We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
9
21
30
25
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
21
30
25
36
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 121 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2014

First of all, the Buyuk Berk hotel is not a 4 star property by any length of the imagination. Judging be the level of service, facilities and overall feel, 3 stars are more than enough. This is not to say however that noone should stay at this hotel. For the average, undiscerning tourist looking mainly for a very afordable all inclusive package this may well be the answer.

The food was plentiful yet unremarkable, with an occasional dash of local cuisine finesse. This was however about the only good thing about this hotel. From the start, we were dissapointed by the complete lack of any parking facilities, aggravated by fact that it was nigh impossible to find a parking spot anywhere in the nearby streets.

The next thing that became painfully obvious was how noisy everything was - from the constant sound of doors opening and closing coming in through the paper-thin walls to the disco beats spewing out all day from the adjacent "aqua park" (a small swimming pool with an equally miniatural waterslide). This was not the worst part, however. One of the most important things for us when choosing a hotel is wifi availability, which was advertised as being free throughout the property. The reality was that although you could connect to a hotspot, actually doing anything was impossible, as the tiny SOHO access point was overwhelmed by the number of clients all trying to connect to it at the same time. The only option for us was to connect during the very early hours or while everyone was eating. Not the most conveninent thing to do, as you may imagine.

Add to this the fact that the TV was broken (not really important for us, but just for completeness) and the pocket-sized safe was out of order and you'll get a pretty good idea of our experience at the Buyuk Berk.

In concusion, I'd say that if everything your're looking for is a cheap all-inclusive solution with plenty of food and easy access to a beach and could live with the above mentioned shortcomings, then the Buyuk Berk may be just what you were looking for. Just don't look at the horrendously decorated interiors - you may get esthetically scarred for life :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank md012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2014

One of the worst hotels we have ever been. One part of the hotel has air conditioning, and the other half doesn't. Staff very rude and absent. Sea is windy and with waves. It has a sandy beach,but it's not very clean and everyone can access it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spartan_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is ok, but nothing particularly special. The location is in an area of small restaurants and services, but it is many blocks from the beach. The hotel is a bit tired and could use some paint, but the rooms were clean and big enough to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the Bayuk Berk hotel for two nights as part of a tour of the region. The hotel needs some updating, but also has some charm and a feel of a bygone age! Our room was small, but adequate and very clean. The bathroom also needed updating, but again was clean and adequate. The meals were good on our two nights, plenty of choice for both dinner and breakfast. We found the reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gem413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days and I have to say it was very good. The rooms were not too big, but clean and quite new(they were probably renovated). If you choose to stay in this hotel I'd recommend you to take the all inclusive option which is not very expensive, actually it pays off for all the food and drinks you'll have. As it's all inclusive you'll have three meals a day which had a quite decent quality. There was a wide variety of food you could choose from the buffet and from the bar you are able to get any drink you want. Staff is very friendly, helpful and polite and every night there was a musician who was responsible for the entertainment. He played the guitar and sang songs, so the guests seemed quite satisfied which came as a surprise to me because of the he played the same songs every night, but that's just a minor thing that shouldn't bother anyone. There was a free WiFi connection only from the lobby, not from the rooms. The hotel has a 3 pools, the main one, on the front side of the hotel, and one for kids next to the one which was suitable for watersports, especially waterpollo. For those who prefer the sea, the beach is right across the street, there were free sunbeds but I must say the water was freezing. The only thing I didn't like was actually the place. I'm more of a person that wants to see Europians, tourists from all around Europe, but Ayvalik had more local tourists. But it's a great way to get to know a new culture and its values. The place is more suitable for families and even older people but even if you're younger, I'm sure that you'll meet someone there, the turkish people are quite open to new acquaintances. :) I'd definitely recommend this hotel if you want a new experience in your life..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank InD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews