We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”
Review of The Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hill Resort
Ranked #180 of 378 Hotels in Kathu
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 27 November 2009

This hotel is the faulty towers of Phuket possibly Thailand, we were collected from the airport and when we arrived were told they didn't have our booking! The staff then proceeded to make phone calls hiding under the front reception desk laughing! After an hour of dealing with a 'Trainee' despite asking for the resort manager, we were given a room. The sun lounges by the pool are cracked and full of mould, the shower curtain had mould on it also and the glasses were dirty. Then they expect you to attend a seminar and try and get you to buy into timeshare, what a joke DONT STAY THERE!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    16
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
25
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

It looks great on the website however in real life very average to poor - the entrance and reception is old, paint peeling, run down. Up the stairs the pool is a lot smaller than it looks, totally overgrown, very hemmed in, one restaurant which is mostly outside, the spa is closed (for good by the look of it). It advertises luxurious and meticulous rooms, average at very best would be more like, air conditioners etc old and there is no where to go, it is isolated on the poor side of town. In my opinion it looks like its on the slippery slope to closing. We were booked in for 6 nights and stayed 1, we asked for our money back, which was another story and in the end we booked out adn a local tour driver took us away to choose another hotel in Patong by the sea.. Please note we did do this and from then on in had a fab time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetheLife60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kathu hotels

Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2009

sorry it was at Absolute Bangla Patong but I believe that they have same standard. I went with my boyfriend, he's a white guy but I'm Thai. One off their staffs who gave us service treated me very bad but gave service to my boyfriend very nicely just because he is a white guy or whatever reason was. But we are not going back there again. I complain to the head office how she treated me, then they told me to write comment to the MD. I complain to the MD as like as they told me to, but there is nothing happen. I have never heard anything back from them ever!
I really hate people to look down on other people, and if they want to keep doing this type of business they shouldn't have let this type of thing happen.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We ended up staying here as part of a promotion by Absolute attempting to get us to buy into their business so 7 nights only cost us $99AD.

We had spent a week in Bangkok shopping and generally experiencing the hustle and bustle of that fabulous city and were keen to just get away, sit by a pool and read - which we did.

The rooms are OK, my wife thought the bathrooms were a little unclean. The staff were fantastic, very attentive and keen to help. Breakfast was pretty poor so we ended up walking down the road to a place called Coffee Mania - the best coffee we had in our two week tour of Thailand, also do nice pastries and sandwiches - lots of Europeans seemed to be here, I guess it was to get a decent coffee. We only had a couple of dinners at Absolute which were OK but better options in town (or the Secret Cliff Restaurant heading towards Kata - fantastic food)

At night the place was pretty noisy from the road but we quickly got used to that. It is true it is a little way our of town but we enjoyed the walk most mornings and at other times used the Absolute shuttle service which was very useful.

The pool was lovely, great temperature and very clean - perfect for sitting around and reading.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Absolute Patong Ville is a nice place to chill out and relax. It has got a nice panoramic view of the swimming pool and the in-house restaurant churns out amazing local food.
Though a little far on foot from the Patong beach, but we hired bikes and choppers for travel in phuket and it takes about 5 mins to reach to the beach or anywhere else in Phuket by bike. Enjoyed my stay and the trip.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Rach1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathu
1.1 km away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#161 of 322 in Patong
136 reviews
0.7 km away
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
10.9 km away
Baanpanwa Resort and Spa
Baanpanwa Resort and Spa
#13 of 13 in Cape Panwa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Coconut Village Resort
Coconut Village Resort
#68 of 322 in Patong
348 reviews
0.2 km away
PS Hill Resort
PS Hill Resort
#27 of 221 in Patong
101 reviews
1.2 km away
The Silk Hill Hotel
The Silk Hill Hotel
#90 of 405 in Patong
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Resort

Property: The Hill Resort
Address: 19 Sirirat Rd. | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Absolute Patong Ville & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Kathu
#69 Spa Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
38 decent sized rooms each with balcony, en-suite shower, cable TV, safe, air-conditioning, serviced daily. Good sized swimming pool with jacuzzi, shallow kids pool, swim up bar. Tropical gardens with many species of birds, butterflies and small lizards. Breakfast from 7:30 am to 10:30 am, lunch and dinner available at the adjoining restaurant. Parking for cars and motorbikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Patong Ville Hotel Kathu
Absolute Patong Ville And Spa
The Hill Resort Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing