We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saphir Palace & Spa
Ranked #41 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
newton abbot devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

my wife and myself have just got back from saphir palace after a wonderfull ten days, we found the staff and management very helpfull and friendly. the bellboy zied allways had a smile on his face.we were given room 239 which is on the second floor at the front of the hotel overlooking the beach fantastic bathroom with an amazingly powerfull shower, the room was large and the bed very comfortable, the maid cleaned and made the bed everyday . food was very good with a wide selection for all tastes if we go back to tunisia we would stay in the saphir again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear guest,

In first place, Thank you for choose Iberostar Saphir Palace. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness in your room and felt so well attended to by our staff. Thank very much for your positive comments regarding our cuisine and the amiability of our staff both elements are of prime importance to Iberostar. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome.

Thank you for sharing your experiences and for your motivating words: “Fantastic”

Online Reputation Manager

Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    312
    185
    88
    82
See reviews for
294
486
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Agree first impressions are good, atrium style open lobby etc, however at night the lobby/lobby lounge bar is the only place to sit. This may have been because it was early season (Mid March) but the temperature was very cool almost too cool to sit for long.Also crowded due to school holidays and lots of loud music (normally quiet) which did not finish until 1pm ish. Bedrooms with interconnecting doors noisy as some people not considerate of others and have TV on to early hours. Rooms are good spacious and well fitted out and liked the quirky open bathroom. No kettle so bring your own and no ironing facility although a pressing service was available and reasonably priced if a bit slow. Room cleaning excellent. Restaurant and bar staff very friendly however the receptionist with one exception proved slow to respond to requests. Forgot early call, 2 days for extra pillows and 3 days for extra laundry bags. Fiasco with late check out also. Lots of local families with children, tourists in the minority. Pool area good but too cold to use in March. Overall though food was good with plenty of Tunisian options buffet style fare, there was not much atmosphere with dining room a bit 'canteeny'. Do get out, Hammamet Yasmine is just a tourist resort we saw El Djem, Sahara desert , on 2 day trip worth while as is Hammamet and Nabeul Cartage etc
Tip for management - some training for reception staff please

Room Tip: Atrium rooms can be noisy and don't pick one with interconnecting door as smoking is allowed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar Saphir Palace. Please receive our most sincere apologies for not met your expectations.

The head departments have been informed about your comments. For us is very important to respond to our guest request immediately. We would like to apologize for “any “situation under our standards. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points. Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your observations with us as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Thank very much for your positive comments regarding our cleanliness and the amiability of our staff both elements are of prime importance to Iberostar. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 1week in the middle of March.Walking in through the front door,the hotel had the wow factor.Was a large lobby all marble and fountains and large atrium.Upon checking in,we were told to sit down and a soft drink was brought over.We had asked for a quiet room and thats what we got.Most rooms have a seaview which is to the front of the hotel across a quiet road which has a palm treed promenade.There are some rooms which overlook the pool which is at the rear.Some rooms are in the atrium which can be quite noisey,if you want a quiet room ask for one,as a lot are down corridors.The bedroms are spacious and light,and neutrally decorated.The bathroom was all marble with a bath,seperate toilet and large shower seperate from the bath.We were on half board.Breakfast was the same every day,not much choice.There was lots of bread and pastries,but not much fruit,cheese,meat or cereal.Evening meal was all buffet,there wasnt much choice but what there was, was of a good quality.The dining room was nice and bright.The pool area was nice and there is an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room.The hotel is in a really nice spot.Has a nice promenade,a marina about 10mins walk,lots of shops,bars,restaurants,which are incredibly cheap.The beach goes on for miles.Looking round the other hotels,The Saphir is one of the better ones.All staff are friendly and helpful.We really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room if you want one.You will get one.All rooms have a view of either sea or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tomcat118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear guest,

In first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Saphir Palace. It is a delight to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. Comments like yours keeps motivating us to keep improving our exclusive and personal service, so our guest can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us and we will do our best to make your feel welcome.

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

just returned from 1 week saphir palace yasmine hammamet. On arrival bell boy took our cases while we filled in our forms. On receiving our room keys were informed by reception staff that since we had just missed the evening meal, a meal would be sent to our room. Meal arrived within 10 mins aswell as our luggage, could not fault the staff and service.
Dining room could do with being bigger as at the weekend the hotel was full with convention and tunisian school holidays, dinner had to be done in stages. Bar staff friendly, entertainment staff Emily and Pedro very friendly although could do with more activities (maybe because we went out of season).
Rooms gorgeous and spacious, had a room with sea view and got the sun in balcony from early in morning, Maids in every day to clean room and replace towels.
Only downfall about holiday was out shopping as the hassle you get to go into shops.
Will return again to hotel in season as hopefully there will be more people so will not be hassled as much to go into shops as the shopkeepers will be busy serving people in shops and not out in street trying to get you in

Room Tip: sea view get sun from first thing in morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fconro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

In first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Saphir Palace and for your friendly comment. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed the hotel services and facilities.

We are glad to read that your child has enjoyed our entertainment program. The entertainment team work very hard with illusion and enthusiasm to make all our guest feel welcome.

Thank you for highlighting out the personal service and friendliness of our staff as well our cleanliness. Those are very important aspects for us and the key to the success of our services and facilities. We are delight to read that we did fulfill your expectations about the cost-value ratio.

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are sure that future travelers will find your tips helpful

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your motivating words.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Warm welcome from reception clerk upon arrival who arranged for us to have a drink whilst completing the check-in registration document. The reception area/lounge/bar is very large, bright, clean well maintained and contemporary. We changed our currency at reception in order to give the reception clerk and bellboy a tip. The exchange rate is set across the whole of the country so reception is as good as anywhere to exchange your money.

Our room was quite spacious and well maintained, the bathroom was a little dated but clean and well appointed. The view from our balcony (room 437) was excellent.

Grounds and public areas are well taken care of. outdoor pool is a good size but isn't heated. Indoor pool is is heated and no-one used it while we stayed there so had it to ourselves on most days.

No wifi in rooms but it can be picked up in lobby and speed is ok.

Restaurant is spacious and the staff are excellent, friendly, hard working and professional. My only complaint is that there seems to be an awful lot of maitre d's (3 at a time!) who constantly stand at the restaurant entrance and watch the waiting staff and guests which I found very uncomfortable, especially when they spoke to staff sometimes in quite a firm way. The food was ok and a good selection but the hot food was only ever luke warm and more often than not cold and I feel this should be addressed by the management as it falls short of guests expectations.

I would recommend the hotel and would stay again if I ever visited Tunisia but I can't see it as I greatly disliked the constant harassment by storekeepers, street sellers, camel riders, horseback riders, horse and cart riders, taxi drivers etc, who constantly and persistently tried to sell you there wares/activity as you walked about. It took around 4 'no thank you' before they got the message but once one had left you alone another one would start. Not my idea of a relaxing holiday.

Don't take my word for it - visit and decide for yourself

Hope you have a good holiday

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davlyn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest,

In first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Saphir Palace and for your friendly comment. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness in your room and felt so well attended to by our staff. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments regarding our cuisine and the amiability of our staff both elements are of prime importance to Iberostar.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take in our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are sure that future travelers will find your tips helpful.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Arrived here after 4 hour delay at 04:00 early hours 12/02. Tired,hungry,cold,thirsty. No provisions,no refreshments,no tea/coffee making facilities in our rooms. We asked for this as they advertised 24hr room service. We were told a blunt "No". We entered our room which was okay,but decided we would insist on something to eat.. They eventually brought us a chicken salad and a bottle of water "complimentary". We overslept and missed breakfast,so asked could we instead have lunch complimentary, we were told no yet again,
and that the other group who arrived the same time as us, had mnanaged to order room service at breakfast. We conveyed this to our rep,who promptly fought our cause. Lunch was hot and filled the void. The hotel lobby was freezing, colder than when we left the UK. The day staff were more friendly. Dinner that night was again average. We booked an excursion to the sahara for the Wednesday,and asked for early breakfast, only to be told they didn't do that. again the rep intervened. That evening getting ready for dinner and discovered the water was cold, so shower of course was exceptionally quick. Again the same food that was served two nights previous. The morning of the exccursion the water was still cold , we reported this and ]were told to run it 15 mins!!!!!!!!still cold after 1/2 hour. "Breakfast" to our horror, was 6 pastries for 5 people and coffee. The excursion although quite cold was enjoyable. On return to the Ibero Star Saphir the following day, the water was still cold, the guest list had increased and inevitably more complaints. Eventually we were told they were continuing uncompleted plumbing which had overran. When asked why no information for guests, there were no valid answers. Not only was the water cold but the hotel lobby too, if warmth was needed you had to be in your rooms. Finally on the Friday before leaving there was hot water and heating. The Ibero star Saphir unfortunately isn't a 5 star but a 3 Star. To regain it's status an overhaul of it's current policies and procedures is required. Yes Tunisia was unexpectedly cold, but the hotel needn't have been,there were some extremely willing staff who unfortunately were overshadowed greatly by the guidelines
of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear guest,
In first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Saphir Palace.Please receive our most sincere apologies for mailing to met your expectations. We are sorry to hear that we did not fulfill your expectations about the cost-service ratio.

About your complaint, we will certainly take in our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve this matter, which is totally under our standards. We are awfully sorry that we could not solve the problem faster during your stay.We really apologize for that.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us if you would like to visit us again.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your observations with us as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Went there for a short week. Really close from a nice, hassle-free part of the beach. Hotel is getting old and shows lacks of basic cleaning/repairs in some obvious parts. Food is average, staff is nice but does not seem to care THAT much. An ok stay but don't expect high standards. Keep your expectations relatively low and you'll spend a good time there. But if you want awesomeness...well just don't go to Hammamet. Seems to be one of the best hotel around anyway.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhNoWayJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar Saphir Palace. Please receive our most sincere apologies for mailing to meet your expectations. We would like to apologize for “any “situation under our standards, the head departments have been informed about your comments and We sure they will help us to improve.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us if you would like to visit us again.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
1.4 km away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#29 of 117 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.7 km away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
0.4 km away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#18 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#42 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.7 km away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#23 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
10.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saphir Palace & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Palace & Spa

Property: Saphir Palace & Spa
Address: Boulevard 7 Novembre | Yasmine, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Iberostar Saphir Palace)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Saphir Palace & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace Hotel offers 5-star hotel accommodations just steps from Yasmine-Hammamet Beach. Our hotel is a perfect spot for travellers in search of a peaceful, enchanting Tunisian holiday. During your stay, enjoy our tasteful and fully-equipped guestrooms, deluxe gastronomic selections, and entertainment options that will exceed your expectations. Enjoy an unforgettable Hammamet experience any time of the year - only at the IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saphir Palace & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Saphir Palace Hotel Hammamet
Accor Saphir Palace Hammamet
Sofitel Hammamet
Hammamet Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing