We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
127
67
31
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
67
31
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ducted air conditioning her makeup great prompt service noodle based dishes fried eggs or omelettes shower soap rainfall shower head receptionist staff poor maintenance the pool area is very nice second building night life and shopping wonderful hotel breakfast buffet was delicious mountain view hotel provided bucket of ice
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 255 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2018 via mobile

I'm not a harsh reviewer but this hotel was very disappointing. For ease, I have listed a pro and cons list:

Pros:
Sheets were clean
Hot water
Kettle in room
Safe in room
Air-con

Cons
Nowhere near enough storage in bedroom
Nowhere to hang long dresses
No storage in bathroom
Had to request an iron from the reception for a specific time but then they didn't even turn up at that time!! I woke up specifically and refrained from using the bathroom but after 30 minutes I had to call them!
Not enough sockets, they're either side of the bed and behind the tv but not by the mirror. Very awkward to straighten my hair. And to iron my clothes.
They only give you 1 toilet roll at a time
Saw a dead mouse just outside
They left rubbish outside one night (untied bags and just where the scooters were parked)
Internet and room phone stopped working a few days before the end of our stay
Staff have limited English
Noisy construction right outside starts early morning
Breakfast was crap- the pancake machine takes 2 minutes to make 2 of the world's smallest pancakes ever. Staff don't even show you to your seat. Pastries have flies on them.

On top of this we arranged to have someone pick us up from the airport but no one was there waiting for us. After 30 minutes we had to call the hotel (costing us money) who said they would sort it but did not call us back to explain what was happening. After another 10 minutes we called again (more costs!). They told us our driver was in the wrong part of the airport (even though we gave our flight details in advance). When we checked in we complained AND NO ONE EVEN APOLOGISED!

Then they had to take a deposit from my card. They tried it 4 times and said it didnt work so we had to use cash. When I logged into my internet banking it showed it had worked...ALL FOUR TIMES! I've still yet to have this refunded so will have to email them! They told me it would refund automatically!

Not worth the money. Even if you ignore the personal experience at the end.

Manners cost nothing. Staff should have apologised.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KiranKular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018

The Lunar Patong is a modern hotel and its located about 10 to 12 mins walk from Bangla Rd where all the strip clubs bars and nightlife are so you can get a quiet good nights sleep.

I have previously stayed at the Lunar Patong and sadly they have allowed it to slip a little the maintenance is poor & this has resulted in many things like the decking and furniture around the pool looking very shabby.

The staff are always friendly and offering a kind smile and the rooms are quite spacious, with ducted air-conditioning. However in our room the air conditioning fan was stuck on high permanently, the room had a number of marks on the walls and the shower soap holder was very loose. This all resulting from poor maintenance

The shower pressure is average and there is a rainfall shower head and a handheld wand. The towels and bath mat badly worn with tethered edges and really need replacing. The lighting in the bathroom is very dull so it makes it hard for someone for shaving or for a girl putting on her makeup.

As across Asia the beds are firm but they are reasonable and not rock hard like in some places.

An absolute rip-off by want to charge you 50 Baht for a tiny bucket of ice for your room. You can buy bags of ice from 7-Eleven or Family Mart for 8 baht.

The breakfast is a reasonable Choice offering some noodle based dishes fried rice with egg you can have fried eggs or omelettes made-to-order and there is a selection of other things like chicken sausage ham vegetables cold fruit such as pineapple papaya and watermelon there's tea and coffee, juice & cold water. The only disappointing thing was they had to try knees cooking the eggs to order and they simply had no idea and it would take them 10 or 15 minutes to get your order and then prepare you an egg which might take all of one minute to make. They should have some proper training and supervision for the junior staff.

The location it's about a 10 to 15 minute walk from Bangla Road and all the nightlife however there are plenty of small restaurants and 7-Eleven and family mart stores within a few meters.

In general the hotel is clean and modern and is reasonably good value for money & hopefully the management attend to the few issues that have arisen since my last stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile

On the pool and "bathing" area, at all due to the angle of the hotel. So if you want to sunbath at your hotel, find another!

That aside it's the first 3 star we've stayed at in Patong (11 visits). And it's pretty good, not in the league of the 4 star hotels we've used in the past but good value for money.
We ate in the restaurant one night, and the food was very nice. BUT! We were given the menu in Russian, handy. We ordered post language issue, and my curry arrived in good time, very nice indeed. My wife's sea bass on the other hand turned up 25 minutes later. Mmm, looks nice, ah it's not cooked in the middle, and the potato is cold. Back out it came, sea bass cooked, but the potato was still cold. What could have been a excellent meal, was defeat snatched from the jaws of victory!
The staff are helpful and friendly.
Breakfast is pretty good, but suffers from lack of variation. Spicy squid for breakfast, seemed to remain eternally unpopular, even with the Chinese.
A few more plants around the place, would take the slightly clinical look away from some areas.

And to finish reference the charming picture of the bins outside the breakfast room. The sort of thing you'd expect to see down the beach or Bangla Road.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile

Review by newly married couple 28&25yrs
Stayed here as part of our honeymoon

Hotel was immaculately clean and the room was fantastic
The minibar is actually reasonably priced

Bed is huge which is incredible as my husband is 6’7 and usually hates hotel beds.

Bathroom is big and had a good powerful shower, very clean as is the rest of the hotel.

This is in such a perfect location - takes 5 minutes (if that!) to walk to the beach and the main strip is 5 minutes away too but you do not hear any noise from it so it’s set back far enough.

The beach is beautiful and perfectly clean with lots of food/drink vendors on the road behind it. There are shops for snacks nearby and a market.

Tiger inn hotel nearby has great food and often live music

We did a great tour that cost us under £20 each and went to the Big Buddha and temple which was beautiful.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ep89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018

About 2 miles away from Jungceylon and Banzaan,10 minutes walking to the beach. There is a swimming pool in the 2nd floor. Nice service and you can get welcome drinks when you check in.Delicious pancakes.

Room Tip: 50 buks per night
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews