We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average/basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Viridian Resort
Ranked #104 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average/basic”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel in March, 2011 for a bit more than a week. Our room was on the ground floor, almost facing the pool, with small patio. It was quite convenient as it took only several steps to get to the pool. But on the other hand there is little privacy cos even in the day with no lights on u have to close curtains if u wanna change and so on. So perhaps room on the 2nd floor would be better. But we didn't bother, the pool was more important to us.
Breakfasts were nice, quite a lot of variety for both who prefer meat, eggs and for those who prefer pastry, flakes&youghurt for breakfast. There were fruits and of cos delicious Thai pineapple every day.

The swimming pool was clean but not so big so it's just an option for a rainy afternoon or when u r lazy to walk to the beach. The hotel territory is covered in plants, bushes&trees in bloom so it makes a nice impression though u know outside there is a busy street with traffic and lots of street-vendors selling all kinda stuff. Exchange office is right outside the hotel. 7/11 and everything u may need is in 5-10 mins walk distance. Hotel is on the 2nd line form the beach but is a bit far because there is no direct road and it can take 10-15 mins depending on how fast u r and how persistent sellers or massage girls can be.
Room itself was basic, a bit dirty. Sink was covered with stains of nailpolish. Toiletries provided. If u happen to leave sth edible especially sweet in the room there come ants.
At the check out it turned out that one small glass holder or however it's called (a small plate the glass is staying on) disappeared from our room though we didn't take it outside for sure. Had to pay small fee for that. Didn't have time to argue as we could miss the flight so it left a bit unpleasant impression.

Safe boxes are all in one room next to check-in desk cos they had problems with that 2 or 3 years earlier (check the oldest reviews).
In general, hotel is basic, could be cleaner, staff could be more hospitable as it's Thailand and u expect them at least to smile more often. if you rnt too picky, it's fine. Especially if to book with discount.

По-русски: средненький отель, из плюсов хороший завтрак и зелень вокруг бассейна, почти полное соответствие цена-качество если брать со скидкой по акции. Мог бы быть почище и персонал поприветливей.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor with balcony should be better if u need privacy more than pool in 5 steps away fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marishka13V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    120
    70
    22
    33
See reviews for
58
111
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed here with friends in October 2011, the staff were rude, unhelpful and in my opinion, very lax in their security. After a night out, (no drinking) I returned to my room and when i checked my bag my purse had been stolen while I was out, management were not helpful despite have CCTV outside the rooms and did not care that I had possessions stolen. The local police thought it was a big joke and just laughed when I told them about the theft from the room, it left a nasty impression of this hotel.

Room Tip: get a room with a good safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STICKS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

So we (four friends) finally arrive in Phuket and are all excited to start exploring Patong. After finding the hotel we head up to the reception counter expecting the trade mark "thai hospitality" welcome. The receptionist killed the excitement levels by putting on a fake & forced smile and then giving us crap talk. After checking the 2 room alotted to us, we discovered that both didn't have a balcony while all the other rooms had one and the ground floor rooms had a patio. The rationale given by the receptionist was that we had booked the standard rooms and the other rooms in the hotel with balconies costed 500 TBH more. Well, this was the crap talk as all the rooms as per the hotel's website are standard. The receptionist held her ground on this which really pissed me off. The other strange thing about the hotel is that the safety boxes are not provided in the room but in a common room close to the reception area which can prove to be a pain point.
The rooms, though cosy, are basic and were cleaned well everyday. Fresh supply of towels were given daily 2. Bathrooms are quite small but the hotel atleast provides free toiletries of reasonable quality. The pool is a free form one and small so even if 10 people decide to take a plunge together, it would look crowded. Sunbeds are provided by the hotel as well. The best part of our stay here was the buffet breakfast. Yummy selection of bacon, ham & sausages along with some local dishes, breads, 3 varieties of fruit juices and a live egg counter. I think the guy at the live egg counter did a splendid job. We had lunch at the hotel on one occasion and except one of my friends, we didn't quite enjoy it. A travel counter is present within the hotel near the reception area where one can book a tour (i personally recommend the phi phi island tour...the island is stunning) and hire car/jeep/bike. We booked our scooties from here for 200 TBH a day which we used for exploring the other parts of the island. Massage facility is also available but I think it is better to get it done from one of the numerous massage palours steps away from the hotel.
There are many 7-11s in the area which are open 24x7 and proved very handy for people like us who feel like munching at random hours of the night. It is a 5 mins walk to bangla road and a 10 mins walk to the beach. If you are a rock music fanatic, please don't miss visiting Rock city (near bangla road) for an electric time and avoid the dead feel hard rock cafe (also a 5 min walk).
My final verdict...sea sun & sand is not really upto a 3 star hotel mark and could do better.

Room Tip: Don't miss going to Phi Phi islands and if you are a rock music fan, visiting rock city is a mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Nice hotel with spacious rooms in a great location, in the heart of patong only a few minutes walk from bangla road, excellent location and friendly staff, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hassan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jüri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Hotel has a great location. Just 5 minutes from Patong beach and also from the main street. Unfortunately the staff is not that nice there. We arrived to the hotel and they didn´t find or reservation (apparently we were not the only ones with that problem). And instead of apologizeing they tried to send us to foot massage or just sit down in the reception and wait. We showed them the voucher and they even didn´t care about that. So our check in took about 30-45 minutes and the girls in the reception were really impolite.
The room is ok but the bed is not very comfortable. We stayed there for 5 nights and I didn´t sleep at all.
In the restaurant some persons were really nice some not again. We went for fishing trip one day and later brought one tuna fish with us to hotel and they made a nice meal for us. There is also nice happy hour in there (14:00 - 18:00). Also one person told us that for us the happy hour is longer :) We were really happy and decided to stay in the hotel that day as it was raining and after few drinks they brought us the invoice and it came out there was no happy hour after all so we had to pay double...and again no apologize or nothing, just arrogant attitude.
The pool was also nice.

So it is nice for budget hotel and we also booked it because it was on sale...but we would have changed the hotel if we hadn´t paid it before hand.

Room Tip: Don´t let them to book you to connecting room, as the door between doesn´t keep any noise and if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela_Aule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel in September, Not up to the standards of 3* hotel.
100 channels but of no use, no Lockers in the room, one have to go to reception again and again for keeping the things in the Locker room. Free internet..but of no use.
So I just stayed for one night and then shifted to other hotel the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank narydeindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed here last April and are staying here again next week. Both times I have got it for $40 per night. It is not 5 star but does the job for us. For the money you get a comfortable bed, good a/c and pool. The location is great and staff are efficent. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: all roons are standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.5 km away
Baumanburi Hotel
Baumanburi Hotel
#183 of 321 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.3 km away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#100 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#52 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sleep With Me Hotel
Sleep With Me Hotel
#40 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.7 km away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#67 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 km away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Viridian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Viridian Resort

Property: The Viridian Resort
Address: 206/24 Rat-U-Thit 200 Year Road | We Are Just About 5 Minutes Walk to Jangcelon, Bangla Rd. And Patong Beach. We Situate Next to Patong Resort Entrance and Christine Massage, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Sea Sun Sand Hotel Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Viridian Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viridian Resort is a charming and natural resort in middle of Patong and the location is perfect as it is just 5 minutes walk to Patong Beach, Jangcelon Shopping Center, Bangla Road where pretty of bars and restaurants are there. Our resort features nice and cozy room and surround by rich and nice tropical garden. This is very unique atmosphere in Patong and this allow our guest to have both easy access to all the interesting things in Patong but still can enjoy the nice and relaxing atmosphere resort style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Viridian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Sun Sand Patong
The Viridian Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing