We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service but Budget Hotel”
Review of The Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hill Resort
Ranked #182 of 385 Hotels in Kathu
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Service but Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The place to stay is very good. However, the staff is not trained well. Also not much options in food. Moreover English is definitely not very fluently spoken so the staff takes time to respond to the orders placed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midsummeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
25
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

When we booked this we had no idea of how much we would come to love it.

This is a hotel to which you come back to, we will and it might not be in the middle of the hustle and bustle but you just take the free coach going to down town phuket.

Nice rooms, clean and with free AC and do get one on the same level as the pool, we jumped from the balcony into the cool blue water. ( no but but we could if we wanted =)

This hotel is not so child friendly with alot of steps.
Takes 10 min to town by car or 20 min to other beaches.

This is a 3 star but in Thailand a 3 star is more like a 4 star.
Very good service and a nice breakfast and great drinks by the pool.

The restaurant is ok, but it was empty, so we did like everybody else, we ate in the city.

Free wifi and a massage if you want one.

Stay here and you will love it, we did and it is a great memory.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royalclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed here with my partner for our 5 year anniversary. It was our first trip to Thailand, and we shall definitely be returning. The hotel is good value for money, and the staff will go out of their way to help you even if their English is limited (what do you expect, you are in their country - can I speak their language? no). We found the room to be perfect with no complaints at all. The minibar was satisfactory and continually stocked. The air conditioning performed as expected. The pool was relaxing and clean. Although the front of the reception area looks older than you'd expect, the rest of the hotel is almost exactly as per the pictures (you don't need to be anywhere near the reception area anyway). The hotel is not near the beach and it is a 20 minute walk (which we did every day without problems), although there is a free shuttle bus to/from the beach at reasonable times. If you are looking for somewhere nice to relax then this is the place to be. If you prefer to be right next to the beach then you should be looking for another hotel.

Room Tip: Insist on a poolside room for the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamcrayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I didn't initially book this hotel but due to a mix up with our Booking Agents, we were booked out here at the last minute.

Firstly, the hotel is on the fringes of Phuket, I think it would be more honest to say it is in Karon. It is up quite a big hill out of Phuket.

The staff tried hard, but seemed to be a bit vague most of the time, a lot of them spoke very little English.

There was also a mix up with my reservation from the Agents and upon returning on the second day the receptionist virtually demanded payment up front. I have no problem with this but it could have been handled better. I paid this, but found when I got home I had in effect paid twice as the Agent (who the hotel said otherwise) had charged me also. I did eventually get a refund from the Agent but I didn't really want or need such hassles on my holiday.

The breakfast was okay but nothing special. The pool was very nice and secluded with a whirlpool.

I think this small 'resort' is better suited to either small families or couples requiring a degree of intimacy. It is a bit too far out of Phuket for me and so is unlikely I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

the grand ville has a few things going for it, a small but nice pool with a swim up bar being one. it is important though to have a room by the pool i would imagine as the property is on a quite steep hillside. the rooms are spacious enough, have working air-conditioning, mini bar and shower. the tv has only thai channels. bar prices are ok as are the menu items. the food is ok but not good and the breakfast is poor to middling.
There is an area by reception that looks like it needs to be demolished so I wonder how long this place will survive. Having said all that the staff were nice, they have free WiFi and bus into town so i could stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alant1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Patong ville is natural environment, location near entertainment and close to the sea.
We really liked this resort and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoneyBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed here in nov. and could have been there at the same time and the same deal as the last reviewer, The price was $849 for the package,at that price you dont expect 5 star there was a lot of confusion at the checkin but i blame jetstar they organised it,some people were moved to other resorts. We found the place good value for the money the staff spoke very little english,only 1person could understand & talk english but were in there country ,the room was clean, the staff excellent,the food very good nice pool,nice gardens,the place just needs a spruce up, free transport to town was good Im glad we were away from the patong /bangla rd. area We would stop there again if such a deal came up

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reelmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathu
1.1 km away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#156 of 328 in Patong
140 reviews
7.1 km away
Phuket InterHouse
Phuket InterHouse
#110 of 134 in Karon
27 reviews
4.4 km away
Manohra Cozy Resort
Manohra Cozy Resort
#54 of 134 in Karon
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Rabbit Mansion
Rabbit Mansion
#246 of 328 in Patong
27 reviews
0.2 km away
PS Hill Resort
PS Hill Resort
#27 of 222 in Patong
101 reviews
0.6 km away
Arita Hotel
Arita Hotel
#180 of 411 in Patong
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Resort

Property: The Hill Resort
Address: 19 Sirirat Rd. | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Absolute Patong Ville & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Kathu
#70 Spa Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
38 decent sized rooms each with balcony, en-suite shower, cable TV, safe, air-conditioning, serviced daily. Good sized swimming pool with jacuzzi, shallow kids pool, swim up bar. Tropical gardens with many species of birds, butterflies and small lizards. Breakfast from 7:30 am to 10:30 am, lunch and dinner available at the adjoining restaurant. Parking for cars and motorbikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Patong Ville Hotel Kathu
Absolute Patong Ville And Spa
The Hill Resort Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing