We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy room”
Review of Soviva Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soviva Resort
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“noisy room”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

westayed at this hotel last year and enjoyed thats why rebooked was so disappointed that the problems we had last time were not resolved.first as i need an adapted room it is connected to bar and other block of rooms every night the noise when doors opened closed was awful this went on most nights all night we reported it on many ocassions but staff couldn't sort problem.sarah thomas cook rep did try solve problem but eventually we moved to different hotel.secondly guests including one of managers repeatedly smoked in area for non-smokers was quite bad as i have asthma this was a problem reception staff stuck stickers on table banning smoking but it was ignored,again sara tried to help,we were upset we had to move but if problems were sorted we would come back.the thomas cook entertainers of chelsea,stefan,haley,kat were a breath of fresh air so talented and professional at all times such an improvement to tunisian team.the t.c shows were so well arranged without big gaps between songs/dances my fave was seeing stefan in shorts during sound of music.ben really spoilt tunisian entertainment as he doesn't like anyone to be in spotlight apart from him he held boys back,boys would be better having t.c ents looking after there shows etc.entertainment should be run by thomas cook at all times most guests would agree.overall hotel needs tlc.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kazcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    477
    330
    210
    315
See reviews for
798
382
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Don't believe the bad reviews. We visited soviva in late April and suspect any issues would be magnified during busy mid-season.
The pool was great, very cold but plenty of space and great slides.
lovely restaurants nearby and some tourist shops. It is only a 2 min taxi ride to port El Kantaoui which is lovely. The hotel is right on the edge of the tourist zone so the surroundings look a bit dodgy but it's fine, we had no trouble.
It is a 5 min walk through a construction zone to get to the beach but once there is clean and lots of activities on offer,
The local men are pests so prepare to stand up for yourself. During a visit to port el kantaoui it got too much and i snapped at one of them, they get the point when you have had enough and leave you alone. Saying that though, a bit of charm will allow you to barter the shopkeepers right down in price.
Some areas of the hotel were a bit tired but it was always clean and the staff very helpful. Anything you ask, they will do for you. Especially if it includes a tip.
Were were very pleased. For what we paid we felt we got more than expected.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gemma2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a two week break at the Soviva Resort and i must say i was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel, as some of the reviews on here make the place out to be a complete dive !!! Yes, the rooms are slightly dated and could do with a lick of paint, as could the main lobby bar (where the nightly entertainment is held is low season), but the resort is generally very clean and tidy...
The food is o.k., what i would expect from any all inclusive restaurant mass catering for hundreds of people.. There is plenty of choice and there are fresh omelette and pasta stations if you dont fancy anything from the main cart..
The waiters, bar staff, house keeping and reception staff are all very friendly and cant do enough for you (even if you dont tip them throughout the holiday) We generally like to tip at the end of a holiday and i felt we were treated just as well as those that did tip on a daily basis !

The best thing about this resort is definitely the Animation Team (Ben, Billy, Mido, Rico & Willy) & Thomas Cook Entertainment team (Chelsea, Hailie, Kat & Stefan), and we were made to feel very welcome from our first day to our last.. There are lots of daytime activites around the pool and both teams work extremely hard to ensure all the guests are having a good time and feel included, without being too pushy if you just want to chill out and dont want to take part.
The night time entertainment is also fantastic, from the Thomas Cook team's all singing all dancing cabaret acts (these guys are extremely talented) to Ben's nightly game of bingo (We love you Ben !!).

So i guess if you are expecting a resort with luxury rooms,surroundings and michelin star quality food, you will need to pay extra and book into a 5* hotel !! But if your happy with somewhere to shower, change and lay your head for the night, not too fussed about the qualifty of food and want to be kept entertained from morning till night, then Soviva is the place for you !!

I myself am definitely planning on returning for a week in October.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building, preferably with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

me and my partner have just returned from the Soviva, and to some of the reviews yes i agree on some level's but i disagree on the others, the hotel could do with a lick of paint, but think of it this way it’s a 3 star not a 5, so if you want a 5 star pay the price. The food was good only 1 bad day where i could personally eat anything, but it’s Tunisia, so it’s cheap to eat out. The daytime made us laugh even though we don’t join in the activities; it was nice to see 2 teams working together. When i say 2 teams i mean the Tunisian and the Thomas cook teams. On a personal note i found the Tunisian team only wanted to talk to the young girls whereas the Thomas cook team would talk to anybody. The evening entertainment was very good on some nights (when the Thomas cook team was on) but left a whole when the Tunisians were on. sometimes we would have to wait 5 minutes till they got changed in to another shirt, whereas the Thomas cook team worked hard and didn’t leave the stage for more than 30 sec, i disagree with Laura M as she must have only been there for a day or 2 before the Thomas cook team started fully, and as for the fact that she said they can’t sing, she needs her ears testing!! As all 4 of them can sing, I would like to see here do their job for 1 day!!! The area around the hotel is very basic as u are in the local street but if you turn right, this is where you find the bargains! All in all a very good holiday, just wish people would take it as it is a 3 star not a 5!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank shirley2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I dont understand why some reviews are saying the animation team were great. Ive never been to a resort with such bad entertainment. Im a 22 year old who has been working abroad myself so im all for a good laugh - so its not the view of a person who just didnt want to get involved.

My partner and i went for a week long break and as it is all inclusive and nothing much to do outside the hotel we relied on the 'entertainment' team to keep us occupied. They didnt introduce themselves for a kick off which made it feel slightly aukward when signing up for the quiz etc. They had theyre 'favourites' They only spoke to them and only them. funnily enough they won EVERY single game which in the end made us decide against even entering them. On one occasion we were made to sit through an hour of extremely bad singing, there was no excaping the lack of talent. Your probably thinking its better than nothing and theyre trying theyre best but believe me...awful, im not the biggest fan of kareoke but it would of been much more interesting than watching the same 4 people screeching.

My partner entered a pool playing competition, he was head to head with one of the 'favourites' a member of the animation team was screaming, cheering her favourite one on which made my partner feel inferior. Seriously the most entertaining part was watching the kids play around on stage before everything started.

Theres actually a kareoke bar across the road which we went to but quickly left when we realised we werent welcome as they were locals! We spent most of the holiday on the balcony chatting.

The main thing that made this holiday a poor one was the animation team but having to walk through a construction site to the beach added to it. as did the repetion of food. Would definately NOT reccomend!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port El Kantaoui hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just back from a week at Soviva and had a great holiday. Weather was hot and sunny, hotel was very clean in all areas. Waiters, bar staff and housekeeping staff work really hard and are always helpfull and friendly. Food was excellent with plenty of choice. There was no problem with sunloungers and drinks were not watered down its just local spirits, so give the bar man a 1 dinar tip and you will get a double measure.The entertainment staff both Tunisian and Thomas Cook work very hard and are very friendly and enthusiastic about their job. My only negative comment would be that there was no room to use to get showered or changed on our last day, we were leaving at 6pm and were offered to use the showers at indoor pool to change. Thankfully we met some lovely people who gave us the use of their bathroom.

Room Tip: request a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mac19_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We went out of season and arrived to a nice friendly warm welcome, the reception was spacious and well decorated. we went with our adult daughter, son, his wife and their 2 children. the kids had a wonderful time, spending all day in the pool, as it was out of season there was plenty of space and sun loungers. Slides were very good. i've traveld to many countries never have I met such friendly staff from the cleaners right to the receptionist. yes I agree that the rooms need a "lick of paint" but for the price its great value. the animation staff were hardworking and tried their best to keep everyone entertained throughout the day. i will definately go back...The tunisians colud teach the Thomas cook reps how to smile maybe............i would recommend treating yourself to a massage while you're there(but give the pedicure a miss)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.7 km away
Houria Palace Hotel
Houria Palace Hotel
#26 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
490 reviews
3.2 km away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#15 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
618 reviews
2.2 km away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,464 reviews
6.7 km away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#18 of 35 in Sousse
885 reviews
6.9 km away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soviva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soviva Resort

Property: Soviva Resort
Address: El Kantaoui Hammam Sousse | Port El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Soviva Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soviva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soviva Hotel Port El Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing