We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Posada del Virrey(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Don Antonio Posada(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Charco Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nova Posada(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada de la Flor(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada Las Terrazas(Colonia del Sacramento)
US$101
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Estancia Finca Piedra(Colonia del Sacramento)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Mirador Hotel and Spa(Colonia del Sacramento)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
129
21
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
21
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect place to unwindbuenos airesswimming poollemongrovestray
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 159 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2011

La Casa de los Limoneros really exceeded our expectations. The reallity is a million times better than what you see in the pictures. The service was excellent, and the home made breakfast in the beautiful green house was amazing. It felt like being on an estate. Try the Parillada!!!! When we went there, the owner, Sergio, cooked the bbq, and it was fantastic! We will definately go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalesander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We loved staying in this gorgeous house in the Uruguayan countryside. The grounds are stunning and lying by the pool overlooking the lemon groves is incredibly relaxing. At night, the sound of thousands of frogs croaking by the ponds lends the place a magical atmosphere. The staff of Javier, Carolina and Raquel are very friendly and welcoming and although there is no restaurant at night you can have an asado, which is far better food than anything you can get in very pricy Colonia 10 kms away. We had the best morcilla we have ever tasted – scrummy. The staff always tell you in advance how much things cost - so there are no surprises later on. The house is decorated in a rustic style and you feel you are staying in a good friend’s home. Perhaps the bed-linen could be a bit more luxurious for the price of the room. However, having said that, we look forward to our next visit. English is not spoken but why should it be - we're in Uruguay after all!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2010

My husband and I were really excited about coming to stay here. It seemed like it was going to be great. Unfortunately, we left feeling let down by the whole experience. The staff are very nice- but be warned that they do not speak a word of english- not that I expect them to be fluent- but when you are running a hotel that caters to tourists from around the world- it would be wise to perhaps keep that in mind. The grounds are lovely, as is the casa- but be warned that the mosquitoes are some of the worst I have ever seen! You cannot even take a walk without being eaten alive- so don't be charmed by the photos of the pool- because you couldn't sit out there even if you cover yourself in deet! The room was nice- but the shutters were filthy and the walls are PAPER thin. As the casa is quite far from town, you are pretty much forced to eat in house. We asked about the cost of meals and wine, but the staff were not sure of these prices- until of course we were checking out! A plate of tapas with some bread is $15 (US) and dinner is $30 (US) each which does not even include a glass of wine- and is the exact same every night. Word to the wise- DON'T BOTHER!!! There are loads of other places to go and stay for much better prices.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidandpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2009

La Casa de los Limoneros is my favorite spot when I travel to Argentina, I always keep 4 days for Colonia Uruguay and go to this incredible posada. It is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy nature. Surrounded by the most beautiful lemon orchards, and incredible landscapes, and just minutes away from the old city of Colonia! It is esy to travel from Buenos Aires, just 1 hr away by ferry, and an excellent break from the city life.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and returned from a trip to Buenos Aires in May, and it was a blast. Buenos Aires had the food, wine, music, museums and shopping that we had been promised we would love. The nine days we had to travel were mostly all spent in BA, all but 3 nights. It was a hard pick passing up the Iguazu Falls, but we decided instead to go to Colonia, Uruguay. After surfing the web and Trip Advisor, we decided to reserve a room at Casa de Los Limoneros, a small and beautiful Villa-like house(they have a website). It was the best decision we could have made. It was gorgeous, like a paradise for us. We come from the Bay Area, California, and were wanting some down time and a contrast to the world we live in. Buenos Aires was a blast but its hard to unwind three and slow down there. Casa de Los Limoneros had a big pond in front-- that we woke up to every morning, with 8 acres of lemon orchard, miles of country road to stroll on, and for shopping and eating out, the small ancient town of Colonia. The atomosphere of the house is like "this is your home, enjoy it", the staff let us go in the animal pen with a sheep, birds, turkey; we had the company of 3 nice dogs, one that even loved to follow us around. We found flowers, butterflies, lemons, horses, cows, fishermen, an old bull fighting ring that had only been used for 8 bullfights over 100 yrs. ago, and some of the best food in the old town of Colonia (Italian, Crepes and fish). At the Casa there were CDs to explore at night as we hung out at the house. The house is very old and mixes a antiques with modern design. One of the owners is an architect. The home is gorgeous, the architecture is amazingly old and has a feeling of the old and grand. It was just as exciting as the old and grand Buenos Aires and made a good contrast. Price: approximately $100-120 with breakfast included. Other meals can be ordered at extra cost, however, you can go into town to eat as well.

1  Thank ChicanaSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews