We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location should not be an excuse to choose this” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Ranked #66 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Location should not be an excuse to choose this”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I had wanted to write this review the moment we arrived from Phuket, but i opted to sit on it first because I didn’t want it to come off like I had an axe to grind. I want this review to be as objective as possible and to serve as a warning to those who are considering this place for their holiday in Phuket. As a background, I booked this hotel thru Booking.Com searching for a hotel which has a family room that can fit 6 adults. And the search only gave me 3 options, and this was the one with the better location, i.e. not too far away from Jungceylon mall, the clubs, and the beach. In retrospect, I should have just opted for 2 triple rooms in another hotel (since there were tons of other places around), and just request the hotel to book the ones adjacent to each other.

I think that apart from the hard bed, mediocre breakfast, tiny pool, a long walk just to get to the beach, and the defective a/c in the room that never cools down, the worst thing about this hotel is Customer Service/Staff Attitude:

We checked in at about noon and we were told that the room was still being cleaned, which might be available in an hour or so. We decided to leave our bags in the concierge and have lunch in Jungceylon mall. We came back about quarter past 1pm, and we were told that the room was ready but we have to wait until another staff can accompany us to our room. That was absurd because we could manage carrying our stuff, and we don’t know why we had to wait for another 10mins just to have a “chaperone”. You probably would think that having them accompany you to your room was a sign of hospitality or courtesy, but actually this was already a sign that they don’t trust their guests enough to check into their rooms unaccompanied. We had a van waiting for us, by the way, to take us to their afternoon tour, and they couldn’t be bothered with that, we had to wait for them! But looking back, I think this should’ve have been an opportunity for us to check if the items on their inventory list were indeed all present in the room when we first arrived. You see they have a list in the room that tells the guest that these are all the items and furniture in the room, and what is the corresponding price for each item and furniture if it gets lost or damaged! We didn’t mind it then because we didn’t think there would be a problem with it, until we checked out. We had pre-paid for the accommodation, so checking out was just a matter of returning the room keys. We had a van waiting for us by 6:30am, because our flight was at 9:30am, and the airport was about an hour away or more if we get stuck in the rush hour. But again, the staff couldn’t be bothered with this. The captain bell boy (who was the rudest hotel staff I have met in my entire life) had literally blocked our way and told us that we cannot leave because they have not finished checking the mini-bar! We were all appalled! And the tone that he used with us was very accusing and he is making it look like we were rushing off because we stole something and we didn’t want to get caught! We waited in the lobby for them to be finished (mind you we never even had breakfast because we didn’t want to miss our flight). And then reception man told us that we had to go back again to the room because there was one blue towel missing (they had a set of white and blue towels and supposedly one for each occupant but we only received 5 blue towels instead of 6, which we should have checked and pointed out when we had been accompanied when we checked-in). When we went up to speak to the guy checking the room, that we had never received a 3rd towel which was supposedly for the 3rd person, and none of the blue towels were used, he was about to call reception to explain that the matter is solved, here comes the very rude captain bellboy who looked like he was a policeman on a raid when barged in any accused us of taking the blue towel like we were some criminal, and this had infuriated us, but he didn’t back down and kept shouting at us! We went down because I didn’t want people to start throwing punches, and we spoke to the reception staff. It was a woman and two men, one of which was also very rude to us. We told them again that we never received a 6th towel, but the men insisted that it’s not possible because we booked for 6 people and there should be 6 towels (The woman was all calm and just listening). So this had made us feel more angry because not only are they accusing us of stealing but also lying! I told them that paying for the towel is not the issue because we can afford to pay them if we had broken or lost any item in the room, but what irks us is that they have accused us of stealing and lying about it, and that because of all this we might miss our flight! We asked them if we could speak to their manager but they say we can’t because she only comes at 9am. To cut the long story short, the reception lady (I should’ve gotten her name because she is the only courteous staff in that entire hotel since we checked-in), phoned the housekeeper who had prepared the room to confirm how many towels were provided. They were speaking in Thai so we hardly understood but in the end she told us that “it’s okay”, and that’s it. I asked for an apology for the great inconvenience and distress they have caused, but instead the rude man raised his voice again saying “It’s not our fault, we didn’t do anything”, but it was the woman who said “sorry” and calmed the men down as we stormed off.

I don't want to think that race was an issue, but I did notice that they were all smiling and polite with the Caucasian guests. There were two Caucasian people who also checked-out a bit earlier than us but none of them had any issue with the front desk. I hope this is not the reason why, and I'd like to think that they were just sticking to protocol. Being careful in one thing, but being rude and unprofessional to paying customers is another matter that I cannot condone.

So here’s a word of advice for those who want to visit Phuket: don’t settle too soon on one place. Decide on which area in Phuket you want to stay, and pick a good location (close to most activities that you plan to do), then look at the list the hotels/resorts you want to stay in. Read all the reviews first, then short list and compare prices. If it is only a few dollars difference, just pick the slightly more expensive but nicer hotel with better reviews. Never choose Poppa Palace, you deserve much better than this.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gbytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    236
    95
    30
    22
See reviews for
118
139
74
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hotel let us check in early, which was really nice. The room was as described and the AC nice and cool. We had the Family room which is really 2 connecting rooms, which was nice for 4 friends traveling together. The fridge and tv also worked as it should. Mini bar prices reasonable! The hotel staff was polite and nice and most of our requests were no problem.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us as the beach was only 2 blocks away via a little alley, and the availibility of resturants was also very good.

The breakfast was good, but only ate it 2x out of four days because we were up late and slept late.

In summary we would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a very nice property aorund close proximety to bangla road and the beach. Yet very quiet at night, we had very good sleep.

Let me share some positives first:
Location: superb very close to everything yet very silent in night.
Rooms: Spacious specially the delux room.
Pool: They have two pools both clean and beautiful, however not very private.
Staff: Good, not excellant some of them were really very helpful and others not.
Cleaniness: Yes i give 4 out of 5.
aircon: very good in delux room

Negatives or rather area of improvements:
Breakfast: not bad but not good either very basic and no variety, it was same everyday
Price: They have price for everything, they charge you 1000 THB in advance for nothing, though they return the same but this policy is not very customer friendly.
Lack of customer satisfaction: For every request they will ahve a very clear yes or no, they wnt try to find a solution if its No ...
Security: Almost none, its entracnce is open and no guard or staff is avalible at entrance to profile visitors.
Standard room: furniture is dated, air con is not good, we upgraded to delux room after staying 2 nights.
View: no view at all, the best is to take pool view

Should i stay again: ofcourse YES, provided i get the delux room at affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Travellers009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in duplex room on 11-14 feb2012
1. The room was not so clean, the floor was a bit sticky (detergent problem? water problem?)
2. The water supply caused my hair so dry ( I don't know if any of you faced this problem, but I had to use hair condition just for the sake of combing the hair)
3. I am not so fond of dim light, hence, the lighting of the room was just not fine to me
4. The pool was so attractive, would be better if the water could be cleaner
5. The staffs at the reception counter were not friendly, but the rest were fine
6. The location is ok, but to walk to Bangla road, you will need 10-15 mins
Overall, this hotel is fine, but will not be my selection in next trip

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MunFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coombs
Level Contributor
183 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The hotel was a good location. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was great. Internet for a charge that is very reasonable. Breakfast is included and good. The pool was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

It is odd that the female receptionist staff at Poppa Palace hotel was not at all friendly or helpful. If she thinks she is too good for greeting guests then why the job? Strange
The smell of the whole place is rotten and old. Our room faces the lane way with the view overlooks the brothel place… not nice. I asked for a second key to keep the A/C running while I'm out - the answer from the reception was “why – you don’t need it!” I insisted and asked to put down 200 baht deposit (no receipt). These people don’t seem to understand that guests are not walking ATM and expected to have spare cash to pay as the deposits in case we would damage stuff in the room!!! Our room (Deluxe balcony) was big, however the bed and pillows were incredibly hard. I cant emphasize this enough, they were really, REALLY hard & uncomfortable! Never ever came across such a hard as bed …. plus the noise from the A/C , we tried to turned it off, then it was too hot neither of us got much sleep due to this. The place has ants and full of mosquitoes, I was bitten by mosquitoes hence cut short our stay and checked out one day earlier, we did not ask for refund nor discount just want to be out of there.
On the plus side I should point out the convenience of reasonably close to the beach and Bangla Road nightlife. However, breakfast was tasteless as they seem to cater to Eastern Europeans tourists

I was disappointed that the large amounts of positive reviews on here gave me the false illusion that we picked a good hotel. With so much competition in Patong, I'd suggest staying elsewhere and getting better value for money.
Checked-in Jan 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenie_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Have just returned home from two weeks spent in this delightful and very reasonably priced hotel - our second visit. We had the same room each time - one of their 3 Junior Suites - very comfortable with a kitchenette and seperate bedroom with King sized bed - 2 TVs, 2 aircons, balcony, extra living area and large bathroom with bath and seperate shower. The cleaning staff do a great job every day. Centrally located to the beach and shopping - but doesn't get any of the noise from Bangla Road. There are also 2 pools to choose from - both kept very clean. The staff are all extremely pleasant and efficient in all areas. We had been in contact by email and phone with Anne who handled our enquiry and booking perfectly. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 km away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#57 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 km away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#48 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.0 km away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#87 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 km away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.6 km away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#34 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Property: Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Address: 14-16 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#33 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppa Palace Hotel welcome you truly warm Thai style and providing an exquisite view of Patong. We are a small luxurious hotel located at the quiet end of Patong. Only 3 minutes from the beach, Bangla Road and 2 minutes to the bus-stop, food center, entertainment and shopping center. 5 minutes to the hospital and Police Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppa Palace Patong
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing