We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,623)
Filter reviews
2,623 results
Traveller rating
737
839
474
278
295
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
839
474
278
295
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza animation team crepes the main hotel salad great holiday water sports tuna table tennis mini golf jet skiing pirate ship lunch and dinner every evening couscous pools tip
Filter
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 2,623 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I have just come back from a two week holiday at this hotel with my husband and two children aged 14 and 12. We stayed in one of the menzels which had a sea view, a king size bed, a double bed and a single bed and still plenty of room. The safe in the room was free and we took advantage of the free beach towels which you can change as often as needed all for a deposit of 10 dinars (£5.00) per towel per stay. The only down side to the room was it did have a musty smell which I believe was due the air-conditioning.

Breakfast was good, plenty of choice but don't go looking for bacon or baked beans. Lunch and evening meal was very much the same plenty of salad, pasta, pizzas, tunisian specialities, beef, chicken, turkey, liver and fish every day along with potatoes, rice and even chips some nights. Drinks were constant, water is available all day everyday whether is a bottle or from the water dispensers. Sandwiches available from 11am, pizzas and crepes from 3pm and pastries and coffee/hot choc etc from 4pm (a tip if you like a good cup of tea take your own teabags!)

The beach is small and there is seaweed about but we found the freshwater pool area on our first day and managed to get a sunbed whenever we wanted one. This area has a fantastic view over the sea and is alot quieter than the main pool area.

Archery, boules, aerobics etc was available everyday. The waterspoort facilities ie banana boats, rings etc were available for a fee of 10 dinars (£5.00). We did the catamaran but didn't see any dolphins infact the only thing I saw was the bottom of a bucket!!!!

The waiters and staff did speak little English but they were willing to try! We made friends with Achmed on our first day and he made our stay very welcome by saving us a table and chairs every evening and bringing us drinks as soon as our glasses were empty. The entertainment was ok and the compare did speak numerous languages so we were always kept up-to-date.

Not much sightseeing to do, we visited the crocodile park and went to the town of Midoun on market day. Lots of handbags, tee shirts, leather goods etc with the locals trying to barter with you. We kept to the fixed price stores as we found these to be very reasonable. We also visited the capital but to be honest there wasn't much there. The trips from the hotel are pretty much based around an area that was the scene from star wars and because we arn't really star wars fans we didn't go on any.

Not alot to do for my son and daughter but they were quite happy making friends, playing in the pools and reading and playing on ds's under the parasols.

Overall this was an exceptionally relaxing holiday which I would definitely recommend. But just another tip - if you tip the waiters a small amount of money ie a couple of dinars you will be very well looked after, we definitely were :-)

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LEEANNE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were a bit worried as read the reviews as not been to there before but, i promise you we had a wonderful time, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The entertainment is great for all ages, it was ever so clean. We will definitely go back for sure. There are a lot of French and German and still managed to get a sunbed in the afternoon so can't be that bad lol.My daughter and her friend came and they are 16yrs old and they loved it, and the weather is a bonus.

Room tip: we had a family suite which was great
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ninja64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the El Mouradi and the first time we have left something on trip adviser. The El Mouradi Menzel is past its best, the outside areas (where the photos for the brochure) we taken is fine but its the menzel accomodation that is particularly poor for some. We say for some because other guests had no problems. In our room-broken stools, cracked and sharp tiles, stained bed linen, damp smell and broken and old furniture. We did complain andthat was met with disgust by the managers (and we speak French). Reluctantly they showed us another room miles from the pools, beach and restaurants. Waiter service is GOOD- good at keeping you waiting! Faulty Towers has nothing on these guys. We tried tipping them before the meals and it didnt make any difference.
Our biggest complaint is with Thomas Cook, this is NOT a 4 STAR resort advertised in the brochure, even the rep commented about the accomodation. Beware the 2 days Oasis Safari, they forget to mention that you will be in the bus for 9 hours each day!

In summary, very disappointed by the standard of the accommodation,wouldn't recommend it to friends and family.

Room tip: Complain like mad and don't unpack until you are happy with your room.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewartBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2011

What can I say.....although some of the rooms do need updating the staff more than make up for this, a French speaking hotel that is doing it's best to get over the language barrier, the staff are keen to practice their English. The entertainment team are brilliant as were all the staff. When a problem developed with the air conditioning unit that couldn't be fixed we were quickly moved to another room. Plenty of sun beds & parasols around the many pools & along the beach. The only down side to the holiday was the amount of seaweed along parts of the beach brought in with a storm - all in all a wonderful holiday

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mizzime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We travelled with a group of 9 people. Age range from 7 - 66yrs. We had a fabulous time. We stayed in a menzel but some of our group stayed in the main hotel. We thought both were good. Our menzel was spread over 3 floors, bathroom and toilet on the entrance level, the main bedroom was on level 1 with a juliet balcony and on the top floor was a single bedroom with a balcony off it. This gave the adults some privacy. The rooms were cleaned daily. We had fabulous sea views.
Now if you are expecting english food in a arab/french country then you are going to the wrong locations. There was a fabulous choice of food daily, chicken, turkey, beef, lamb and various fish. Different vegetables and salads. There is also a pasta choice and pizza. Which my 7 year old son had daily. There is also different breads at every meal. Breakfast has a selection of pastries, omelettes and pancakes. The omelettes are cooked to order and you only have to ask and they will cook them with whatever filling you want and for how long. Different teas, coffee and hot chocolate are available with breakfast, but if you want some during the day the downstairs bar serves them, my dad found coffee and pastries every afternoon. Food is available from 6am to midnight except 1 and a half hours. Delicious pancakes served by the pools every afternoon. yummy!
We went on the catamaran twice and saw pods of dolphins both times. We also did horse/camel riding. We went to the crocodile park at 5pm to see feeding time. We went into the local town to do some shopping handbags and shoes very reasonable! Our recommendation would be to go to the fixed priced shops.
The staff were always friendly to us and tried very hard to speak english. If you are polite to them they will be polite back they all speak about 3 languages and try very hard. Our waiter set a table for us every night with drinks all ready. A tip at the end of the holiday was deserved!
In one of the corridors near the spa is a pottery room where you can make and decorate your own piece of artwork. I made a camel mug!
All in all we had a fabulous time came home relaxed and tanned!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank anita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews