We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveller rating
509
381
121
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
381
121
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano bartunisian restaurantmain restaurantspacious clean roomsanimation teamevery eveningswimming pooltennis courtsspecial thanksriupianistseabathrobescorridorwaitersalcoholwhiskey
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was our second visit to the Riu Palace Royal Garden.

The hotel is kept spotless. Large, comfortable rooms (if slightly dated) with efficient air con. The huge swimming pool is well maintained and set in beautifully kept grounds. Two sittings at dinner (6.30 pm and 8.30 pm) and you are allocated the same table each evening (breakfast and lunch is free seating). The food in the restaurant is excellent, with a huge choice. The all inclusive wines are very acceptable. You can also take lunch at the pool restaurant and again, there is plenty of choice.

There are daytime activities organised by the energetic animation team, but you are not pressurised to take part! Cannot comment on the evening entertainment because we chose not to watch any. There are four tennis courts (red clay) which we used every evening before dinner and never had a problem getting a court.

What makes this hotel outstanding is its staff, who are friendly and efficient, and cannot do enough for you. The manager makes the effort to meet with his guests, and can be seen almost every evening during the dinner service.

We would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MartSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay in the Palace Garden and loved it. Spotlessly clean, big rooms, comfortable beds, delicious food. Beaches in Djerba not too good as the only areas cleaned are the hotel front, they could be gorgeous if the local council cleaned up the washed up rubbish, but the sea was beautiful and crystal clear. The hotel has a huge pool and beautiful gardens, staff friendly, we would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank macmoore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is an all-inclusive resort. It is in a beautiful setting with pools and right on the beach. The food is very good. The one thing I would fix is the internet policy: it's rather expensive and difficult to get. This is something common to all Riu resorts, so I don't expect that to change soon. In general, it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This was first time we booked via tour operator Jetair in Belgium. Hotel 5* All inclusive. From the moment we arrived around 10 am, we had a welcome drink while check in was done by hotel staff.
We stayed for 1 week, and I can say that it was for me the Hotel n°1 for service and friendly and helpful staff.
All in means ALL IN, all drinks, alcohol or coffee,tea, water, (local) liquars, cocktails, soft drinks, without any limitation in restaurant, pool bar/resto, other bars, typical restaurant, thea house.
The only money we spent were tips we gave sometimes to the waiters (they didn't ask for it) but they made me feel really VIP, as well to the other guests.
Some guest we talked to, came again after several stays there over the years.
We stayed in December (low season) and we will certainly go back.
For departures for excursion or leaving before thhe usual breakfast time (7 am) was small buffet breakfast ready as from 4 am.
The rate we paid (Jetair) was VERY reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank globalphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2011

First impression was not good since we had a late check-in at about 21.30 arriving in darkness, not recommended if avoidable, so there was limited opportunity to pre-view the room. We had to be rushed into the restaurant to be in time for the 2nd sitting dinner and since the arrangement was "All In" we were amused to be braceleted with a plastic band as proof of such, to remain continuously in place until departure.

We were allocated a sea-view room as booked but this was spoilt by a large concrete shelf immediately in front of the balcony. Some late evening discussion part in French, the main language here, resulted in the promise of a move the next day, and indeed on day two the desk manager was most obliging in arranging the room change. The problem was solved by moving a few rooms along the corridor from 4215 to 4203 and we had a pleasant view over gardens, pool towards the sea.

By the way the brochure specifies "200m to the beach", but this must have been measured from the outer edge of the hotel grounds, and it is more like 500m from hotel reception to the sea. The hotel is also "just opposite the golf course" but the entrance is in fact a 15 minute walk along the main road, or one dinah taxi ride.

Guest rooms
Good size and big enough to fit in two spare beds, TV old box style with small picture and limited channels

Cuisine
Buffet style, plentiful but generally bland. Tunisian wine is included in the All In but varies in quality according to what is currently in stock. An extra tip for the waiter will sometimes get you your preferred brand. The Tunisian Restaurant is open two evenings per week and is worth a try, more exclusive service and local style at no extra cost. The Italian restaurant is open just one evening per week and also worth trying.

Cocktails are included in the All In and available throughout the day if so desired. Spirits used, rum, gin, whisky, vodka are mainly unknown local brands but not bad in mixes. There is a plentiful supply of bottled water both in the guest rooms and elsewhere.

Guests
Mainly German, French and Belgium, and few English, so the staff speak predominantly French, always very helpful and friendly.

Swimming
Outside pool is massive, fresh clean water, naturally heated so a bit chilly for some. Inside pool and spa are excellent. Sea was warm about 22 deg C

Tennis
Four red clay courts with potential but poorly maintained. I was disappointed that there was nothing organised, no tournaments, no coaching, little effort to find partners, so a person on their own has a problem. Recommend to bring your own racket since those provided by the hotel are poor.

Entertainment
In the evening the Recreation Team try hard to put on a show and it is entertaining. The disco evenings are spiced up by the Tunisian guys inviting the ladies to dance and there is one Tunisian lady willing to give the old guys a swing! All good innocent fun.

When the sun is shining as it usually is this is a great place to be. It is relaxing with plentiful comfortable loungers and parasols around the pool areas. Paddling in the sea is great, walking along the beach with possibility for horse and camel rides is splendid.

The All In works well with no worries of what the next drink will cost. Upon check-out I felt a bit sorry that my plastic bracelet was finally removed and I returned to the outside world to open my wallet again!

Room Tip: Sea/Pool facing north side are worth the extra since rooms at the back although sunnier overlook out-buildings and garden towards the main road.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TennisFanAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews