We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”
Review of Side Star Elegance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Side Star Elegance
Ranked #37 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I traveld to this hotel with my mum and my sister as september break. The hotel its self was lovely the grounds are very big but well kept. we went in low season but the weather was still hitting about 30C. the pool area was nice with the snack resturant right next to it and there was never any problems getting beds the the entertainment team were not to loud. the beach is lovely i had been to side before so just expect the beach to be busy ! but from the hotel you can walk right along the prommande into the old town wish is nice to do. The resturants in the hotel were fine a little bit of a limited choice but could always find something the main thing that we found was some of the waiting staff were a bit sleazy and some times this made you rush your food !!! so just beware if you are ladies travelling on your own. the evening entertaiment was ok but to be honest did not see much as was out some evenings. The rooms were really good we had a duplex suite which was great the the room was kept spotless for us. On a whole this is a really good hotel with lots to offer would go back.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room facing the sea otherwise the back of the hotel looks on to the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gemFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

hotel asteria september 2011

Location
close to the beach and a pleasant walk into side,there is also the option to get the bus which is very cheap and runs often.
Hotel on main road some rooms maybe subject to road noise due to there location
We paid extra for sea view and as a result room was at the back of the hotel very quiet with fantastic views.worth the extra.
Alot of steps to climb each day to go to the beach--kept us fit
but could be a problem if you have mobility problems
Facitites
Massage/ gym animation team offering a variety of the usual holiday activities ie water polo but with a difference!!
Free wi fi in hotel lobby
Entertainment at night whilst the team tried very hard to entertain us all I feel it was poor and preferred to do are own thing.
Pool very clean and water slides good ---do be careful with the all inclusive wrist band when on the slides i cut my wrist whilst going down the slide due to the sharp edges on the wristband.they were very apologetic and trimmed the band but just be careful!!
plenty of Sun beds around the pool and at the beach,pool towels provided free.No problems ever getting a sunbed

Rooms
Twin beds only minibar soft drinks only replenished daily
A/C seemed to be set unable to change but temperture it was set at ok

Food/Dtinks
Have had better all inclusive drinks than here,wine was drinkable the usual spirits limited choice and cocktails got very repeatative. No cocktail of the day just the same ones on offer everyday approx 6

excellent -good choice ,show cooking theme nights to get the best choice it is best not to go too late
they have a fantastic outdoor eating area with beautiful views.It was lovely to be able to eat outside each night candle light as well.Waiters very friendly and helpful
There was alot of German guests and elderly whilst we stayed here but that was certainly not a problem
Everyone was so friendly

Negatives
None on our holiday
I definite place to go again highly recommended

Room Tip: request a SEA view extra cost but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smileyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My Wife and I and our daughters (16 &19) had a most enjoyable stay here this summer. The hotel is situated about 20 to 25 minutes walk along the sea front from Side. The hotel is the nearest to a 5* that we have found in the Med. The food was good with a wide variety to chose from and always something interesting, fish or meat cooked fresh. Plenty of tables and excellent service not like a glorified canteen.

The hotel is built on quite a narrow sloping site from the road to the beach. It has been designed so that most rooms get a view of the gardens which were mature and well maintained. We had booked 2 standard rooms but when we arrived we asked for quiet rooms and were offered a 4 person 2 floor appartment which we took. it was good for us and it was quiet. There are quite a lot of steps to walk up and down.

Everything in the hotel worked and there was food on tap at a variety of locations at all times. You have to find out what they are doing where. There are plenty of sun beds both in the hotel and on the beach. If you get a place early (8.30 am) you can chose where you want to be but if you trun up late you will still get a place. We didn't use the pools but they were big enough for the number of people who wanted to. They serve icecream and candyfloss in the afternoon by the pool. They offer 3 sit down resturants but we didn't think the food was any better than the buffet although it was nice to be served. You have to book these and I think we only got 1 booking per holiday.

There are people from all over here with the largest number being Germans but with Russians, most other europeans and some Turks (a good sign). The staff mostly speak some English and we had no problem being understood and as I have said the service was very good. The other guests were nice too no shouting and children seemed to be with their families.

They do a show ever night. We only went to a couple but they were quite a good standard.

We did go in to Side and found the traders in the centre a lot of hassel. Then we worked out that they were selling the same goods as the little shops opposite the hotel but at 8 - 10 times the price. Didn't enjoy the shopping in the centre. We went to Kusadassi last year and there the traders would do a deal and the stuff was good quaity and cheap. In Side it was poor quaity (mostly) and over priced plus a lot of nasty attitude so we went to the shops near the hotel where the shop keepers were nice to us and the stuff was reasonable.

The historic part of Side is worth a look but not fantastic.

The sea here is warm and safe, it can get a bit choppy some days so that you wouldn't want to swim but it is fun to play in the waves. Went in the sea every day.

Would recommend this hotel we all liked it

Room Tip: If you don't like the room you are offered say. They will try har to help but it is better to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MJBCarrots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I am actually at this hotel at the moment, and I wouldn't normally write a review on any hotel I visit as I do my research beforehand I also work for a well known travel company so I expect the hotel to be nice anyway. But this is better than I expected the staff are polite and make you feel welcome and every where is really clean, the food is exceptional they definitely work hard at this hotel to ensure you have a wonderful holiday and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to my customers. Well as I said I am here at the minute so back to enjoying the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jankem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We were spolit by Mexico 2 years ago and was advised by the travel agent that this was as close to Mexico without going back. They weren't wrong!! All the hotel staff were helpful, friendly and took pride in their hotel. They were cleaning all the time whether it was the rooms, public areas or the gardens. When we arrived the room was a little noisy. We spoke to the reception and they moved us straight away. How is that for service. Never known service like it before. Although there were multi nationalities there, there was no need to get up at 'stupid o'clock' to reserve a sunbed. There were always plenty and of course loads on the clean sandy beach. Security was spot on to. We were so impressed we have booked already to go back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the side road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YorkshireTeddybear03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Just back from the Asteria hotel, had a lovely time.
The a la carte restaurants weren't that great, especially the Italian where the food was uncooked and cold. However the chinese restaurant was lovely with great views of Side at sunset which was very romantic and very quiet. The buffet food had great selection but much of it was average at best. At lunch time the pool bar is the best for food, also offering throughout the day ice cream, popcorn, waffles and flatbreads.

The hotel its self was very clean and kept to a very high standard, however there seemed to be a language barrier with few of the staff, although friendly, unable to speak English.

The hotel animation team/pool reps were constantly coming up to you at the pool asking to take part in activities and didn't really accept no for an answer, which was a bit annoying especially if you wanted to be left in peace to relax and sunbath.

One major downside to the holiday was the space at the pool. My poor boyfriend had to get up at 6.15am most mornings to go down to get a seat at the pool. If he did not, there would not be a half-decent sunbed in the sun. This was due to the Germans getting up at 5am and although being told reservations of loungers would not be accepted before 8am, would throw their towels down on 6-10 loungers at a time. Also the beach was very busy as all hotels shared small sections and the same problem occurred there with the towels.

Lots of bars to suit everyone at the resort, and the evening entertainment was enjoyable and the staff worked hard to provide a good show.

Finally, the overall holiday was brilliant and sad to be home.

Thanks Asteria

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Asteria is a great hotel and is very clean and has extremely friendly staff. The animation team were amazing. Whilst staying my friend hit her arm on the pool bottom coming off the slide on the 25th and was in so much pain the team helped to calm her down. The animation team helped so much and said they wouldn't start the show without her as she was rushed to hospital. At the end of the show he called her up on stage and deadicated the show to her.The doctor was friendly and supported her, the lifeguard ran as fast as he could to get the doctor and nearly fell over. They couldn't have done more to help. on the 26th (the day we left) she was unable to go in the pool due to her whloe arm being in bandage, one of the animation team platted her hair which took about half an hour, and each and every one of the animaion team kept coming over and checking on her and talking to her all the time. They were amazing. the maids clean the rooms to perfectionand ensure it is tidy. A short walk away you can see the ruins which are beatiful when lit up at night. If you are considering staying here don't hesitate it is amazing.

Room Tip: Ask at reception and guest relations if ou have any problems and they try to fo their very best for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
1.0 km away
Side Star Beach Hotel
Side Star Beach Hotel
#38 of 229 in Side
237 reviews
0.7 km away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
1.0 km away
Side Star Park Hotel
Side Star Park Hotel
#53 of 229 in Side
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.4 km away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#6 of 229 in Side
2,077 reviews
4.5 km away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Side Star Elegance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Star Elegance

Address: Kumkoy Mevkii, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey (Formerly Hotel Asteria)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 229 Hotels in Side
Price Range: $91 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Side Star Elegance 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are separated in 3 categories: “Standard Room“, “Suite Room” and “Family Room” which are designed in modern style. Room features are detailed below.Standard RoomCarpet Floor, Twin bed or French Bed, Air conditioning(timed), Balcony, Mini Bar, Electronic Safe Box, Satellite-TV, Music Channel on TV, Telephone, Bathroom (with bathtub), hairdryer, cosmetic mirror. Standard rooms are at land side or seaside.Family RoomOur Family rooms consist of two floors. On the ground floor; living room with a large terrace and a sofa group, WC/bathroom, 1 double, 1 single bed & on the upper floor; toilet/shower-Jacuzzi bath and a bedroom with double bed. Other features are the same as standard rooms; a TV on each levels, mini bar and air conditioning exist. In addition to standard room’s features, there is coffee maker.Suite Room Our suite rooms, which consist of a bedroom (double bed) and living room, are located on the upper floors. All have a direct sea view. In addition to standard room’s features, there is coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Side Star Elegance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing