, lounge chairs and hammocks everywhere, had a great selection of DVDs to borrow, very accommodating to all guests, free wifi and a computer to use, had lots of bug repellant coils throughout, the owners have gone to great lengths to think about all the small details for their guests

Room Tip: The garden rooms have a beautiful view of the courtyard; not worth the extra $ to upgrade to a river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliedonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for two nights at Oriental Kwai and found it absolutely beautiful.
Pick up from the bus station in town was included and very much appreciated.
Upon arrival we were checked in by the owner, who advised us that we had been upgraded to a better room free of charge, as there had been a cancellation. We were excited.
The room was beautiful, spotless - river front room with floor to ceiling windows and stunning decor.
We immediately enjoyed some lunch at the wonderful outdoor, river front restaurant and the owner scheduled a river boat to pick us up from the resort dock. Very cool. The food at the restaurant is absolutely delicious.
The owners and staff were helpful and accommodating. A to go breakfast was provided for us when we left on a day trip earlier than breakfast began.
The resort is breathtaking. It is incredibly quiet and peaceful. We would recommend Oriental Kwai for families - it's great for kids and anyone who's looking for a very peaceful, laid-back vacation.

Unfortunately, our bed consisted of two single beds with hard reinforced sides, pushed together. This wasn't exactly the best sleeping arrangement for our honeymoon visit. We had mentioned our honeymoon while booking. The room was also attached to the restaurant and directly below the dining area. Each time a diner moved their chair, or a heavy walker trodded across the floor, we heard it loud and clear in our room. If we had been scheduled to be there for more than two nights, we would have asked for a different room with a double or queen bed...

When our scheduled driver didn't arrive at 6am to drive us to the bus station. Joe, the owner, was very kind and drove us free of charge. Great service!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greentreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Loved it nothing at all to complain about. You can see why they have the number one spot on TA. The resort felt like our private hide away on the river. We definitely loved our stay and hosts Evelien and Djo did a great job making this place the perfect holiday getaway, you could not ask for more from the hosts, who assisted us in organizing transport, making tour suggestions and even day spa appointments. It is a little far from the main town, but worth it, for the peace and tranquility, and its very easy to arrange transport to and from the resort. Our bungalow was comfortable and had a feel of luxury. We had the garden view bungalow , but we could also enjoy the view of the river Kwai from the terrace of the restaurant which also serves good food. Breakfast were delicious, especially the pancakes. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. There's free wifi, a laptop and dvd's available for guests. We also used the resorts safe for our valuables. Would come back to Kanchanaburi again just to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

À real Nice place with Nice people.
Clean including real good service!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D3nnis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
9.8 km away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 82 in Kanchanaburi
1,086 reviews
8.7 km away
Away Kanchanaburi Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa
13.5 km away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#6 of 82 in Kanchanaburi
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
10.6 km away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 82 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
11.3 km away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 82 in Kanchanaburi
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Kwai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Kwai Resort

Address: 194/5 Moo 1 | Ladya Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $60 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and peaceful resort at the famous River Kwai, centrally located at only 15 min. drive from Kanchanaburi downtown and on the way to sights as Erawan waterfalls, Elephants world & Hellfire pass. The 12 cottages are spread throughout a teak forest and beautiful tropical garden. The cottages have all facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible and are designed in a warm Thai style. The resort has a cozy restaurant on site that overlooks the River Kwai and in the garden you'll find a lovely swimming pool. Tour, local taxi and transfer service available. Massage facility available at Jay's Spa and free fitness room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oriental Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi
Hotel Oriental Kwai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing