We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #22 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here with family for a wedding and it was really beautiful. The staff provide exceptional hospitality and make your stay a special experience. The rooms are spacious, clean and detailed. We enjoyed the bar located in the middle of the swimming pool, so you can drink a cold beer while laying in the pool.I would recommend this hotel for families that are looking for great service, food and accommodation. The only problem we had was the distance between the resort and main town - it became a bit pricey taking the tuktuk back and forth everyday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Molitoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    640
    253
    87
    49
See reviews for
726
801
37
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is our favourite resort to stay in. Awesome breakfasts, pools, and plenty of room to escape the rat race if you want to. You are only a 5 min tuk tuk ride and in busy Patong. Eating at resort is resonable. We have stayed here 4 times now and would have no hesitation in returning. Private beach across the road, with little restaurants you can just sit at all day and enjoy your cocktails. Great shopping in Patong, mostly for kids, and copy clothes/hand bags etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank nzmuirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The whole family enjoyed our stay in Merlin Beach Resort. Our home in Thailand!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MildredStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We booked a poolside swim up room for 4 nights in March 2012 and had a wonderful time. The swim up rooms are brand new with large queen size bed, great bathroom and impeccable service--the rooms were always spotless and cleaned within an hour of us leaving the room!

Merlin Beach Resort is about a 5 minute tuk tuk ride away from the bustle of Patong and is well situated off the beach. The beach itself isn't much to write home about (rocky coral etc) but the three pools with swim up bar lends itself to sunning days very well!

Overall, we were very impressed with this clean, well run resort with great service. The morning breakfast buffet was of a very high standard-- we didn't try any of the restaurants for our other meals but the restaurant up on the cliff by the beach (Little Tiger restaurant) was fabulous for local thai food.

Negatives-- it is a little far away from Patong and good beach and the free shuttle service runs irregularly so you're looking at a 200-300 baht transport (6- 8 aussie dollars) each way to the town centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbourneblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here in September 2011 after scoring a good package deal through our travel agent. It's at the far south end of Patong and about directly opposite Tri Tra (not Tri Trang as something due to the resort of the same name), beach.

The location was not so much of a problem as we always hire mopeds on our Thailand visits, but costs could soon add up if you were to commute on a regular basis via taxi or Tuk Tuk. They do offer a local bus shuttle service but it runs too infrequently to be of any real use when you decide on a spur-of-the moment trip into Patong or elsewhere.

The hotel is large and sprawling and has a great couple of swimming pools. Rooms were adequate and clean, so no complaints there.

Several restaurants on offer with above average prices and I would imagine many would get trapped eating there instead of heading into Patong where food can be much cheaper. The food was okay but I've had better for cheaper elsewhere. Staff were fine on the whole and breakfast was good.

Small fitness centre for a quick workout if you're that way inclined, a library with internet, (not free), access, a few shops that were of no real interest to us and as always, plenty of drinks to be had.

Regarding the beach...it's total rubbish and would be impossible to swim at. Looks great in travel brochures and in professional photos when the tide is in but it is completely covered with sharp rocks and coral. So forget about it. Walk across the road to Tri Tra beach and have a swim there. It's a fair improvement.

I have no complaints but I wasn't all that impressed either.

Due to the location, I would not stay again and I imagine that this place could be very, very noisy in high-season, however, there are rooms far enough away from the patrons if you can get one.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mebollocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We only stayed here 2 nights as part of our 10th wedding anniversay trip, so can only comment partially about the resort. Our room was lovely and big (deluxe with king size), bathroom large, but cleaners need to pay more attention to shower alcove. the air con was a little bit loud at night even at the lowest setting. Apart from that breakfast was good. Lots of choices from toast, croissants,cereal and egg station. It had three massive swimming pools. One was a family/kid area, which I thought was a great idea. The water was soo warm while we were there, but obviously due to the weather. The beach right out front of resort looked nice, but you couldn't really swim there as it is very rocky when the tide goes out. Great for kids for rock exploring. Two massage spots either side - didn't try them - but they were cheaper than back in Phuket. Only had dinner once at the resort, in their italian restaurant and we were very happy with the meal. This was probably one of the biggest resorts we have every stayed in, and it wasn't too bad. I think however we still prefer the smaller resorts. Phuket was a definite eye-opener. it leaves Bangkok for dead. not a place for small children at night! lots of shopping, lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korolevu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have just come back from a 14 night stay and totally loved every part of our trip! Merlin beach is a very beautiful friendly resort that has 3 of the most amazing pools i have seen. Having 2 kids aged 6 and 3 the merlin was defanatly a great choice. Our room was clean and inviting with a fantasic veiw of the pool and beach. Although the beach out the front of the resort was not a great place to swim we found Tri Trang beach just a short walk past the taxi rank out the front of the resort was amazing. We also ate a lot at this beach as the two resturants to the left of the beach- wind surfer and leky bar had awesome food with amazing choice and cost a lot less than in the resort. Another must eat is in town @ sams steak house this was the most delicious meal i have ever had.
Not all staff speak great english but will try to help as best as they can or they will find someone who can help.
We will be back!! :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Missrenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
2.7 km away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 km away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
30.4 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
5,518 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
31.6 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing