We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will return!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #26 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will return!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had the most wonderful family holiday which included all ages. The pools were fantastic. Tri Trang beach across the road was amazing ,where we spent time every day. Staff at the hotel were ALWAYS polite and helpful. My daughter got married at the resort and the day was perfect thanks to Petchari. It was very easily organised and even when the weather was too wet and windy to have outside the grand ballroom was set up wonderfully. Every detail was attended to with no fuss. This is the type of hotel where you are sad to leave but looking forward to go back.

Room Tip: Pool access room well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    612
    243
    82
    47
See reviews for
679
768
29
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed March 2012. It was a family holiday with an 11 year girl and my wife.
Everything was as advertised. Nice and clean with great pools and friendly staff.
Some reviews mention that staff were not friendly, never found this at all. Some staff were more friendly than others, but on the whole no problems in this regard. English is not their first language, so be understanding if some staff don't always understand you.....it is Thialand after all.
Breakfast was great, all ou could ask for. Omlettes made to order is a must.
As has been mentioned in other reviews, the resort resuarants are a bit pricey. The food is great, however, and the buffet dinners on the lawns are fantastic.
We headed into Patong on most days. Taxi attached to the Resort is 300 baht ($10) ,but the ones on the road are 250 baht. There is also the free bus which is good and leaves around 11am. It runs a few times during the day.
We stocked up our mini bar with water, coke, chocolate etc bought from Patong, far, far cheaper way to go. A bottle of water from town is only 7 baht (resort 120 baht).
Jung Ceylon in Patong is the place to go if you want a big shopping centre. There is a "Coffee Club" McDonalds and heaps of souvenir shops. Taxi back to the resort is 300 baht, this is for a Tuk Tuk or a sedan.
The resort beach is only sandy for a few hours at high tide but the is a nice beach accross the road. Easy walking distance away.
There is no doubt that savings are to be made by eating in town if you are watching your dollars but the cost of the taxi needs to be taken into account.
Wireless Internet is available but costs 1000 baht ($30 aud ) a week. We got for the 2 weeks and it was well worth it.
One thing we did find lacking was that a good Cappuccino could not be bought until 11am. If you like a nice coffee with breakfast as we do, you are out of luck.
We would certainly go back again and with the knowledge we now have would have an even better time!
,

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to green house or opposite the new construction site had an unpleasant odor around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TezzaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The trip was a wonderful little early, despite the difficulties: travel guide warned us at the Phuket airport that we could probably our rooms at the hotel until two o'clock in the afternoon. The time was then five in the morning and we had been traveling for 18 hours. We are angered that possibly we could shower and rest until eight hours later. We actually had to wait for the release of the room by the pool but fortunately ONLY five hours when we get enough and went to the reception and we got another room.
After that holiday was awesome.

The hotel was very comfortable, the weather was sunny and warm, the hotel employees were friendly and all went well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissaalissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My partner turned 30 last year and I managed to arrange a surprise trip to Thailand for him including 10 friends.

The hotel were amazing! When we arrived our rooms were not ready but that might be the fact that we were early but we were offered cool towels and refreshments while waiting.
The hotel we are able to get us rooms all together on the same floor, which was great, we even had interleading rooms which made our stay much more pleasurebale as we could hand out with our friends much easier.

The rooms were lovely. Clean and tidy. However we had some friends who arrived a day before and they were pffered a upgrade to the newly renovated suites which i thought was unfair as the holiday was under my name and they should of offered us a upgrade but that was a slight fault.

The pools were AMAZING!!! We arrived on happy hour night and we sure made the most of it. I reckon we psent at least 60% of our time at the hotel. The bar staff were so friendly and helpful, we even got to know them on a personal note which was lovely. The only thing i didn't like about the bar were the bees as most of us were extremely allergic but we can't really avoid the with all those sugary drinks. So best to order your drink then take it somewhere else in the pool. Bar food was amazing. We recommend the BLT and Nasi goreng!! Was a good feed when we were hung over. Our favourite cocktails were the Bazooka Joes and Long Island tea :)

The hotel is situated inly 3Km away from Patong itself and I will tell you know its the only way to go. I stayed in Patong a few years back, even though the location you couldnt beat the noise was terrible and just as pricey as a 5 star hotel. I recommened staying this hotel due to not being to far away and there is no noise. Plus you need to catch a taxi or TUK TUK which is all part of the Thailand fun!

Make sure you visit the the restaurant on the hill, great food and cheap and amazing fews at sunset.

I can see this hotel being popular for family with kids so if you are not into that i recommend booking when its not school holidays, thats what we did and we weren't dissapointed.

Also go for the deluxe rooms too and I would avoid the pool access room as at night times the bats hang out there and is super noisey!!

Have fun. You will love it!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you go for the deluxe rooms. Avoid the pool access rooms unless you like noisy bats hangi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dannigirl1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Second time we have stayed here, last time 6 years ago. Not much has changed and still very nice. Must say the hotel costs as per food, internet etc are quite high compared to other similar hotels we have stayed at. Very nice if you enjoy the resort style holiday.

I do take note of the previous review that "we don't speak thai". But I do think a 4-5 star hotel that accommodates many english speaking guests should employee as many english speaking staff as possible, I don't think that is to much of an expectation!!

Room Tip: It's a bit out of town, so tuk tuk's can get a bit expensive if you miss the hotel bus. Pato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Absolutely loved it would defo go again and recommend to anyone of any age. Staff are always friendly and couldn't do anymore to make your stay fantastic. Wish I was still there!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahandDavid12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was our first family trip to Phuket in December 2011. The MBR couldn't have been a better place for our first experience in Phuket. The staff were exceptional in all aspects of service. So they don't speak a word of English,helloooooo,do you speak Thai??? Too many expectations people!!! Food was absolutely awesome in all restaurants in the resort. Breakfast was amazing! Too bad I couldnt convince the 'omelette man' to come back to Melbourne with us,lol. All grounds and pools were in immaculate condition. We had a superior seaview room which also had view to the swim up bar pool. The New Years party was spectacular! You must visit at this time for an absolutely amazing experience.
I cannot fault this resort on anything.The staff worked tirelessly and endlessly to please all the guests. Always greeting us with a smile,always!! So please people,be a little considerate for your fellow human and not so selfish. Don't be fooled by their smiles...........it's a harsh life they have away from the resort,nothing like yours,remember that.

Room Tip: Seaview room was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sc0rpi066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
2.7 km away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 km away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
2.4 km away
Patong Merlin Hotel
Patong Merlin Hotel
#33 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing