We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #22 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Merlin for one week in April 2012. The rooms are spacious but they did smell mouldy at first as aircon had been off. We found the staff friendly but sometimes a little casual. The room service plates left outside rooms for example took a while to be cleared away, and this attracted the stray dogs to fight outside the rooms.
The biggest concern that we had was when there was a Tsumami warning the staff panicked and fled the hotel, no warning to the guests and evacuating!! We were fortunate enough to be staying at the Laguna Beach Resort at Bang Tao beach, which they evacutated the hotels and on returning supplied a free buffet in the lobby.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor incase Tsunami as you dont get alerted!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KickinBack888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    631
    249
    86
    49
See reviews for
711
790
33
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We returned to the Merlin Beach. The staff were very helpfull and we enjoyed our time there. The pool access rooms were great (as we were upgraded).
The Tsunami alret through a spanner in the works for a trip into Patong. While is did seem a little disorganised the staff did a good job a getting everyone up high and brougth us water.
Given that Patong was closed it was a great relief that the resort put on a fabulous buffet dinner for all those there - it was a great example of a team working under extreme pressure. And to top it off there was no changre. Just come done and eat - Great Job.
The service at times was lack lusture (the pool bar), even in the resturant. The staff around the pool and other areas were always happy and willing to please.
Overall a great relaxing time. - Will go back there again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We visited Merlin for the fist time for a family wedding.
Check in was easy and the rooms were large and well lit. Lots of different lights, so if one of us is reading the other can sleep.
All rooms have a view of some description, whether it's one of the 3 pools, or the beach. We were in one of the rooms on the second level overlooking the "cow pool". I'm not sure what they call it, but it was sort of a second pool to the main pool. Very quiet - more a couple's pool, but it's only a short walk through the resort to the main pool which has a swim up bar, food service at the bar and is more sociable.
The beach is nice, but for personal reasons we didn't swim there. Family said it was lovely, with lots of fish and coral.
The only down side (which is also a plus side!) is that it is a little out of town.
It means that you're secluded, but if you want to step out for a bite, you either have to get a shuttle bus (they fill up early - make sure you book a place!) which never run near meal times, or get a taxi. 250-300 baht gets you into town. A lot of the drivers are not keen to take you up the hill on the way home, so make sure you set the price before you leave town. Watch out for a dodgy trick with their fuel gauge - if they tell you they've "run out of petrol and you have to give more money". Don't!!!
Overall, very nice resort, staff were friendly and we had fun.
If you can afford it, or you can get a good rate, go for it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Definitely the best hotel i've stayed at in Phuket! The rooms are spacy, the service is great and really friendly, and the view from the seaview rooms are great. The restaurants were also lovely. A great place!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tt0043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The resort is beautiful, The rooms are clean and safe. The staff are great, However, There is a great deal of miscommunication between staff and guests. Towards the end of my trip I suffered a terrible ear infection. A doctor was called to my room by the hotel nurse, who assured me the doctors visit was taken care of by the resort manager who would contact my travel insurance. When checking out, I received the bill for the doctors visit ($700AU), The hotel manager informed me if I did not pay the bill before check out, The local police would be contacted. This was very distressing and luckily my travel insurance company paid the out-of-procedure claim on the spot. The manager did not apologise for the miscommunication and took a stance that his Resort nurse would not misinform a guest in such a way, Despite the fact I had a handwritten statement from the nurse explaining the proceedure. Be careful about anything in this regard if you choose to stay at the resort.
-Also, Not a great range of vegetarian or vegan dishes available on the breakfast buffet or room service menu-

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glaurenvalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 weeks and whilst we received interconnecting rooms as requested it required numerous telephone calls and emails prior to arrival.

By day two one of our family members fell ill (despite no having left the hotel). Day 4 second member fell ill. Advised front office staff of our concern of food quality, who in turn suggested we complain to each restaurant (obviously not interested in our plight!). Day 5 second family member had to be rushed to hospital for treatment. Staff suggested we cue for a taxi! No concern at all. Hospital staff and processes exceptional!

Tsunami warning. What warning? Absolutely none given. We heard from a friend staying in Patong and received updates via texts from family in Perth! No staff to be seen, no systems in place. Fortunately other guests sort out water and bread rolls for those who escaped to the roof.

Our rooms were located on the second floor and initially free of any external noise until an adjoining room was occupied by noisy guests. After a few sleepless nights we contacted reception to intervene. Staff suggested we either call the room concerned or visit them!

Restaurant service was appalling as was the clearing away of dirty dishes. Staff obviously think that as guests have a relaxed attitude they can too! With the exception of the Thai restaurant - fantastic service and quality dishes. Limited poolside service - you had to seek out staff to place orders and then wait and wait....Very "westernised"food and not necessarily at 4 star quality.

Shuttle Bus suited our needs although if you have young children, it could be a long time between each service. The service from Phuket Town never ran on time.

The gym is pathetic! We particularly wanted a well equipped gym and requested photos prior to booking. The photos now look to be those of the Patong Merlin and not the Merlin Beach. Broken equipment hidden away in a temporary room with no ventilation, no cleaning products for wipedown and no windows

Considering the travel rating being very high, we found the resort to be less than average. Very disappointing - we will not be back.

Room Tip: choose a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank CAROLE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherburn in Elmet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We visited the MBR for 2 weeks in April to meet up with some special friends from New Zealand. We all had a wonderful time!

We liked the location of the hotel because although we visited Patong regularly for the hustle and bustle of a busy tourist town, we loved going back to the relaxed vibe of the MBR. We found the shuttle bus service very useful and got tuk-tuk's back to the hotel when we were ready.

Our rooms were good - overlooking the secluded pool. The breakfast was great - we rarely needed to have lunch because of the great spread available in the mornings. We ate at Littlel tiger and Windsurfer as well as some other places in Patong. Unfortunately the couple of times we ate evening meal (themed buffet) at the hotel we were disappointed at the quality, quantity and selection.

We were on a boat trip and had just arrived back at Phuket Town marina when we were evacuated because of the tsunami warning. The representatives from Phuket Adventures(?) were outstanding. They had an efficient and effective plan and were calm and re-assuring throughout the wait for the all-clear. When we got back to the hotel (at about 10 p.m.) there was a meal laid on by the MBR - a thoughtful touch.

We only have 1 suggestion to make - an on-site laundry would be useful for hotel guests to use especially when it is very humid and difficult to get things dry.

Overall, we had a magical time at MBR and have come home with lots of special memories. We would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We liked the quieter atmosphere around the 'secret' pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mizmoz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
2.7 km away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 km away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
2.3 km away
Patong Merlin Hotel
Patong Merlin Hotel
#34 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,325 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Otel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing