We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time just improve the entertainment and warm up the swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Eldorador Salammbo
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great time just improve the entertainment and warm up the swimming pool”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Hotel was good, food good, bad experience on arrival, overbooked but maher the rep sorted it and was great. We knew the hotel was very french before booking so didnt present any suprises,just wished the aninamtion team did some of the announcements and entertainment in English as we tended to feel excluded. Animation team got cross when the English guests tried to emglish up the Karoke which was poor on their behalf. That aside the hotel was clean and location and holiday was fab, some of the nice touches made it a really good hol.. Would recommend for next year when i understand the english intercation will be improved.

Room Tip: Stay in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    320
    119
    59
    36
See reviews for
403
205
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

great location .great staff second visit in 8 weeks, food could be better but we didn't starve We didn't like our first room but went to see our rep Mayer and he was excellent he went all out to get us moved to a much nicer room in record time, nothing was to much trouble, if he could help he would. Fantastic amenities, water sports, tennis,archery, dance lessons and much more.. if your looking for an active holiday you can't go wrong if you want a lazy holiday it's set on a lovely beach with plenty of sun beds . ..Not many English clients when we were there mainly French, but if you make an effort you can have a really good time at this hotel ..First visit with friends second with grand-daughter and we all enjoyed ourselves.Would say if you have children this hotel is not for you as although they have a great children,s club they only accept French children as limited English spoken which is a great pity. would definitely go back. Great value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VALERIE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We found this via Thomas Cook fairly last minute. We had read the few reviews available and decided that given the great price we would go and find out for ourselves. We flew from Cardiff and the transfer was about 40 minutes.

The hotel is geared totally towards the French market, so If being surrounded by other Brits is your thing then this is not a holiday for you. No Fry Ups... no deep fried mars bars... no MacDonald's. Deal. It's Tunisia - a French / Arabic country...so go expecting a mix of French / Arabic culture!

Our room was lovely. No complaints what so ever although I know others were less fortunate.

The staff were very friendly and seemed happy to try and speak English but do try out your French and perhaps a smile....it goes a long way.

The food at dinner varied from being really quite good to just OK. Having said that, there was always plenty of it. It was all buffet style so you could literally have as many courses as you wanted. There were starter / salad buffets, soup station, pasta station. pizza servery, barbecued meat / fish with Tunisian stews and various other dishes available.

Lunch was also served in the restaurant and in my opinion tended to be slightly better than dinner. Wine at lunch and dinner is served by the bottle with a choice of house red / white / rose. These varied from bottle to bottle but were passable.

Breakfast again in the restaurant consisted of cold buffet, hot buffet, Freshly squeezed juices, omelette / egg station, crepes, croissants, pain au chocolat etc

The beach is stunning and spacious. Early starts to the day secure you your sun beds, particularly around the pool - which is small in comparison to the size of the hotel.
We chose the beach which is right next to the pool so easily accessible for a dip whenever you felt the need. The sea is crystal clear and warm. Non motorised water sports are included in the all-inclusive. There are also banana boats / parasailing etc available which are really reasonable.

Beach towels are provided. You get a card i think for a £10 deposit which you use to get your towels from an interesting little chap who dropped straight in from Fantasy Island (If you're old enough you'll get my drift). His reputation from an earlier review had spread !

Entertainment is very low key in the evening. If you have younger kids I'm not sure how you would get on as the entertainment team focused purely on the French. No exclusion intended on their part, but most of them are employed by the French tour operators who run the hotel and cater to the majority. There were however loads of things to do during the day, especially the water sports. The evenings were very quiet for us, which was fine.... our sons made some nice friends however and some of their evenings were not so quiet. With some help from the 24hr all inclusive bar, they made their own entertainment!

Tipping just a little here and there helps but is not expected. One older guy who works behind the main bar was the only guy to ask for a tip, but he was a bit eccentric!

Sammy behind the beach bar is a star. Genuinely a nice guy, attentive, unobtrusive.

We met some great people at the hotel and the French guests were really welcoming, friendly and pleasant. All in all we had two weeks of complete sunshine, relaxation and some laughs along the way.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank greatholsDevonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Simple terms :
1. Bedroom - disgusting , not been cleaned from previous guests staying in the room , had o sleep on top of the bed with fully covered clothing due to ANTS , HAIRS IN BED FROM PREVIOUS GUESTS, cracks in the walls, 2 single beds put together on a CONCREATE BLOCK with a bit of wood around it(supposed to be a double), telephone in room did not work (NO CHANCE OF A WAKE UP CALL THEN!) none of the chanels on the tv were in english
2. Bathroom - door didnt shut, sink drain hole black with dirt and mould, around sink area still had white marks on it where water had tried to drain and stuck to surface, mirror cracked with dirty white marks on it where someone had clearly tried to spit in the sink and missed, toilet was SUPPOSEDLY TO BE WHITE ?? not the case had brown dirty marks on the toilet lid, toilet seat , eaven had someones left over toilet paper in the bottom!! shower was much the same.. white grime &mould all over shower head and tap.. silicone was coming away from the side .. in the corner of the shower there was dirt where it had not obviously been cleaned in a while .. bath had hairs and dirt and dead skin stuck to the side off it !!!!!!!
3. HOTEL .. beach was lovely, pool..... was tiny... and WHEN YOU ARE TOLD BY THE THOMAS COOK SALES AGENT THAT IT WAS A ADULTS ONLY HOTEL AND THERE IS LOADS OF CHILDEN RUNNING ABOUT JUMPING IN THE POOL CAUSING HAVOCK .. Not so relaxing as we were advised ... we didnt dare eat in the resteraunts again .. we were ignored by the staff and because i was a WOMAN i was waved away when complaining that we had not had a drink/meal acknoledgement in 30 mins after ariving!!! (didnt go down well at all) every other party that was FRENCH got a 3 course meal .. our party on the other hand we got one an a couple of bread rolls .. we had to fight with the waiter to get a drink .. my partner had to try and get him to understand what the hell was going on ... we were not just some people off he street we were supposidly all inclusive guests just the same as everyone else in the resteraunt.. but because we spoke english we were beneith the french ... deal with them first?
4. FOOD/MAIN RESTERAUNT .. well the food was undesirable to put it politely .. i have an alergy so i couldnt eat .. pretty much anything apart from .. rolls/ butter/pizza and some times spaghetti .. my partner couldnt even tell what he was trying to eat as it was all in french ... THERE WERE FLYS OVER EVERYTHING !!!! it was dificult to find something that hadnt had flys on it for our whole 2weeks ..

This is only some of the many things we experienced in this hotel ... i would adivse if anyone thinks of going hear .. please take heed of what i have said .. so you know what to expect when u get there ... trip advisor will not allow me to rate this any lower that one if icould i would put it as zero !

Room Tip: do not accept your first one which will probably be as you enter the hotel gates on the right hand s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank staceysean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We booked this hotel through Thomas cook on the internet. They sell this hotel as Eldo Salambo but the actual name is Jet Eldorador Salammbo. (A French Thomas cook company) Many English foke I spoke to were unsure if they were reviewing the right hotel but you are. Personally the hotel is situated in a fantastic location right on the beach and in the middle of old Hammamet town and Jasmine Hammamet (new town) these can both be walked to along the beach but it can be tiring in the heat so I suggest bartering for a taxi (very cheap, in between 5-7 dinar= £2.50-£3.50). The hotel is very clean for Tunisian standards, beds, towels changed daily, cleaners very polite, rooms spacious, all the grounds are well maintained. Everyday gardeners, maintenance staff etc were making sure the hotel was in good repair.

There are plenty of activities there to keep you occupied during the day but you do have to make the effort and join in, once you do the staff love you for it as the English customers are of the minority, but they love working with us because we are quite polite in comparison. We found it difficult at first to understand why we couldn’t do some activities at certain points of the day but then realised this was because they like to give you an introduction lesson first, normally mornings, before you can just do them as you like. i.e windsurfing you have to just turn up at 10 in morn for a lesson. After that, do it when you please during your holiday. As for joining in with the French, we had no problems, they were polite during activities and cheered us on just the same. All activities shut from 12.00-2.30pm due to dinner time for staff, customers and to protect you from the midday heat.

The food was good to start but as with any AI hotel becomes repetitive after two weeks so we did go to a steak house 2 nights out of 14. There is a lot of choice but some just not being to an English palette more than being inedible. Food labels were in English as well as French whilst we were there. Meat cuts for chicken are different, lots of bone. Drinks are good. Beer is quite weak but they like to give triples as measures with spirits and they're quite strong.

Night entertainment- in French but mainly dancing shows, karaoke, talent contests. Think Butlins but it passed the night away.

Virtually all the staff at the hotel were very pleasant. If they realise you can't speak French they will try a bit of English and they can’t understand they will find someone who will. More to our lack of language skills than theirs as French is their second language, hence lots of French holiday makers. Try to learn a few basic French words as this went a long way into gaining respect from the French and staff. ( good morning, good night, how are you, thank you, please)try this website if you’re unsure. http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/primarylanguages/french/all_about_me/ kids sight but it says the words aloud to you. The only member of staff I found to be very rude indeed was the (not sure of the political term) under average height man in the animation room. Very rude manners, tuts and shakes his head at you for no reason, does not like English people from what I can tell. Every person on our holiday said the same about him, which is a shame because the other members of the animation team were lovely, especially the dance instructors, Colin, archery man and Sammi in the beach bar. Lovely man and will have good conversations with you.

When we went on this trip we were fortunate to meet a great group of English people so it was nice to have conversations, meals, trips together. I suggest you try to group up so that you have more confidence to try things.

I advise you to go the introduction meeting. Mahir is brilliant, very approachable and witty. He speaks very clear English. His advice is valuable and he will help in any way possible. Listen to his advice on shopping as we learnt after, you will pay through the nose if not.

All in all me and my fiancée thoroughly enjoys this holiday and would go back but probably only for one week due to having done the sightseeing we are not one for relaxing too much, not through any fault of the hotel. Lots to do, plenty of trips, not an English hotel but we liked this better as we were not surrounded by lager louts, beautiful beach location (best location along the beach of Hammamet for hotels, rest has seaweed and rubbish on them) be German with the sun beds, 6.30am! and you'll be fine. Just remember the more your join in the more you'll get out of your holiday. I think the hotel will be better prepared for English customers next year. Hope people found this useful and sorry to ramble on but thought the hotel could do with honest review in English as these are few and far between.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joshimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Well were do I start, we stayed in this hotel from the 14th of August till the 21st.. We arrived at 8.40pm on the Sunday evening, we we're rushed into the restaurant for what they called dinner, before we had even checked in! not a good start for us. that in its self was an experience, to begin with we thought it was just salad, we then realised there was another part to to restaurant, only to find that there was not a lot of food actually left, so we had a health meal of cold meat and potatoe salad :o( not a good start for two adults that had been travelling all day!! (I'll come back to the restaurant later) Moving on I'll give you a run down of our room!! 1st impression was not good, it was rather shabby, dark blue shutters for patio doors, the balcony railing was loose and rotten, the bathroom was far from clean, silicone round the bath was black with mold, the taps had a grey film over them, the same as the shower head, the bedding had the previous amorous occupants reminents left on it and to top it all, we we're the only occupants of our room, we had an army of ANTS sharing rent free, we did however get moved to a different room the following morning, to another part of the complex, which was more modern, thanks to our Thomas Cook rep Maher, he could not do enough for us, could not fault him at all, He even arranged a birthday cake for myself, thank you very much Maher. Now on to the entertainment in the hotel, it was brilliant IF YOU WERE FRENCH, AND A CHILD, EVEN DOWN TO THE TRIVILA PURSUIT PLAYED DURING THE DAY, THE AQUA AEROBICS WAS IN FRENCH THE ZUMBA WAS IN FRENCH EVERYTHING WAS IN FRENCH, AND WHAT SHOW'S THEY DID HAVE FOR ADULTS THEY ALSO WERE, YES YOU GUESSED IT! IN FRENCH!! The Staff in the Hotel were also very rude and ignorant, on a lot of occasions when we went to the bar the FRENCH were served before us!! many a time I had to snip my mouth shut and believe me that was very hard....
The Hotel was All Inclusive and the Menu was Varied and had a good choice of food IF YOU WERE FRENCH, We had no idea what was on the menu at all, I spent my week eating Salad, and I paid the price or it, Immodium was my best friend while in this Hotel, SO ALL IN ALL WE DIDN'T LIKE THIS HOTEL, IT WAS MY FIRST AND WILL BE MY LAST VISIT TO TUNISIA, COME ON THOMAS COOK, DON'T SEND BRITISH PEOPLE TO A HOTEL THAT CAN'T CATER FOR THEM, THE ONLY THING WE GOT OUT OF THIS HOLIDAY WAS A NICE SUN TAN, NOW BEEN HOME FOR A WEEK AND IT'S FADING FAST AND SO ARE THE MEMORIES OF OUR HOLIDAY, AND THAT'S SOMETHING THAT SHOULDN'T HAPPEN, WE SHOULD BE ABLE TO LOOK BACK AND SAY WE HAD A GREAT TIME, INSTEAD IT WAS A RELIEF TO GET HOME.. sO IF YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT GOING TO THIS HOTEL ALL I CAN SAY IS 'DON'T'

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jinty1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

french hotel catering for the french sliteley anti british food good rooms good pool good some staff try to speak english guests should be informed when booking holiday thomas cook just trialing hotel for this season whit brits to see how it goes good holiday had by all .

Room Tip: make sure you ask for rooms in new part of hotel old part ant infestation and concrete beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
0.6 km away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#51 of 118 in Hammamet
439 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Nesrine
Hotel Nesrine
#28 of 118 in Hammamet
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel Movie Gate
Hotel Movie Gate
#63 of 118 in Hammamet
1,209 reviews
1.3 km away
Samira Club
Samira Club
#57 of 118 in Hammamet
820 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Menara
Hotel Menara
#49 of 118 in Hammamet
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Eldorador Salammbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Eldorador Salammbo

Property: Club Eldorador Salammbo
Address: On the Bay of Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#21 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#26 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Eldorador Salammbo 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Also Known As:
El Dorador Salammbo Hotel Hammamet
Eldorador Salammbo Hotel Hammamet
Eldorador Salammbo Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing