We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse”
Review of The Bird Cage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bird Cage
Ranked #101 of 406 Patong B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice guesthouse”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is clean, receptionist seem very friendly and helpful, but no lift.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isskandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    72
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
1
27
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tianjin, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed at the Bird Cage in January 2012 for five nights. The staff was immensely helpful. I wanted to stay another night but they were full, they offered to find me another room in a different hotel (I ended up staying with them when someone cancelled). They helped me book different excursions, gave me some fantastic recommendations on where to eat, and were super friendly. It was a bit of a challenge to find the hotel as the taxi driver got lost.

The rooms were clean, cleaned daily, and the perfect size for a singleton or a couple. The hotel is close to everything (beach, bangla street, restaurants, shopping, nightlife). The hotel isn't all that fancy, no pool, or great gathering area, but there are so many places around it for that it didn't matter. The beds were a little hard, but thats true of everywhere in Asia I've noticed. I had a fantastic stay with them and would book there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed 5d4n at this hotel. There is no breakfast served, however there are many eateries outside the hotel, so not a problem. It is near the bangla street abt 5-10mins walk away, but from the hotel, i could not hear any loud music or noises, so it is a pretty good stay.

This hotel has laundry cleaning services which they charge you by the weight of laundry, not by pieces and depending on the weather and time that was given to them.
I got my clothes back, clean n folded neatly in a plastic bag n there is a nice fragrant on the clothes too. If i recall correctly, i pass the laundry to them in the afternoon, and they are done by the next day evening. Im impressed! The price for laundry service is cheap as well! I figure after posting this, the demand will increase n perhaps they might take a longer time in future. But in a beach area, a hotel who does laundry in a clean n cheap manner really does help to lighten my load.

The bed is comfortable, tv has alot of channels. The toiletries are basic. The room wall is kinda thin though, so do have courtesy to minimise the noise when talking n walking along the corridor.

Staff are friendly n helpful. n there are alot of activities brochures in the hotel lobby. Only the room has AC. Would come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PowerPeachx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

You get what you pay for. So we were fully aware of the type of accommodation we were getting. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was smaller than I expected, just enough for a double bed. We are very picky with cleanliness so it was tolerable for us. But the only negative thing I can say was we could detect a sewer smell from a certain part of our room at times. Overall all we were just looking for a cheap place to crash while in Patong but yet decent and this was it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwartgtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

No frills hotel. Rooms just big enough but neat & clean. Not much of room service. Daily cleaning was good and taken care. Very Good location - all locations are easily accessible. Extremely affordable rates. Very near to Bangla Road in Phuket.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Stayed in this hotel in early Oct, which is during the low season period. Do note that there is no lift in the hotel. It was a last min thing for us to stay in Patong and we just walk-in into this hotel. They allow us to view the rooms before we decided on it. Took the room at the 2nd level. They have transportation service to the airport at 600baht (same price if u get a taxi from the streets).

Very clean room and good location. Jus 5-10mins away frm Patong beach and bangla street. Will be back at this hotel for my next trip in Jun 2011.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Good small hotel, no, breakfast, balcony or swimming pool, value for money considering, but if you are considering staying, bargain with the rates because they seem to vary, depending on the customer, its a Thai thing

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uponmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 km away
La De Bua
La De Bua
#113 of 406 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 km away
Nouveau Guesthouse
Nouveau Guesthouse
#155 of 406 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.1 km away
Connect Guesthouse
Connect Guesthouse
#286 of 406 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Gallery Hotel
The Gallery Hotel
#18 of 406 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 km away
Tiger Inn
Tiger Inn
#102 of 406 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 km away
Ruen Buathong Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird Cage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird Cage

Property: The Bird Cage
Address: 6/1-3 Rat- U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bird Cage 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Bird Cage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird Cage Hotel Patong
The Bird Cage Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing