We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing music by resident Irish DJ”

McGettigan's Al Ain
Ranked #23 of 334 Restaurants in Al Ain
Price range: US$3 - US$41
Description: Modern and contemporary Irish bar with stylish and vibrant ambiance with live sports streaming. The spanning glass terrace overlooking the pool is a relaxing spot for a post-work drink while the vast beer garden space is ideal for gathering with friends or an evening of revelry.
Restaurant details
Description: Modern and contemporary Irish bar with stylish and vibrant ambiance with live sports streaming. The spanning glass terrace overlooking the pool is a relaxing spot for a post-work drink while the vast beer garden space is ideal for gathering with friends or an evening of revelry.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Cool spot, friendly service but the Irish DJ Enda Grimes made this visit if mine amazing. Heard him a few times in Dubai but he has found his home here in Al Ain spinning good vibes and great music. Definitely will come back to chill with him again

Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey M, Manager at McGettigan's Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Greg S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us!
I am delighted you had such a good time and please be assured that your kind comments regarding our DJ will be passed along to himself and the rest of our team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Warmest regards
Stacey McWilliams
Pub Manager
stacey.mcwilliams@danathotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 21 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2018

This year I craved to do something different for Saint Patrick's Day and decided to head off to Al Ain, the Garden City of the UAE. Known for its palm groves, natural springs and sand dunes of varying textures, this beautiful oasis city shares its border with Oman and is located to the south of Dubai. The drive to the Danat Al Ain Resort was a splendid one.

What better place to celebrate one of the biggest Irish festivals, than McGettigan’s, the most loved Irish sports bar and restaurant. The award-winning chain pub with several outlets in Dubai and Abu Dhabi, has a new addition to their family, with the brand new Al Ain branch that opened its doors in December 2017.

The new pub has undoubtedly taken Al Ain by storm with its theme nights, top pub grub menu featuring classic Irish dishes, fantastic drink deals, great Friday brunches and entertaining live music to go with it. The stylishly designed bar and restaurant also has a terrace that overlooks the swimming pool and a chilled-out beer garden, making it the perfect place for parties, celebrations or just a relaxing post-work drink. 12 large screens play live sports from around the world, while the friendly staff pamper you with their attention.

It was the first Saint Patrick’s Day celebration for this new McGettigan’s baby and the excitement was palpable. Chic decorations went up as staff geared to paint the place green.

The Knights, an awesome Irish folk harmonic band from the North coast of Ireland, arrived earlier in the week and debuted the night before to kick-start IrishFest 2018. Four Irish musicians, eight instruments and true Irish sets straight from the emerald isle was enough to turn everyone Irish for the week!

Adding their own dose of peppiness, were the lovely dancers from the Abu Dhabi Irish Dance society. They treated everyone with their delightful performance.

DJ Enda, aka “The Dubai DJ”, one of the most popular, well-recommended Irish DJs among the entertainment circles in Dubai, is the resident DJ here. Adored by regular patrons who admit that his incredible playlists and fantastic repertoire of songs keep them coming back to this place for more. DJ Enda spun his magic at the decks with a phenomenal mix of trad Irish as well as contemporary floor fillers, keeping every single person on their toes.

The celebrations spiced up a wee bit more when the Evolver band got the crowds to dance away with their incredible musical talents.

Stacey McWilliams, the super-efficient and lovely Bar Manager, flitted around with a spring in her step, adding her infectious charisma to the festivities.

An unforgettable celebration indeed!! Look forward to many more visits to this lovely place to get my fix of the killer combination of superb Irish hospitality, which would absolutely incomplete without the outstanding music churned out by the DJ as well as the band. Mcgettigan's Al Ain - see you sooooonnn!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cassadee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey M, Manager at McGettigan's Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Cassadee B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to McGettigan's Al Ain.

I am simply delighted that you had such an fantastic experience. We all thoroughly enjoyed the few days around St Patrick's am so glad you did as well.

Myself and the team are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. In the meantime, please do let me know if there's anything we can do to organise your next visit!

Warmest regards
Stacey McWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

Love the atmosphere, the vibe. Good food, very friendly staff, great DJ who plays the right stuff all night! Definitely THE place to be :)

Thank Felix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey M, Manager at McGettigan's Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear Felix F
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your views on McGettigan's Al Ain.
I'm delighted you've enjoyed your visits with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warm regards
Stacey McWilliams
Pub Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

I spent a weekend in Al Ain at the end of February and I have to say that McGettigans was a top notch bar/restaurant. From the moment I entered the bar I was made feel so welcome by all of the staff. A very nice place and a great sized balcony with superb views. Later in the evening there was an Irish DJ playing, Enda and what a great DJ he is. Played some great great music and he knew how to get and keep everyone out dancing and enjoying themselves. He knows how to entertain whatever the crowd. Definitely will be back to McGettigans.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eire_Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey M, Manager at McGettigan's Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear Eire_Keith,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback on your recent visit to McGettigan's Al Ain.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and found the service team so welcoming- we really do love welcoming all of our guests and ensuring everyone has a great time!
Your note on Enda is welcomed. We are lucky to have him! Please be assured that all of your positive assertions will be passed to the team members, including Enda.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. If you do require anything in the meantime, please do contact me on stacey.mcwilliams@danathotels.com

Warm regards
Stacey McWilliams
Pub Manager
McGettigan's Al Ain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

The H&J was in itself nothing special except for the balcony which was lovely to sit on in the evenings. The new McGettigans offering is glitzy and modern but somewhat characterless. It is more a sports pub you’d find in an airport departure lounge or a bar for passers by to drop in. It’ll take a while for it to catch on in Al Ain....

Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey M, Manager at McGettigan's Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear Mr MacConduibh
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback about McGettigan's Al Ain. I completely understand the sentiment that you miss the Horse&Jockey Pub (H&J), it was a longstanding institution in Al Ain, and McGettigan's is indeed a complete transformation from the previous design and format. I have noted a number of our regular guests who live locally who feel the same way and who also appreciate the new Theme Nights, Entertainment line up, the improved draught beer lines/quality and increased quality of screens for sport viewing. That said, it will indeed take time for our wonderful H&J regulars to feel as comfortable in McGettigan's as they did in their days in H&J but I hope we can help all of you to feel as welcome as possible and to find ways we can accommodate any needs or requests from previous visits and memory.
I do hope we can welcome you back in the future and if you do have any suggestions or requests for how we might help with the transition to McGettigan's, I would completely appreciate the opportunity to try and accommodate. You can contact me on stacey.mcwilliams@danathotels.com.
Once again, Mr MacConduibh, thank you so much for taking the time to give us your thoughts. It really is only through such feedback that we can continue to improve our offerings and guest experience

Warm regards
Stacey McWilliams
Pub Manager
McGettigan's Al Ain


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGettigan's Al Ain also viewed

Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to McGettigan's Al Ain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing