We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,379)
Filter reviews
1,379 results
Traveller rating
1,111
173
48
22
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,111
173
48
22
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilent beachnature spakids clubmain restaurantturkeywalk in wardrobenext yearwater sportsbeautiful baysuperior roomlate breakfastentertainment teamfamily resortmeal timessports activitiesany ageall ages
Filter
Updating list...
569 - 574 of 1,379 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have just returned from 2weeks at HBC, and all the good points are in fact true. This was our 1st visit but you leave with every intention of returning. Beautiful setting, we never tired of the splendid view from our terrace. The upgrade to an outdoor terrace/balcony is a must in my opinion. Also room numbers in 600,s suited us perfectly. For adults only there is an area of the Main buffet restaurant which is adult only on an outside terrace, however it is not big enough and fills up quickly. This is a much better place to enjoy your meals as unfortunately many children are allowed to run riot in the restaurant area and staff seem unable to intervene when parents allow this to happen.
We loved the serenity beach and enjoyed the lovely walk to get there as well as the boat trip to get there. The bar and staff here are excellent, our every need was taken care of and we ate lunch here almost every day. 10/10 for serenity beach which is also adult only! All in all a thoroughly enjoyable, restful holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GloucestershireGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Returned again for te 4th time and found it to be as go as before. Guests from 2011 returned as did a large number of the hotel team. Delighted to see old friends and make new ones.

We're now campaigning for the hotel to install a lift. It's the only issue we have with the hotel not having a resource or people with walking or mobility issues.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BRUMMIES2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2012

we have been to the hillside 4 times and every time it is better, the location is wonderful the sea is great beach can get a bit crowded, the rooms are very good and the food is also very good, very very safe for children and they seem to make friends very quickly, the water sports are very good but a little costly! both kids did their paddy suba, the staff are great so all in all a great holiday

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nickos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We returned from a two week family holiday at the HBC at the end of August. We chose the resort based on recommendations from a friend who, coincidentally, had booked to return this year and overlapped with us. Naturally she was worried that she may have oversold the place to us but I have to say, it was very nearly everything we could have dreamed for.

I won’t do my usual ramble about specifics as most of the other reviewers have done a perfectly good job but suffice to say I can echo the fabulousness of the location, facilities (the SPA – lush), the kidside staff, the entertainers, the food, even the wine was perfectly palatable. The rooms were nice enough, not super luxurious but we enjoyed the separate space for the younger children, the connecting balcony and the outdoor bathroom.

We generally had no problem getting beds by the pool, regardless of how late we were getting up however during the week of the Turkish holidays it was much, much more crowded and service levels dropped slightly.

As a family holiday location, the HBC is close to perfect in offering relative luxury (not Jumeriah style luxury but relative luxury) and a safe, entertaining environment for children. Because the hotel has so many families, at no point did we feel like our children were intruding and they were very much considered one of the guests, rather than an appendage but if you don’t have children and are not looking for a family resort, I would suggest looking elsewhere.

Below are a few specifics that relate to our holiday that prevent us from giving the resort 5* for every criteria.

Some reviewers have commented on their perception of staff attitude. In our experience, the majority of staff were generally fantastic however there were some incidents of unnecessary surliness and a lack of interest in getting involved. When teenage boys were behaving inappropriately/dangerously in the toddler section of the pool the lifeguard refused to speak with them and suggested we went to guest services!

We often enjoy sitting up at the bar however we found that despite being in the direct line of sight of the bar staff, it could take an age to get served. It was often better to move to a pool side seat and receive table service. Most of the staff serving the tables were incredibly friendly and often didn’t charge for some drinks during happy hour. I would make the most of happy hour as the price of cocktails is quite hefty.

On one evening we booked a babysitter (Marta who was fantastic) and had hoped to go to Pascha. Unfortunately it is closed on a Sunday so we booked the beach restaurant. On arrival we found that the TV screen was up on the beach (directly in front of the restaurant) and a Turkish football match was showing. It would have been nice to know beforehand that our romantic, child free dinner was going to be taking place surrounded by Turkish football fans and lots of jeering! The evening went further downhill when we went to order our meal as we discovered that of the 4 starter options, they weren’t actually all available so we ended up having a make do meal. When we spoke with the restaurant staff to say that if there is going to be something happening on the beach that is going to impact on the diners of the beach restaurant, perhaps it should be mentioned at the time of booking, there was a shrug and a total indifference. Due to his annoyance at the reaction he received from the restaurant staff my husband decided to speak with guest services, to their credit they offered us complementary house wine Pascha for another night.

We were surprised to find that glasses were used for drinks at pool loungers and around the beach bar. In both locations everyone is bare footed and I lost count of the number of times I heard glasses smashing to the floor and with the best will in the world, no matter how thorough you think you’ve been sweeping up the broken bits, shards of glass can get everywhere as my husband’s feet will testify!

Despite the small annoyances above, we would definitely return to HBC however we have found that prices for next year are due to increase, dramatically. For the same two weeks, having decent flight times, for a family of 4 the price has increased by nearly £3,000! This is comparable with Porto Sani in Greece and I fear the HBC may price a few of their British customers out!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SqueakerMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is located a ladder from the sea to the mountain, two or three rows of houses, rooms are right near the water. Rooms with a balcony or terrace, all overlooking the sea. From the side looks very nice, because balconies and terraces covered with flowers get huge staircase of flowers, disappearing into the mountains. From the sea to the mountain to the last "floor" hotel runs the funicular.
The hotel area is very green, almost live on the mountain greenery and pine trees. Undeveloped territory well, secluded zakutochki, shops, in a word, beautiful and comfortable.
Beach divided into 3 zones. One big beach near swimming pools, there is the whole get-together animation, then a big water with Panton chairs and pillows for those who like to sunbathe on the "waves" and the third beach so-called "quiet zones" where not allowed to children and do not recommend the use of mobile phones. Though the 3 beaches, but the place seems to me insufficient, especially at the pool, where the animation is very crowded.
The sea is very, very clean, near the coast can watch schools of fish.

Was a very good animation, every day in the amphitheater show at what a good level. In the evenings on the beach have installed a huge screen, used sun beds and chairs as seating and you can watch concerts, movies. Miss it did not give, but all this unobtrusively as it was. Ie who wanted to hang out, who wanted peace, he was found, places abound. Bars, shops, sports, library, massage, in general, all the bells and whistles there a good hotel there.
The hotel is expensive, but worth the money.
It is undesirable to take numbers next to the funicular. Rooms with a balcony to take desirable, preferably with a terrace, a balcony room seemed to me a little gloomy because of the wooden shutters on the windows.

In general, this hotel is nothing like the standard Turkish hotel.
From the hotel to Fethiye several times a day goes a little bus.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Irunchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews