We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
9
21
30
25
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
21
30
25
37
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 122 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2014

In 2014 june I go to Ayvalik Turkey. The Berk Chalet Hotel is the right choice I think :) Good service, nice rooms cleared, amazing food and restorant. The stuff was very courteous, and chef is the best!

Room Tip: All rooms is good :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iKalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2014

We have just returned from a walking type holiday to Troy, Efesus etc and whilst some of the hotels that we stayed in were considered to be 5 star, and probably just what people who are looking for 2 weeks in the sun are want, we found the Buyuk Berk to be utterly charming. We arrived quite late in the evening from sightseeing, it was chilly and we were tired. We walked into what was like a gentlemen's club. There was a HUGE open fire, with comfy chesterfields all around, antique style turkish and western artifacts. We found the staff helpful, polite and professional. Food was no different to what we had been served in 5 star, and although the rooms were plain, they were cosy, warm and very comfortable. Best of all though, through to another bar we found that we were able to have a cigarette with a a drink. It was mobbed. and we all had a brilliant evening. I must say, I would go back again.

Room Tip: Just relax and enjoy.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2014

First of all, the Buyuk Berk hotel is not a 4 star property by any length of the imagination. Judging be the level of service, facilities and overall feel, 3 stars are more than enough. This is not to say however that noone should stay at this hotel. For the average, undiscerning tourist looking mainly for a very afordable all inclusive package this may well be the answer.

The food was plentiful yet unremarkable, with an occasional dash of local cuisine finesse. This was however about the only good thing about this hotel. From the start, we were dissapointed by the complete lack of any parking facilities, aggravated by fact that it was nigh impossible to find a parking spot anywhere in the nearby streets.

The next thing that became painfully obvious was how noisy everything was - from the constant sound of doors opening and closing coming in through the paper-thin walls to the disco beats spewing out all day from the adjacent "aqua park" (a small swimming pool with an equally miniatural waterslide). This was not the worst part, however. One of the most important things for us when choosing a hotel is wifi availability, which was advertised as being free throughout the property. The reality was that although you could connect to a hotspot, actually doing anything was impossible, as the tiny SOHO access point was overwhelmed by the number of clients all trying to connect to it at the same time. The only option for us was to connect during the very early hours or while everyone was eating. Not the most conveninent thing to do, as you may imagine.

Add to this the fact that the TV was broken (not really important for us, but just for completeness) and the pocket-sized safe was out of order and you'll get a pretty good idea of our experience at the Buyuk Berk.

In concusion, I'd say that if everything your're looking for is a cheap all-inclusive solution with plenty of food and easy access to a beach and could live with the above mentioned shortcomings, then the Buyuk Berk may be just what you were looking for. Just don't look at the horrendously decorated interiors - you may get esthetically scarred for life :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank md012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2014

One of the worst hotels we have ever been. One part of the hotel has air conditioning, and the other half doesn't. Staff very rude and absent. Sea is windy and with waves. It has a sandy beach,but it's not very clean and everyone can access it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spartan_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is ok, but nothing particularly special. The location is in an area of small restaurants and services, but it is many blocks from the beach. The hotel is a bit tired and could use some paint, but the rooms were clean and big enough to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews