We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Baan Mai Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Mai Cottages
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Reviewed 5 December 2007

We stayed at the Baan Mai cottages for a few nights in late November 2007. It was fantastic.

Friendly staff; gorgeous location; quiet and peaceful. We were one of three couples staying there which added to the secluded tranquility. The 'call to prayer' heard throughout the day was lovely.

The beach is great for walks, but not recommended for swimming; the lovely, cool swimming pool set among the jasmine and palms. There is a beach-- accessible by boat-- that is great for swimming.

The food is prepared fresh, although sometimes there are delays. Good tasting and you have the opportunity to help prepare your meal.

While the rooms are small, and somewhat dark, I love them! Charming classic furniture, and the bed has grand mosquito netting. The 'Balinese-style' bathroom is fabulous!

Very casual and relaxed; if you want something, just ask! And be sure to have your brekkie on the verandah! While a somewhat limited menu, you can pick and choose as you like and have as much or little as you desire.

I do not recommend this holiday for families. It is more suited for adults who want a relaxing, peaceful holiday... a great break from the bustle of Phuket Island.

Finally, I would recommend a traditional Thai massage, right on the beach under a 'sala'. While about twice the price than on Phuket, it's still cheap and well worth listening to the waves crashing against the shore. It drowned out my cries of pain (good pain, naturally!)

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PB_Antipodean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Baan Mai Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2007

We had a wonderful time at this hotel from the moment we arrived until the time we left. It was a magical experience in many ways.

We were collected from the pier and boated out to the island. Be ready to get your feet wet! There was someone waiting for us when we arrived to wash the salt water off our feet and to sit us down with a tropical fruit juice while we registered, however, which was a wonderfully personal touch.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the service in general was very flexible and accomodating. The only flaw, really, was that sometimes the food service was very slow. The food is all cooked fresh but there still seemed to be unneccessary delays at times. As you are on a small island, you are not really in a rush, usually, though so just try to relax and enjoy the pace.

The rooms were nice and each villa has it's own balcony and open-air bathroom. I recommend having breakfast delivered to you balcony. It's a great way to start a magical day on the island. The only thing we didn't like about the room was that the bed was very hard. That only really bothered us for the first night, though. The room was cool and comfortable.

The beach is a little bit rocky but is full of wildlife, we saw birds and three different varieties of crab. We even saw a monkey on the beach. We left the swimming for the lovely pool, though.

The wildlife was one of the main attractions for us with frogs, butterflies, dragonflies, birds, geckos and even an iguana. This really was a piece of quiet paradise for us and any of the minor flaws or inconveniences were easily compensater for with the genuine and friendly service and the feeling of relaxation we achieved there.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2007

We stayed in a Beach Front bungalow for 4 nights from 25 February 2007. Loved the bathroom, once we got used to it, but didn’t like the room so much – dark, with very dim lighting and unbelievably hard mattress!
Rooms and resort were clean and well kept.
The beach was disappointing, sharp coral with rocks below the water line, making it unsafe for swimming. We liked the pool area which more than made up for the beach. The food was excellent, international or authentic Thai – which could be hot or toned down if requested. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Not a sophisticated resort – but highly recommended for relaxing quiet holiday with good food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank GrahamsNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2006

We stayed at the Baan Mai Cottages for the first part of our vacation and loved it.

When we first arrived, the tide was out so we had to wade in from the boat to shore. This caught us off guard because we were in running shoes (direct from airport) so we had to open our luggage to get out our sandals as there was a lot of rocks and coral when the tide was out that far.

The cottages were basic, but lovely. Each has a front patio with a bench seat and two chairs, perfect for relaxing. There is a screen door if you like to sleep with the door open. We were a bit worried about the Balinese style bathroom, but it was awesome. The sink/toilet/shower area is covered by a roof, so only the outside edges would get rained on if it were raining.

Each cottage has chairs for the beach and either 1 or 2 hammocks. The cottages are set back from the beach only a few feet, so you can hear the waves and see the water. The cottages are set far enough apart so that you can see your neighbors, but not hear them. The mattresses are Very Firm here!

The beach is nice when the tide is in, and the resort will transport you to a beach nearby for free if you want total seclusion or a good snorkelling beach. They'll also pack you a picnic lunch and give you an umbrella for shade, etc.

The resort also offers a cooking class for an additional 10% of the menu cost. We took a course and learned to make Thai Cashew Chicken.

The island is Muslim so a few times a day you hear their call for prayers over the loudspeakers, but we only really noticed it around dusk. The cicadas on the island are quite loud and we were shocked the first time we heard them, but got used to them quite quickly.

The staff were fabulous and we would return here without a doubt. Very private and away from the bustle of the Patong area, but still within easy reach of the shore. The resort's boat will transport you back and forth at any time, and it's only about a 10 minute boat ride to the pier on the other side.

We can't wait to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank canadian_trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Giulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Eva-Lotta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
3.9 km away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
4.4 km away
Monaburi Boutique Resort
4.0 km away
RaTaNa Apart Hotel
RaTaNa Apart Hotel
#30 of 43 in Rawai
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Aqua Resort
Aqua Resort
#22 of 43 in Rawai
4 reviews
5.6 km away
Rawai Palm Beach Resort
5.5 km away
Coral Island Resort
Coral Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Ko He
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Mai Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Mai Cottages

Address: 35 / 1 Moo 3 | Lone Island, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rawai
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: $35 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Mai Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Mai is located on the shore of Koh Lone Island, the Baan Mai Resort is hidden within a flourishing tropical garden, right on the beach shore. A unique boutique hotel with its beach front and garden bungalows, the superb Thai villa and the exotic sweet-water swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Mai Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Mai Cottages Hotel Rawai
Baan Mai Hotel
Baan Mai Resort
Baan Mai Cottages Phuket/Rawai, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing