We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So indulgent we felt guilty pleasure…”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
119 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Gocek, Mugla Province, Turkish Aegean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 119 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Turkish first
Any
English first
Cloudwalk...
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“So indulgent we felt guilty pleasure…”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

As a member of a private jetliner flight crew I am used to staying in hotels worldwide. Our operations controller booked the escape for us telling us only that it had the best review score on the web. It is all of that. And more. The owners (Chris and Susan) arranged our car hire and, when not enjoying Susan’s creative cooking skills or their impressive organic wine cellar, Chris was happy to chauffer us to town and back to comply with the strict drink-driving laws and let us savour the delights of both the escape and Gocek’s finest food and wines.
Their hospitality and camaraderie made us feel guilty – but of the indulgent guilty pleasure kind. Wait ‘til my wife accompanies me and then understands why we rate this place so highly.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Geschäftlich
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
les9424
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Peace, perfect peace.”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent a fabulous week in the Escape in July/August. Really couldn't fault it, from the friendliness of hosts Susan and Chris, to the lovely suite (Ruby/Jet) and idlyllic pool. Susan serves really delicious and imaginative food and we just loved taking breakfast and dinner on the lovely terrace. They made us so welcome and made sure that every last detail was taken care of. Susan also draws fantastic maps which were hugely helpful to us when we ventured further afield! We were very sorry when our stay came to an end and have no hesitation in recommending The Escape! Possibly the most relaxing week of our lives - we would love to return!

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ultimate Escape”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Chris and Susan Salmon are the most charming, attentive and talented host and hostess you can ever expect to meet. We spent 1 week and 1 day at this extraordinary hideaway created and operated by Chris and Susan and could not have asked for anything better. The gourmet meals prepared by Susan, the Roman styled infinity pool and landscaped grounds maintained by Chris, the magnificently designed 6 suite hotel itself in its beautiful, serene and hidden surroundings and the perfect weather. If you ever want to get away from it all, there is no better place. I will be back (I hope).... Joel

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna1279
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Time stands still.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Twelve months ago I wrote that I couldn't imagine not returning to the escape (Efes in hand!). Well, sure enough, I recently found myself lounging away the days in this glorious retreat. It is as if time has stood still, with Chris and Susan continuing to offer their guests their (and my) vision of the perfect holiday. The property is still beautiful, the views are still stunning, the food is still sublime ..... I could go on. It is rare that I return to the same accommodation, but for as long as Chris and Susan have the escape I will be adding it to my annual holiday quota. After all, everyone needs to escape once in a while.

Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlacatN...
Carson City, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gracious, Gourmet and Gorgeous”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

From the moment you arrive and every moment after you are treated like treasured friends. The setting is lovely. The adult only and small number of rooms create an intimate ambiance.
I cannot offer enough praise for the meals. Susan is a superb creative cook.
It is well located to visit Dalyan ruins and river trips to see the turtles. Susan gives excellent maps to whoever you want to go. Chris will chauffeur you down to Gocek should desire to go for dinner and the evening.
They are interesting and lovely to spend time just conversing.
The pool is just right and you can easily just relax there on and on.
The entire experience we as wonderfully relaxing and stimulating at the same time. Just perfect.
Bravo Chris and Susan your place and service are spot on

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellie w
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect break”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Escape is just that... an amazing place just far enough away from civilisation to allow the perfect relaxing break. Susan and Chris are brilliant hosts who were attentive to our every need. Susan laid out the best breakfast and cooked the very best poached eggs ;) The mezze’s with fresh bread, locally grown fruit, veg and herbs were mouthwatering, and the 3 course dinner she cooked on our last night was awesome.
We stayed in the Ruby suite and the rooms were spotless, the bathrooms clean and spacious, balconies in both rooms and beautiful views out into the surrounding landscape. Chris and Susan offered to take us into town and back again at any time each night using our hire car, which saved us the hassle of taxis and was greatly appreciated. They were great company and it’s just a shame we couldn’t stay longer!
So in short, landscape, accommodation, pool, hospitality and food were all A* and we hope to return in the future!

Cheers,

Alan + Kellie

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turqu0ise
kent
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another wonderful visit”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a marvellous stay at The Escape last year and our stay this year was just as fabulous. Susan and Chris are so welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed in the Turquoise room once again and can't recommend it too highly. The bed is the most comfortable of anywhere we have stayed and the view from the room over the beautiful hills towards Gocek is stunning. We had some wonderful swims in the pool and uber relaxing days on the sunbeds. As the hotel is tucked away in the hills, it is so peaceful - a real getaway. Our favourite hotel and we will be back!

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing