We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place if you get a good price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place if you get a good price.”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed a week in their Superior Jacuzzi room.

+ Very nice pool area, with good sunbeds.
+ Friendly staff, quiet area.

- It was a bit overgrown around the outdoor space of our room, making the room a bit dark.
- Expensive restaurant.

For the price we paid it was a great deal, but the official prices are way too high in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MnM95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    286
    81
    40
    43
See reviews for
83
671
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had the most relaxing wonderful holiday we have ever had. Everything about it was fantastic. The villa's are exquisite and we stayed in the basic room! It was spacious, cool, comfortable and spotlessly cleaned every day. They have their own private alfresco area and a hammock overlooking the most wonderful sights and gardens. The pool is huge and so inviting looking over the most gorgeous bays. It is a small resort which adds to the character and never seems over crowded.The staff are all friendly, helpful and ready for a chat; especially Michael who is a real character. The dining room is so sweet and the special nights they do are a must with fantastic food. We never opted for the breakfast package as we are not big morning eaters except for the complimentry one with Richard which was amazing with soo much choice and great company. We prefered to go for a morning walk and check out the local cafe's of which we found a few and was not disapointed with any of them. It is tucked away from all the hustle and bustle but still within walking distance to local bars and resturants. They run a free shuttle bus every hour to the gorgeous Nai Harn beach which is a must, even if you are not beachy people there are shops and resturants and lovely views.
We even managed to find our own taxi driver to take us on our sightseeing trips for a daily rate. It was always a wonderful feeling to come back from a busy time in Patong or Phuket Town to the tranquility of the Mangosteen. Their Spa is also fabulous as is the gym with fabulous views. The only fault we had was the beer prices where a little on the high side but they do have cocktail happy hour every evening.
We did not want to leave and we shall definetly be back to our little piece of paradise. Tony and Shona, Perth WA

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ShonaHuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at the Mangosteen on the 7nights/$199 deal and from when we first arrived until we left it was far beyond our expections. The staff are wonderful......always willing to help with whatever you need. Our room was spacious, clean and the bed very comfortable. Great pool and pool area with plenty of chairs to relax on. We loved the restaurant, very open and great view. The coffee was the best we had while in Thailand. Thank you Richard,Michael and Charles for making us feel welcome and giving us a lot of laughs. We had a wonderful time and didn't want to leave.You will definetly see us again. Eddie and Sue

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie and Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Everything in this place is excellent, apart from the location - it is really tucked in away from everything, which is good for people who want a nice relaxing quiet holiday. But, if you are looking for a party, crazy nights then you have to stay at Patong.
Rawai beach is an awesome beach - free shuttle running from this hotel which is great.
If you are looking for a shop, you go out from this resort and when you hit the small road you have to go to the right, when you reached the main road then you will see some shops selling your daily needs.
However, restaurants are scare, so you have to content with the one at the resort or if you go to the beach, you can have your lunch there. Be mindful that the shuttle service stop sometimes late afternoon, check with the concierge for that.
The location is the main drawback for myself, but other than that, everything else is awesome. Special mention to the pool, I really love it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yosi1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have just returned from 7 nights at Mangosteen purchased via Our Deal for $199 and were extremely pleasantly surprised. We had a Superior Garden room which was huge and had a great view of Chaweng Bay. Room was slighted dated but spotless and well maintained. The pool and bar area is also good. The resort is not close to the beach however a free shuttle is provided to Nai Harn Beach every hour and should not be missed. Lots of fantastic cheap seafood restaurants and sun lounges and umbrellas are available for rent. Rawai also has many places to eat but you will need a taxi to get there, unless you hire a scooter. We were asked to listen to a presentation about their club membership which took about an hour and a half but once we explained we were not interested they did not hassle us again for the rest of our stay. Our only complaint was the constant smoking in and around the pool and reception area. In this day and age there should definitely be designated no smoking areas anywhere near here. Very retro.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DianneP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Well we have just come back from 7 nights at the Mangosteen, and like many others purchased the $199 deal and opted for the upgrade to a Jacuzzi suite. I was to say the least a little worried after reading a lot of the comments on the trip advisor site, but after being there all I can say that obviously you cant please some people. My husband and I loved it from the time we arrived until when we left. To lay in bed and watch the sunrise was just one of many delights. It is tucked away from everything but I think that is what gives it it's charm it is truely a touch of paradise. Someone mentioned on here about rude staff well we searched and searched but never came across one. The staff dont speak fluent English but then why would you expect them to. The two girls at reception were so friendly and very helpful.
As far as the guys hassleing you on arrival, well they dont if you are not interested just say no they are really nice guys and are really not pushing at all. We spoke to Richard who was really nice and told him our situation and there was no pressure at all. This resort I would highly recommend. The brekkie was reasonable. There is a few places within walking distance to eat at and a 7 eleven only 15 min walk away. We ventured into Patong twice and it was a great to get back to our quite resort. A must is Nai Harn beach which the resort offers a free shuttle there, we ate there a few times and found the food very nice and quite reasonably priced. The beach threre is also great for swimming. I would recommend to hire a car so you arent restricted too much. This was our first time to phuket and it certainly wont be our last.

Room Tip: choose a balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cottiesPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We purchased the $199 voucher deal and didn't have too much trouble with our booking. Considering the high influx of emails they would have received, the response was pretty good. Received a phone call about one week prior to the trip from Amanda inviting us to join her for a complimentary breakfast on our first morning. I was skeptical as I had read reports on Tripadvisor re the "club membership presentation" and was worried about how of this was going to take up our time on our honeymoon. Considering we were only paying $199 for 7 days accommodation, we felt it was the least we could do to listen to what they had to offer. We met Amanda who was very personable and friendly, and we had breakfast and then visited of the newly renovated family suites. Here we sat on the balcony looking at the views while she discussed the membership with us. We declined to opt for the membership as we had just had a baby and our finances are still yet to be sorted and Amanda did not pressure us one little bit. In fact she gave us a nice little bonus which we were thrilled with but you'll just have to go through the presentation to see if she gives it to you and what it is!

The resort was beautiful! Rooms were spacious and lovely (thank you very much for the free upgrade!) and the staff were very friendly. I was really impressed with "Wah" our housekeeper. He was very polite and thoroughly tided up our room each time.

Breakfast I felt was a little over priced for Thailand even with the package deal (worked out to be about AUD $13 each). I was expecting about AUD $9 but it is a small resort and buffets aren't cheap to do. The food I felt for a hotel standard was reasonably priced. You can't come to a hotel and expect prices like you would get out on the street.

Just a short walk down the road is a great little place called Tex Mex where you can get a nice cheap meal and other little stores along there.

Yes you need to book a taxi to get anywhere but for the sake of AUD$5, it's not that bad.

The only complaint we had was the beds weren't to our liking. A little hard but we are just spoilt by our own bed back at home so this a personal complaint.

So it was a great place to stay and we felt like we almost cheated them by only paying for the $199 voucher! Thanks for a great honeymoon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.4 km away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
3.2 km away
Navatara Phuket Resort
40.3 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
487 reviews
11.3 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,787 reviews
3.5 km away
THE NAI HARN
THE NAI HARN
#1 of 6 in Nai Harn
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Property: Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, Phuket. Located near Nai Harn Beach in the South of Phuket, Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa sits on a private hillside. This adult only Boutique Resort offers high standards of personalized service in a secluded and serene environment. Only 41 villa style rooms ensure privacy and tranquility. The rooms are designed as a "home away from home" by Interior Designer John Underwood to ensure guests have a most enjoyable stay. Surrounded by tropical gardens, each Villa feels like a piece of private paradise. Private Villa gardens offer a Jacuzzi tub. Enjoy the breathtaking views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket Island. All units are generous in space. The center of the resort consists of the 680 sqm free form pool, the Restaurant, the Lounge Bar and the Ayurveda Destination Spa. A free shuttle service is offered to the guests to make the short trip to Nai Harn beach, one of the best beaches in Phuket and Asia. Your unique Ayurveda Destination Spa Resort near Phuket's best beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing