We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean front Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Front Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #259 of 411 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2017

this is a great small hotel with , clean , simple, modern rooms. Free wifi & water (2 botlles daily), pleasant staff, good air con., - at a quiet end of Patong beach (which is directly across the street). You can find cheaper - but you get what you pay for: they might not be as clean & modern. There are many restaurants nearby & a short walk to the nightlife. Very convenient to a 24 hr minimart for snacks & beverages. They give you a voucher for a welcome drink & treat- lovely & yummy touch. Another thing that was appreciated, but not mentioned on the site : each room has for your use: 2 straw beach mats, a cloth beach bag, & an umbrella. This would not be a good choice for people that want to "swim" in the pool. This is a small pool to "dip" in. Most of the other guests when we were there were like us - dipping & enjoying a bevvie.

My trip was April 2016

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We booked 3 months ago and the hotel lost our reservation and was fully booked. And the owner told us to bugger off. They were also was not responding to our messages to book a taxi for us a week before we arrived.

When we called the owner he told us to bugger off (worse actually) as all the bookings are automatic. Didn't suggest another place or help anything. Just hung up on me!

What a shame because such a good location. Terrible Italian owner.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anon652044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

A small property at the end of Patong beach road.The plus side is the rooms are glass fronted so it's a fantastic view across the bay with the occasional cruise ships moored up.The downside was my air con didn't work and the staff seemed nonplused about it.No pool and a four flight of stairs hike to the room in 40plus degrees,so not for the over 50's unless u r superman.Can't understand why they didn't install a lift in, No eating facilities expect an overpriced cafe/bistro next door.But millions of restaurants in Patong to choose from.7-11 and family mart next door.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thereverendgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

It says in the Internet when you book - Appliances: Coffee and tea making facilities: NOT TRUE – that does not exist
It says in the Internet when you book - Bathroom Details: Hairdryer, Bathrobe: NOT TRUE – that does not exist
I do AGREE 100% with the other guest comments: Very unprofessional management here.
The Hotel Owner Mr.Giorgio Lattuada Lancini is also the Hotelmanager and is not listening to guests problems and issues to solve – you only can get in touch via E-Mail – he was not even interested to come to the reception for a meeting in 11 days with me to listen or talk to me. His only answers via E-Mail: ..“I should find alternative accommodation more suitable with my status.".. why you continue to stay in our hotel? You should go 3 days ago… But you still there…..
So be ready if you have a simple problem to get solved via the Owner - you will get those kind of answers - very unprofessionall rude comments
The same experience like the Owner – also rude reception staff right away at the welcome check in when you ask a simple question. So better don’t ask any questions… You are absolutely not welcome in that hotel as a paying
guest
I do AGREE 100% with the other guest comments: The hotel is nothing like you see it in their advertised pictures. It will shock you once you arrive. Secondly they keep 2000 Bhat deposit which isn't mentioned on Booking.com so inspect the room carefully right when you check in.
I do AGREE 100% with the other guest comments: Biggest part they don't tell is that there is NO ELEVATORS & if you're pregnant or have issues walking or you're an elderly, this could become a problem very fast.
I do AGREE 100% with the other guest comments: The room doors slamming - can wake you up in the middle of the night with bunch of drunks. .
I am 30 years in that business and worked all over the world but that never happened to me in any hotel. VERY POOR!

Room Tip: You want to stay fit - take the last 5th floor - no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank SantaMaria1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Was ok....air von, balcony but no lift..you get what you pay for....Phuket is not for over 50'd, but lovely food, drinks cheap enough, Goa springs to mind, hotel clean, tidy, people nice enough, a pool.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank LynnBrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gphuket, Owner at The Front Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Apartments Building Has elevator but Rooms Building not have Elevator. We never stated that there was one.... By the way every client want to have top floor for the amazing view, even if no Lift.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This is my second time to visit n stay at same hotel. Both the time, our room was in 4th floor and sea view and I booked online. Reasonable price. During our Jun'2015 stay, they allotted a room with balcony and this time without balcony. Balcony has glass. so we can sit and enjoy the sea view relaxingly. Important points about this hotel:

# No elevator. Also staircase doesn't have handrails. (Be cautious while stepping and take care of children. Also plan to divide n lift heavy baggages luggage)
# Free WiFi. But each floors and reception has different passwords. Note-down the password and connect internet at reception/1st floor to use internet while waiting for taxi.
# Indian restaurants is almost 1km away. Pizzeria & Burger king is at ~600m. Thai restaurants is at ~200m. Continental cuisine is next building.
# I would advice to keep room curtain closed when you're in room. There are come people always starring at rooms around the clock(I noticed after midnight too). I don't know their intention. Anyhow be safe.
# There is a family mart in next building with Krungsri ATM and 7-Eleven is at 250m.
# Hotel has very small swimming pool (1m depth). But not so impressive.

I gave 4/5 stars mainly because of staircase. Rest all, very fine.

Room Tip: recommended rooms with balcony(not for ppl with kids), check in street view google maps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SaranDSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gphuket, Owner at The Front Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Small cozy hotel just opposite where the cruise ships visitors are sailed into the beach. Small but nice well decorated room with a excellent view (remover to book terrace and view). Located in a short walking distance from the city center but in a little more relaxed area.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dlotche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.0 km away
Patong Swiss Hotel
Patong Swiss Hotel
#239 of 327 in Patong
161 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#45 of 327 in Patong
519 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ocean Patong Hotel
The Ocean Patong Hotel
#283 of 327 in Patong
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Avantika Boutique Hotel
Avantika Boutique Hotel
#141 of 327 in Patong
273 reviews
1.1 km away
Time Out Hotel
Time Out Hotel
#215 of 411 in Patong
55 reviews
0.0 km away
Triple Rund Place
Triple Rund Place
#202 of 510 in Kathu
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Front Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Front Hotel and Apartments

Address: 30 Thaveewong Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Andaman The Front Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 411 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: $35 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Front Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Front Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Front Hotel And Apartments Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing