We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again. Too noisy”
Review of Alkantara Thalassa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alkantara Thalassa
Ranked #91 of 102 Hotels in Djerba Island
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never again. Too noisy”
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Smelly, shabby, dirty, noisy, poor housekeeping, sleeping is impossible because of noise, poor restaurant. Rude staff.
Otherwise, ok.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WalterDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    133
    62
    87
    228
See reviews for
153
258
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

This is not a five star hotel, not even a 2 one. The main problem of this hotel is ; NOISE. Sleeping is difficult because you can hear everything.
The restaurant is more a school canteen than a real restaurant. The food was always, always always the same. In front of the hotel, the beach is so dirty.
The greatest problem is the the general manger of this hotel who was very rude with my wife. Incredible, isn't it?
We will never come back. And shame on Vincci Group Hoteles for such an hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank berlinerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Djerba Island hotels

UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We visited this hotel on January.Two days after the beginning of our stay, my wife contracted disentery which can be caught through water or food, when you cook with dirty hands.When we visited a Tunisian physician, he said he has already seen many patients from Vincci alkantara with nasty tummy bugs. At the chemist's, we were a bit surprised to see how clients from this hotel are well known...
People working for this hotel are not very nice and helpful, especially when you do not speak French.
Of course, Tunisia is a Third World country, but at least they could wash their hands before cooking. So if you go there, be very careful or better, avoid this hotel.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank menssano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

This hotel might have been a good hotel when it was opened a few years ago but now i would not give it a two star... Since the opening, they haven't spent a dinar on it.
It was the most terrible hotel experienxe in my entire life. Don't be fooled by the "good" reviews... It was really horrible: very noisy, not very clean. The beach is so dirty that you can not reach the sea!
Clients are treate like idiots. The staff are unpolite and on some occasion down right rude. No internet and no room service (well in fact, there is but when you order something you never get it...).
I would not give the food from the so called restaurant to my pet.
DON'T GO THERE, this is the only piece of advice i can give you!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 59864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I was about to cancel my holidauy at the Vincci Al Kantara after reading the reviews here and am only glad I did not. I have the feeling that there is a hate campaign going on because I can honestly say that the hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the hotel is very quiet and the restaurant gives so much choice and caters to all tastes. I can truly find no fault. The spa is fantastic and the indoor pool well heated. The pools are cleaned every day and even the beach was cleaned daily. It is true there is an algae problem, but about 300 m to the left of the hotel there are beautiful, clean beaches. I would go back any time as the package we booked gave fantastic value for our money and we spent a great week at the Al Kantara.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank periqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2009

I had a great week here, I see there are some negative avis on this hotel, I suppose it just depends what sort of holiday suits the individual. If you want relaxation, and luxury it is perfect.
Yes, the beach water does look dirty, but it is just seaweed, a few hundred metres to the left it is clear. The actual beach is cleaned every day, I don't know what can be done about the water.
I found the food great, and I am quite a fussy eater and a vegetarian. You can't expect miracles when there are 100 or so people to cook for, but I think they did a fantastic job.
I found the bedroom we were in was very confortable; cleaned everyday and very well insulated from noise.
It was wonderful to have some luxury in the health centre, the massages were excellent.
One negative for me being non smokers, we didn't stay in the bar for long as we couldn't stand the smoke, so we didn't see any of the nightly entertainment.
I found everyone friendly and helpful and very hard working, especiallly in the restaurant.
We only tipped on the last day, and in the health centre/hairdresser, (and left a tip for the cleaner in our bedroom) it seemed to be very much appreciated, there are many employees in the health centre so I presume their wages aren't fantastic.
I look forward to going there again sometime.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny-ChCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We went in with very low expectations after reading the reviews here.
But as it was cheap we decided to go. We went with an open mind there.
It was a terrible mistake.
On arrival, at the outside of the hotel, it looked ok, but that is the last positive.
This dump was even worse than we had feared.
The restaurant is disgustssing. The bathroom was a disaster. The beach was so dirty that it was impossible to reach the seaside.
There was a terrible smell. And it is always very noisy.
The staff is not helpful and the gereral manager was very rude to us.
Unpolite behaviour.
I am afraid i can not trust the good reviews posted here, i think they are completely false.
In summary, don't stay there.
Avoid this hotel like the plegue.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertrandduguesclin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Djerba Castille
0.2 km away
Hotel Bravo Djerba
Hotel Bravo Djerba
#42 of 102 in Djerba Island
169 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Palm Azur
Hotel Palm Azur
#27 of 102 in Djerba Island
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Les Sirenes
Les Sirenes
#85 of 102 in Djerba Island
65 reviews
1.2 km away
Menzelcaja
Menzelcaja
#2 of 2 in Aghir
93 reviews
6.0 km away
Menzel Marhaba
Menzel Marhaba
#5 of 21 in Midoun
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkantara Thalassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkantara Thalassa

Property: Alkantara Thalassa
Address: Zone touristique Aghir | B.P. 16, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 102 Hotels in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alkantara Thalassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkantara Thalassa Hotel Djerba Island
Vincci Hotel Djerba
Vincci Hotel Alkantara Thalassa
Vincci Alkantara Thalassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing