We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully situated ”
Review of Akol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akol Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Canakkale
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

I will start with the few negatives. The beds are hard and the pillows are pretty terrible. If you don't like you shower in your bath, that too is a negative. But that is about it. On the positive side, this is one of the most wonderfully situated hotels in this city. It is on the waterfront of the Dardanelles with the most incredible view from the restaurant. The breakfast is fantastic with local choices mixed in with some kids cereals and toast (with a great selection of spreads). If you are a coffee drinker, you will be disappointed with the Nescafé machine that is provided at breakfast but there are plenty of coffee places within walking distance. It is a 2 minute walk to the shops and to the ferry (both passenger and car) which takes you to the other side of the straight (obviously) where the war cemeteries and Anzac Cove are situated. This is a beautiful part of the world so even if you are not there for the world war 1 tours, there is much to see and do. The ruins of ancient Troy are only 45 kilometres away and ancient Assos is about an hour away (this is an extraordinary place in itself - scenery that will leave you breathless). All in all, the Akol is a basically comfortable but definitely well situated hotel in a wonderful part of the world. If you have a favourite pillow that you can fit in, by all means do so but the positives outweigh the negatives.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank roderickellem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Akol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

I had the opportunity to stay here for one night.
The view is very nice, as you can see the Dardenelles as well as the Gallipoli peninsula.
Walking distance to the replica Troy horse used in the Hollywood blockbuster and also close to the ferry which takes you across to the peninsula.

Our room was nice and spacious and relatively clean.

The ceiling straight above the shower was leaking whilst the shower tap was running.

Also the complimentary coffee and tea were a nice treat.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Emin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

This is a great hotel. The views can't be beat. The staff were friendly. The room was not spacious but was comfortable. Right on the waterfront. Easy walk into the main part of town which is AWESOME. Many restaurants and bars near by.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dougie909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The Akol Hotel is located within the heart of Canakkale, right along the waterfront and is surrounded by numerous restaurants, bars and cafes.

We were accommodated with a recently refurbished room with a balcony, which provided great views overlooking the port and the Dardanelles strait.

Furnishing included a comfortable bed, satellite TV, a casual seating area, a large desk, minibar, tea/coffee facilities and plenty of storage space.

There is a rooftop bar that also provides a great view, all while relaxing with an evening drink.

Our group was provided with a buffet with a numerous and varied selection, of breakfast menu items the following morning.

Overall, the staff, food and especially the location, made for an excellent overnight stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room with a balcony and water views over the Dardanelles strait
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Our Tour de Europe stopped in Canakkale for a few days in early July. Our accommodation was at the Akol Hotel. The hotel is centrally located along the esplanade with a very short walk to the cente of town and/or the ferry terminal. Lots of restaurants surround the hotel and there is a Starbucks on the ground floor.

The hotel itself is well presented with helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are clean with nice beds and in our room a balcony looking out over the Esplanade and the Dardanelles. There is a restaurant on the top floor with a view over the Dardanelles. it serves Turkish style breakfasts and in the evening it s a seafood restaurant. The menu is mainly Turkish with some tasty dishes and reasonably priced. If you arrive by car, there is a valet to park your car.

Room Tip: Best views are on the seaside of the buildings. we had a room on the 4th floor
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TourdeEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is right on the waterfront and close to the main centre of town and waterfront.
The staff are friendly and helpful and while we didnt eat at the main restaurant on the top floor we checked it out and it had great views and seafood, many people recommended it.
The hotel has a pool which may seem rather drab but is refreshing non the less.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable friendly staff close to everything in cannakkle the breakfast was very good .big rooms with balcony looking over the esplanade. The bathroom was also high quality .rooms were reasonable price i would stay here again no problem.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
4.4 km away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 30 in Canakkale
822 reviews
0.1 km away
Buyuk Truva Oteli
Buyuk Truva Oteli
#8 of 30 in Canakkale
145 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 30 in Canakkale
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#11 of 30 in Canakkale
318 reviews
0.4 km away
Artur Hotel
Artur Hotel
#3 of 30 in Canakkale
114 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Zileli
Hotel Zileli
#17 of 30 in Canakkale
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akol Hotel

Address: Cevat Pasa Mah. Kordon Boyu Kayserili Ahmet Pasa Cad. Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Canakkale
Price Range: $107 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akol Hotel which is located in the heart of Çanakkale, this elegant property is just few steps away from the sea side, 300 km away from the Istanbul Airport, 2 km (5 minutes) away from Canakkale Airport and 25 km away from the Troya. Akol Hotel has 135 standard rooms and 2 suits including 280 beds, offers pleasant accommodation with a variety of amenities at the right price. Our rooms have central heating, split air conditioning, direct dial telephone, mini bar, satellite television, TV, private bathroom,wireless internet, music broadcasting and balcony. Other facilities in the hotel; meeting room, dry cleaning, free parking area, genarator and laundry room. We also offer free services to our guests such as table tennis, swimming pool and billiards. We provide variety of amenities with meeting and seminar room. In addition to these, We have 2 restaurants which offer very rich variety of food, renovated Lobby Bar, Radika Fish Restaurant and Roof Bar. In the Roof Bar, you may sip your drink with a view of the Dardanelles and accompanied by live music everyday. At the same time we provide fresh fish at the right price in Radika Fish Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akol Hotel Canakkale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing