We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't get enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de los Limoneros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I'll start with the hospitality of the owners and staff. Both owners were extremely welcoming and charming. Both have their own separate businesses so they aren't always around, but easily accessible if needed. The house staff is VERY friendly and always willing to please the guests. One of the owners speaks fluent English. The place is about 10km from Colonia so a car is a must. However, I saw the owners shuttling guests back and forth to the town and/or nearby beaches. The property has seven or eight rooms, two on the second floor. One of the rooms is occupied by the owners, the other is for guests. I highly recommend it for the quaint balcony overlooking the premises, lakes, lemon orchards, and eventually the river. The rooms are very spacious and charmingly decorated (as is the entire house). The air conditioning could be better. The pool is very large and sparkling clean. The breakfast included in the price is plentiful, fruit, buns, marmalades, cold cuts, yogurts, juice, etc. Nearby river beaches offer long stretches of sand with nobody in sight. Great for skinny-dipping. My only two minor objections is that the website says they accept credit cards (which they don't) and there isn't a single TV set on the premises. That's OK, but it should be mentioned somewhere. Wi-Fi is accessible and free (we watched several movies on Netflix). Highly recommendable and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The premises has two second-floor rooms, one is occupied by the owners, the other is for guests. I...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pocitense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for La Casa de los Limoneros
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

La Casa de los Limoneros really exceeded our expectations. The reallity is a million times better than what you see in the pictures. The service was excellent, and the home made breakfast in the beautiful green house was amazing. It felt like being on an estate. Try the Parillada!!!! When we went there, the owner, Sergio, cooked the bbq, and it was fantastic! We will definately go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalesander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We loved staying in this gorgeous house in the Uruguayan countryside. The grounds are stunning and lying by the pool overlooking the lemon groves is incredibly relaxing. At night, the sound of thousands of frogs croaking by the ponds lends the place a magical atmosphere. The staff of Javier, Carolina and Raquel are very friendly and welcoming and although there is no restaurant at night you can have an asado, which is far better food than anything you can get in very pricy Colonia 10 kms away. We had the best morcilla we have ever tasted – scrummy. The staff always tell you in advance how much things cost - so there are no surprises later on. The house is decorated in a rustic style and you feel you are staying in a good friend’s home. Perhaps the bed-linen could be a bit more luxurious for the price of the room. However, having said that, we look forward to our next visit. English is not spoken but why should it be - we're in Uruguay after all!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My husband and I were really excited about coming to stay here. It seemed like it was going to be great. Unfortunately, we left feeling let down by the whole experience. The staff are very nice- but be warned that they do not speak a word of english- not that I expect them to be fluent- but when you are running a hotel that caters to tourists from around the world- it would be wise to perhaps keep that in mind. The grounds are lovely, as is the casa- but be warned that the mosquitoes are some of the worst I have ever seen! You cannot even take a walk without being eaten alive- so don't be charmed by the photos of the pool- because you couldn't sit out there even if you cover yourself in deet! The room was nice- but the shutters were filthy and the walls are PAPER thin. As the casa is quite far from town, you are pretty much forced to eat in house. We asked about the cost of meals and wine, but the staff were not sure of these prices- until of course we were checking out! A plate of tapas with some bread is $15 (US) and dinner is $30 (US) each which does not even include a glass of wine- and is the exact same every night. Word to the wise- DON'T BOTHER!!! There are loads of other places to go and stay for much better prices.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidandpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

La Casa de los Limoneros is my favorite spot when I travel to Argentina, I always keep 4 days for Colonia Uruguay and go to this incredible posada. It is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy nature. Surrounded by the most beautiful lemon orchards, and incredible landscapes, and just minutes away from the old city of Colonia! It is esy to travel from Buenos Aires, just 1 hr away by ferry, and an excellent break from the city life.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

My husband and returned from a trip to Buenos Aires in May, and it was a blast. Buenos Aires had the food, wine, music, museums and shopping that we had been promised we would love. The nine days we had to travel were mostly all spent in BA, all but 3 nights. It was a hard pick passing up the Iguazu Falls, but we decided instead to go to Colonia, Uruguay. After surfing the web and Trip Advisor, we decided to reserve a room at Casa de Los Limoneros, a small and beautiful Villa-like house(they have a website). It was the best decision we could have made. It was gorgeous, like a paradise for us. We come from the Bay Area, California, and were wanting some down time and a contrast to the world we live in. Buenos Aires was a blast but its hard to unwind three and slow down there. Casa de Los Limoneros had a big pond in front-- that we woke up to every morning, with 8 acres of lemon orchard, miles of country road to stroll on, and for shopping and eating out, the small ancient town of Colonia. The atomosphere of the house is like "this is your home, enjoy it", the staff let us go in the animal pen with a sheep, birds, turkey; we had the company of 3 nice dogs, one that even loved to follow us around. We found flowers, butterflies, lemons, horses, cows, fishermen, an old bull fighting ring that had only been used for 8 bullfights over 100 yrs. ago, and some of the best food in the old town of Colonia (Italian, Crepes and fish). At the Casa there were CDs to explore at night as we hung out at the house. The house is very old and mixes a antiques with modern design. One of the owners is an architect. The home is gorgeous, the architecture is amazingly old and has a feeling of the old and grand. It was just as exciting as the old and grand Buenos Aires and made a good contrast. Price: approximately $100-120 with breakfast included. Other meals can be ordered at extra cost, however, you can go into town to eat as well.

1  Thank ChicanaSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

It was an honour to be the first ever Australian guests at this b&b, It truly is heaven and we had a wonderful 2 night stay . The house is magnificent as is the food and surroundings. The pool would be wonderful in mid summer. Our two hosts were charming and informative and took us out for a drive, also the history lesson Mario gave us when driving through Colonia was excellent. Colonia is a wonderful old town and a great place to see the sun go down whilst enjoying a glass of local wine before heading back to a picture perfect lemon grove. Loved the trio of labradors too !!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank travellingmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
5.8 km away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,103 reviews
7.1 km away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
925 reviews
7.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
979 reviews
7.0 km away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#12 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
344 reviews
7.3 km away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de los Limoneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de los Limoneros

Address: De Julio 352 Colonia del Sacramento 18 | Carretera Humberto Mignones Esquina Camino Tomas Assandri Real de Vera, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: $88 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa de los Limoneros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Los Limoneros Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
La Casa De Los Limoneros Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing