We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Canakkale”
Review of Hotel Helen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Helen
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Canakkale
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Canakkale”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Visited Canakkale on a business trip in October last year. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and they all spoke English. I stayed in a single room, which was well suited to my needs. The room was small but comfortable and had all the facilites I needed. The bathroom had a bath and shower and lots of hot water. Breakfast was buffet style, but there was a god selection. We also used the hotels conference room, which suited our needs perfectly. Lovely hotel and would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikkit00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    55
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
28
33
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
egypt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed at hotel Helen in september 2011, at a triple bedroom, and although i went to the front desk of the hotel which is on the main street, i was told that the room is on a side street about fifty metres away, something that didn't make me very comfortable, but strange enough, the room turned out to be much more than expected, cause it is a newly rennovated building, and the rooms are in excellent condition, so it was definitly an excellent choice. plus the hotel itself is situated very close (around 150-200 metres) to the harbour where the ferry takes you to acaabat on the gallipoli peninsula

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iboegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid-October, on a trip to the Gallipoli Battlefields. It is ideally located being close to the ferry terminal with it's own car park at the rear.
The reception staff were very helpful and spoke perfect english. Our room was well appointed, clean and good value for money. The buffet breakfast was excellent and offered a good Turkish/Continental breakfast.
The hotel offered free access to the internet via a PC located in the entrance lobby. It was rather slow, but enabled us to catch up with e-mails etc.

Room Tip: Use the main entrance on the main street. There is another entrance round the corner, but this does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fraserrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Rooms are quite alright, Stayed only one night breakfast could've been better.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erenenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the newer building of Helen hotel a couple of weeks ago. I was most impressed by the staff. Everyone was so friendly and very helpful, from Ali the manager to the gentleman who was working during breakfast. The food provided at breakfast was good and plentiful, make sure you try the pepper paste if you enjoy spicy food, it was so good. The location is terrific. You can arrive by bus or ferries, it's just a couple of minutes walk away - you can see the sign for the hotel from where the bus drops you off - just make sure you look for it before you start walking (we didn't look hard enough and missed it so our walk took a bit longer, and felt like fools when we finally saw the sign). The clock tower is pretty much around the corner. The horse is 5-10 mins away. All in all, a super convenience hotel.

The only reason this gets 4 stars instead of 5 is because the room was a bit small... it's a clean & basic room, which is all we wanted anyway.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed over one night at the Helen after visiting the Troy ruins. The room was clean and spacious (we were in the new building). The breakfast was good, the staff attentive, and the location, near tour and bus companies, and a couple hundred meters from the waterfront, was ideal. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel is 1 min to the bus station and ferry port and it's very easy to reach anywhere. but I found the hotel itself really depressing with dark and old interior. The air conditioning was too cold and I called reception number of times but they didn't speak English so in the end I slept with air conditioning off which was not so pleasant. Wifi was very unstable and difficult to figure out. Overall don't expect 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuyoungKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 km away
Kervansaray Canakkale Hotel
0.1 km away
Artur Hotel
Artur Hotel
#3 of 28 in Canakkale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Helen Park
Hotel Helen Park
#9 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.4 km away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#6 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.1 km away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helen

Property: Hotel Helen
Address: Kemalpasa Mah. Cumhuriyet Meydani #57, Canakkale, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helen 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helen Hotel Canakkale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing