We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dreamed place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de los Limoneros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2014

The house of the Lemon Trees is a dreamed place. A place that has a special energy that inspires you from the moment you get in.
The house as such is beautiful, the decoration just perfect, the garden, the trees, the flowers and the landscape amazing. Sergio and Mario (the owners) and the crew, are there to spoil you. You share the common places of the house with others guests, even at the big dining table, but it is all just natural, you don’t feel forced to or loosing your privacy at any time. And sharing and chatting with others is for free. You don’t pay any extra.
It is a perfect place for families, honeymooners, couples, and lovers.
You wont find anything of a conventional hotel (no gym, no spa, no kids club, Casino, no TV set, etc.). The house has a beautiful outdoor pool for summertime, in the middle of a natural garden, perfectly arranged. You can walk and you can bike in the surroundings. It is also very safe. Colonia downtown, is just 10 minutes away by car, enough close to visit and enjoy but also enough far to make you feel the beauty of being in a noise free place in the middle of nowhere.
It is worthwhile visiting the historical part of “Colonia del Sacramento” that brings you back to the Conquerors period. You will experience in just one place, the differences of the parts of the city built by Portuguese conquerors and those parts built by the Spaniards.
As well, for such a small town in a tiny country as Uruguay, you have in Colonia quite nice places to visit as well as a very good offer for wining and dining.
But in our case, we spent almost all the time in the house and in the garden.
We enjoyed in the House of the Lemon Trees, a quite good assorted breakfasts buffet, lunches and dinners from Friday evening until Sunday evening. We have fresh fish from the sea (fished in Punta del Este); typical Uruguayan barbecue; a special vegetable wok and pasta and for the “gran finale” we have “Spanish paella” (Valencia style). Everything prepared with care, natural and organic ingredients and excellence.
The beauty of the place is that you can just stay there doing nothing.
Is kind of wellbeing feeling that I have never enjoyed before. Is kind of magic. We were a family group with a large variety of ages twelve, thirteen, some forties and up and myself celebrating my seventy anniversary. The birthday cake was Lemon pie, of course!!!
Despite the difference of ages everyone find it owns, reading, playing cards or table games, playing piano, listening soft music or just relaxing. No complains.
No one bother about the weather. No one bother missing the preferred TV show or the football match of the day.
It was a perfect time in a dreamed place.

Room Tip: Rooms are similar
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for La Casa de los Limoneros
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2014

We were looking with my wife for a place to take some fresh air from buenos aires busy city life. We looked at a few places and decided on la casa de los limoneros (house of the lemon trees) and we were not disappointed at all. Mario and Sergio, the owners were the best tenants we ever met: helpful, thoughtful and very interesting people. The place in itself is a real gem. The whole grounds is covered by a wide array of beautiful cactus and all sort of plants and trees, a true botanical garden and very well taken care of. (They planted all of them themselves years ago and the result is beautiful). The huge array of lemon trees is also a great visual treat and the two ponds near the hotel is just the cherry on top. They also have a huge swimming pool area outside with everything to rest and catch up on your reading list. The house in itself is impressive, built from scratch with antique doors and great materials, it's the best of the authentic old with the freshness of the new. The two big fireplaces was one of my favorite things. The room we were in was perfect, ample place to put your cloth, huge bathroom and confortable with no TV exactly how it should be. In conclusion we are already planning to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We took three family members visiting from Texas and little did we know what a treat awaited us. Maurio and Sergio were the greatest of hosts arranging everything for us in Colonia. . We spent the first day at La casa de los Limoneros enjoying a clear sunny day surrounded by fragrant vines and flowers.Walking down to the river for the sunset was A+. Fatima and Marsela fixed wonderful meals and helped us in every way. I can't wait to go back, listen to the concert of frogs at night, relax reading by the pool, see more flowers, and especially to swim laps in the delightfully long pool.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms I think. I saw three and they were all beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmwade2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Romantic, delicious, generous, warm: place and people make that possible.
Sergio, Mario and the crew give a comfortable stay. The house is an architectural gem outside and inside you can enjoy beautiful details.
Ride a bike, enjoy a delicious dinner, walk in the park or just look at the sunset through the trees.
Have a rest and have a talk with the people of this magic place.

Room Tip: All of them are comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamikatzev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

There are conflicting feelings about this hotel,
the good - lovely location with beautiful grounds with ponds full of frogs & a nice pool. The house has lots of rooms to rest in . The food at night was very nice as was breakfast eaten in
a nice little room next to the kitchen. The staff were very friendly & even though no one spoke
English & our Spanish is poor we got by very well.
The bad- The 2 days we spent there seemed to coincide we all manner of events. First the weather was terrible high winds & rain ( I thought I was in CYCLONE IN Aus) not the hotels
fault but stopped us from enjoying the grounds pool etc. On top of this a party had booked out most of the rooms for a 40th birthday celebration for the two days we were there & this went on till 3am & then 7am & as our room was next to the dinning room not much sleep .
( the irony was the guys birthday 13/04, was also mine )The rooms seemed fairly basic with a nice outdoor sitting area which due to the weather we could not use. But for myself the main drawback of this hotel is the distance from Colonia if you do not have a car it is hard to get in & out being 20mins from the town. So if like us you have only 2 days you miss
out on seeing the town in full . So to conclude if you have a car & good weather this is a nice place to stay but without these things not so good. Also check that 30 guests are not planning a 40th Birthday party during your stay!!!

Room Tip: get a room away from dinning/kitchen area.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Three generations of my family stayed with Mario & Sergio in three rooms. 1st the property is simply stunning...acres of lemon trees, interesting foliage, ponds, birds...it was the perfect place to walk & ponder or sit & read after crazy Buenos Aires. 2nd, the rooms are just perfect...with outdoor sitting rooms attached to each...so comfortable and inviting. 3rd, the hospitality is so comfortable...Mario went out of his way to give us recommendations, both in Colonia but also in Argentina places we would be traveling too. Sergio was a hoot, so much fun. My kids loved the onsites dogs and were touched at Sergio going above & beyond to help a tired, hungry stray that visited during our stray. A really special place that I hope I have the opportunity to visit again. Colonia is a wonderful town and takes an afternoon to see but the Posada is a good place for three nights. My only recommendations for the hosts would be to invest in better bicycles and let guests know there's no pool boy, so speak up when you need something (we were excellent at that but shier folks might need some support). Really wonderful place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreensSEattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Nice visit and relaxing time! Stayed in the 2nd floor room (room G) to celebrate our anniversary. So cozy! Two rooms. Nice breakfast included in the morning. So secluded location! Beautiful Olympic size pool with chairs and shade covering. Close to town but we had a car to use to drive in to town. Unique property. Many areas to sit and enjoy wine and beer.

Room Tip: We had Room G. This was the 2nd floor room with a small balcony.. Looks like the 1st floor rooms h...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
5.8 km away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,099 reviews
7.1 km away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
921 reviews
7.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
979 reviews
7.0 km away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#10 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
344 reviews
7.3 km away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de los Limoneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de los Limoneros

Address: De Julio 352 Colonia del Sacramento 18 | Carretera Humberto Mignones Esquina Camino Tomas Assandri Real de Vera, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: $88 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa de los Limoneros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Los Limoneros Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
La Casa De Los Limoneros Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing