We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Another excellent Riu hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba
Ranked #10 of 122 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another excellent Riu hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We travelled to Tunisia in a group of 12 (4 couples and 4 singles) all over 50. We chose this hotel because we have stayed at other Riu hotels and always found them v good. Not having been to Tunisia before it made sense to choose a hotel that we knew should be of a good standard.

We all chose bungalow rooms and they were all excellent, clean spacious and well appointed. We did not find the lack of air con a problem as the nights were fairly chilly.

Staff were excellent and always very pleasant and helpful.. I must agree that at the weekend when the Tunisians arrived it was rather hectic as there were only the same amount of staff and the poor bar waiters were run off their feet. We rather thought that by the end of April the practice of renting cheap rooms to the locals would be finished but they did not spoil our holiday too much. The only thing we really noticed is that the quality of the food in the restaurant goes down ie no cheese and biscuits and cheaper cuts of fish and meat.

Overall we had a really good holiday and would certainly return both to Tunisia and the hotel.

Room Tip: Bungalows are quiet and v spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amdramkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    382
    152
    44
    19
See reviews for
329
676
37
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

On our arrival around 5 English flights had landed within minutes of each other so there were queues and waits at passport control and baggage carousels. We also had a significant wait on our bus for other passengers caught up in the melee so definitely worth booking a private transfer. On arrival at the Riu Palace it was by far and away the most eye catching hotel stopped at. The reception area is very grand. We were given a warm welcome by staff and a refreshing drink but then told our room wouldn't be ready for around 2 hours. The reception manager explained to us Sunday was a busy day for those leaving and although we were given our wristbands to use the bars I was a little disappointed and didn't expect this from a five star hotel.
On going back to get our room key to get out of our warmer English clothes we tried to take our own suitcases and were told in no uncertain terms they would be brought to us. 40 minutes later we were still sat waiting for our cases. I went down to see what the hold up was to see there was only 1 bell boy with one trolley who was having to sort through the vast no of arrivals cases and load them sensibly in areas so he wasn't running in all different directions. Once he'd gone I took my own cases.
This was a theme of the holiday. The staff are desperate to please and provide you with service, but that often means waiting for it. There was waiter service at the pool, but literally everyone would be asked then it would take 30 mins for it to be delivered. I would walk to the bar and ask for drinks as I don't insist on being waited on, but they wouldn't give me the drinks and would tell me to go and sit down as they would be brought to me! The sentiment of relaxation and service was there and the staff work very hard and are friendly but sometimes it was frustrating when you were already thirsty when you asked for a drink.
As it was early season, the air con was off in the rooms and wouldn't be switched on. The thompson rep pointed out small print in the brochure that stated this. There were no beds or shades set up on the beach either so you could only sunbathe around the pool in comfort however it was quite clearly still closed season as we went out and about locals were painting and cleaning all the bars and restaurants ready for summer. These were really the only minor niggly bad points.
Food was good, plentiful, varied with healthy options available. Grill food was cooked in small amounts so always fresh. The a la carte Carthage was amazing. We went twice in our 2 week stay and had steak both times cooked to perfection. We went to the Italian once and that wasn't so good and I preferred the buffet restaurant.
Rooms were very spacious with a nice bathroom and huge walk in shower and bath. The cleaner kept the room spotless. Our balcony overlooked the mountains in front of the hotel and got the sun in the evening. The chairs were comfy on there which was a nice touch.
I got sick in the second week, no fault of the hotel or country, and everyone from reception, the ents team, doctors and nurses who helped and looked after me were fabulous. The treatment and speed of it was better than in this country. The hotel arranged everything and the staff who kept my husband entertained and kept him company while I was ill were a credit to Riu.
Due to my illness we had to cancel the Sahara trip and Thomson gave me a full refund no quibble with my Drs note. Instead we took a private taxi who drove us to the ampitheatre, Sousse, Port El Kantoui and this was arranged at reception for a very reasonable price. We took trips into Yasmine Hammamet and Nabuel but do prepared to be hassled and don't accept the offers of free gifts even if they tell you it's disrespectful to turn down a gift. Don't believe anyone who tells you they know you as well - Sousse is nearly 2hours away and the first thing said to us on arrival was "I'm your chef!"
All in all a good holiday. Better weather than home. A bit quiet and boring at night as some nights there was not enough interest to justify the ents team doing a show, but met some great people and saw some amazing sights.

Room Tip: Extra cost for sea view but mountain view just as pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prendy_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We returned yesterday from a weeks all-inclusive stay at this hotel. First impressions are excellent; reception area was smart, bedrooms were very spacious and the pool areas very attractive. Last week the weather was very hot and the hotel management refused to put the air conditioning on which meant many people suffered very uncomfortable nights. Service around the pool and bars was also quite patchy. Food in the restaurants was plentiful and varied and was always fresh as it was cooked in small quantities. Overall the standards are high and for English people the hotel offers superb value it is just cannot be compared to a 5 star hotel in our country.

The worst problem with the hotel started on Friday and continued throughout the weekend with an influx of Tunisian families who let their children run riot in the restaurants, bars and reception areas. And, as expected, the hotel management didn't want to know.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are excellent however if selecting a Bungalow some of them are not in very good positi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midlandvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

we've just returned from a 3days's stay. The hotel is so nice and very clean. But, we have faced a poor service quality and undiversified foods.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aysou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This review is set in the context of being an extra week’s spring break in a hotel that was only circa a third full, for a family of 4 with two being in their early twenties one of which loves sport and the other a vegetarian.

In that context the hotel and the holiday were almost perfect. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. The quality of the bungalow, drinks and food was excellent. The gardens were lovely, though not as spacious as we thought from the description.

The sports activities during the day were well organised and provided a good variety. We also like the fact that good quality tennis racks and balls were available for use for private games. The table tennis bats need replacing. The evening entertainment was nonexistent.

The sunbeds were comfortable and clean. The drinks service around the pool was excellent. The pools were cool but very pleasant.

The Spa was very nice and we did not mind paying extra for it. A warning that the staff providing treatments for female guests were male, or a choice, would have been appreciated. Telling guests that there is a free sauna and hammam would have also been useful.

The speciality Tunisian restaurant was exceptionally poor. The buffet food was cold. It was like sitting in a large internal cupboard with no windows, no decoration and a stroppy head waiter who gave the impression he thought he was better than everyone else, including the guests.
The restaurant food was, on the whole, the same for each meal but good quality with plenty of choice. We thought the drinks service and whole bottles of nice wine being included was excellent.

The price of Champaign was reasonable. We liked having the same table in the restaurant each evening but would have preferred to be able to select the time we would like to eat rather than being told we have to eat at 8.00pm. We also like to relax over a meal which was not possible as they started to pack the food away at 9.15pm and it was completely gone by 9.30pm. For us this meant that it felt like an up market cafe. These issues could easily be resolved by turning the central lights out in the evenings, putting candles on the table, allowing people flexibility on times and not rushing them to finish. If they are going to continue to charge £800 a week for an off peak week they are going to have to review their restaurants procedures.

Our only complaint was not with the hotel but with the female Thomson representative. She was only interested in selling at other times she just walk straight pass without even saying hello. She had one of the bungalows above us and thought nothing of arguing with her boyfriend, who would appear to also be there all the time, at any time of the day or night. In my opinion Thomson needs to consider if it is appropriate to offer that level of service and for their staff to behave in this manner whilst staying in guest accommodation.

So in summary we really enjoyed our stay when the hotel was only about a third full. I am not sure that would have been the case when the hotel is full.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildlifewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times and it is excellent in all areas.
Staff are very attentive, friendly and helpful.
Rooms great, food good, pools and gardens lovely.
Beware if Tunisian love rats- particularly chef Hasan who likes to pick up woman especially young girls of 14/15. Very inappropriate behaviour for a hotel if this standard.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heldan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We've just returned from a week's stay. The hotel was very clean the staff attentive and keen to please. We spent about 5 dinar a day in tipswhy ich we gave to acknowledge good service. I know some might say its all inclusive but it is normal in Tunisia to tip and we didn't feel pressurised to do so.
The pool outside was quite cool, due to the time of year, but my 7 and 8 year old enjoyed having it to themselves in their shorty wetsuits.
The food was excellent it was possible to choose a different meal at every night, with something for everyone.
The rooms were clean and well kept with comfy chairs on the balcony. We thoroughly enjoyed our sea view rooms on the second floor. You only get a view if you're on at least the second floor.
Our private transfers were well worth the money as we arrived and left over an hour later than the coach and had breakfast on departure day.
We did capital sights, which was better than we expected and the mosaics in the Bardo Museum were great. The simply Sahara tour involved alot of travelling but was very worthwhile the camel ride dressed up in Bedouin robes at sunset was magical. We also enjoyed Nabeul market and the children loved the zoo.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mopsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.3 km away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 122 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
6.9 km away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 122 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 122 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,957 reviews
6.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
3.2 km away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#13 of 122 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba

Property: Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba
Address: Avenue Moncef Bey | Hammamet, Hammamet, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Hammamet Marhaba)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 122 Hotels in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing