We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$105
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard(Kalkan)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalkan Park Hotel(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Hotel(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caretta Boutique Hotel(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Suite(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samira Resort(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zinbad(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
US$51
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
171
30
11
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
30
11
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracebarbecue nightnothing is too much troublecan't praisesmall hotela wonderful holidayamazing viewssarahhostsgulbay
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 239 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

This Restaurant is amazing. The view from the terrace is probably the best around by far. I had Lamb chops with salad and Baclave for sweet with several malt efes. The owner runs a brilliant little business thatb is being hit hard by current hard times but is never misserable and I think he deserves to servive. I did not stay there but had a wonderful meal and will be returning, soon I hope.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2016

This was our fourth trip to the Lizo and our third in three years. We have always said we would never go back to the same place for our holidays because there are so many new places to see, but the Lizo and Kalkan keep drawing us back. In fact this is the only place we have ever re-visited. Ali, Sarah, Kaleb, Mehmet and the rest of the staff are so welcoming and friendly, it now seems that we have known them forever, not for just 5 weeks. The view from the rooftop restaurant is the best ever and the food is delicious, plentiful and great value, especially the three themed evenings. Ali and Sarah make guests feel at home and the atmosphere in the bar and restaurant is excellent and means that guests easily get to know each other. Nothing is too much trouble and Ali arranged our private transfer from the airport and will arrange any trips you fancy.
The rooms are kept spotless by Gül and the towels and bedding are changed more frequently that the 3 days stated in the room notes.
The excellent Turkish breakfast is served on the rooftop and is a perfect relaxing start to a relaxing day by the pool or at one of the local beach clubs.
All in all, a brilliant place to holiday with unbeatable value so, if you visit Turkey, go to Kalkan and if you go to Kalkan, stay at the Lizo.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JennyandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2016

This was my first visit to the Lizo Hotel, and I read some criticisms before I went. I would advise people to ignore them.
This is a basic hotel, more like a pension than a hotel and has basic on suite rooms, not TV etc.Given the prices charged, I don't understand why this is expected, the rooms are clean and provide exactly what is needed.
It is a fantastically run hotel, the owners, Ali and Sarah could not be more helpful if they tried. I have traveled extensively and NEVER found such helpful and accommodating people.
The roof top restaurant offers excellent views and excellent food, both Turkish and English. All home cooked with fresh ingredients.
If you want or need something, if it is possible, it will be done for you, I cannot sing their praises enough.
Whilst there I observed people who had returned again and again; really that says it all.
There are not enough words allowed in this review to express everything. The best thing I can say is GO THERE, you will not be disappointed.
For those of you who care, English is spoken by the owners.

Room Tip: No one room is better than another
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

We use trip advisor for all bookings and the excellent reviews had misled our expectations. In writing this review to be informative to future guests.

The pros:
- the owners Ali and Sarah seemed really friendly. They were understanding when we chose not to stay at the hotel, despite them having to re advertise out room when we left with short notice.
- the price was really cheap and reasonable.
- within walking distance to Kalkan
- nice views from the terrace

The cons:
- our biggest problem was cleanliness. There was a lot of mould over the shower curtain, the back of the dressing table, around the windows and the floor tiles. There was no sheet over the base of the duvan bed which was stained and no mattress cover.
- there was a waste pipe on an interior wall which was surprising as the exterior wall was no more than 5ft away. It was partly exposed and when the room upstairs flushed it was noisy!
- this is not a hotel, despite being called 'lizo hotel'. There are no toiletries/ shower gel, no hairdryer, no safe in the room. You have to pay extra for towels, aircon (although we were not charged in the superior room), a safe, eggs at breakfast. There is a sign saying 'don't bring your own food/drink into your room; but there's no bottled water or mini bar in the room
- the hotel is on the busy kalamar road and the road side room was noisy as was the hotel.
- wifi didn't seem to connect at all
- breakfast was very poor

We had a quick glance at the pool area but had decided on arrival that we couldn't spend our holiday here and only stayed for a night. We paid for the superior room in the new block so I would assume this room is as good as it gets.

You get what you pay for and looking at reviews, clearly many people are happy with the friendliness and value of this hotel. Looking at the negative reviews the owners have responded by saying that if it had brought to their attention before complaining on tripadvisor they could have done something about it. It is difficult to say to somebody that you think their small family run hotel isn't clean, and it is not something that should have to be raised by the guest- in my opinion the lizo should be calling itself a guesthouse/pension and needs to address the damp/ mould and general cleanliness of the rooms. We expected basic but we couldn't stay somewhere that wasn't clean.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank claif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizoHotel, Manager at Lizo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

We are truly sorry to read this review and apologise that your room was not up to standard. Upon reading this review we immediately checked the room and agree that parts of the room were not to standard due to a damp problem. Our apologies that this was not brought to our attention sooner. However, we are saddened that you didn't have the confidence to tell us so that we could have addressed the problem at the time but instead all you told us was that you were light sleepers and the room was too near the road for you. We would like to point out the hotel was fully booked the night you stayed and when you called only the day before arrival we warned you that we only have 1 room left. A room that is not superior. None of our superior rooms are ground floor and are newly refurbished with king size beds and a sea view. It is also not true that we charge for air conditioning - this is included in the room price and towels are not extra- unless you want to hire beach towels. We are a 2 star hotel, this means we have basic rooms and facilities which makes our hotel a great base for exploring Kalkan. Please remember this when paying only £25 per night for 2 people, including breakfast. So to cover costs, other additions are charged extra. We apologise again that the room was not up to standard - this has been addressed. Your feedback is important to us so we will also be carrying out thorough checks on the cleanliness standard of our maid who generally has been very highly commended for her standards. Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

A lovely small family run hotel in a perfect position in Kalkan. It's up the hill from the main town so you do have to walk down for dinner, if you feel energetic you can walk back or take a taxi for 10TL including the tip. The roof top terrace restaurant has a beautiful view over the bay and town and benefits from a breeze which is very welcome in July and August.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, it is not a 5 star international standard hotel so does not have state of the art bathrooms with power showers etc. it has clean rooms, small bathrooms and a fantastic family to make sure you have a great time.
Ali will arrange transfers, car hire, trips and anything else you want.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank paulandjuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews