We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
29
119
58
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
119
58
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry terminal great location air conditioning old town walking distance one night butter uruguay breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 223 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

We only stayed one night but the staff made us feel right at home.
We walked up from the ferry terminal and it was very easy to find.
Breakfast was just rolls with butter and ham along with juice and coffee/tea, but apparently that is more than the typical Uruguayan breakfast.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank tttgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile

Location was very good, close to walk to ferry terminal, centre etc. Breakfast was good, staff pleasant. Rooms quite small, but not uncomfortable. Great place to be able to explore this wonderful area of Colonia.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Muimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2016

This small hotel has about 24 rooms on 2.5 floors.It is convenient to everything a half block from Gen Flores,which is the main street through downtown.We were given room #1,which is right off of the lobby entrance and facing the street.The cable didn't work and it was too noisy,so we asked to be put further inside and were given a room with working cable and a nice bathroom.Regardless,the second night,The Plaza Colonia Soccer(Futbol)team won the national championship for the first time in their 100 year existence,so the all night party,unfortunately,was just outside of our room.No sleep for a few nights.
Beyond that,there are 7 museums within walking distance,plenty of good food,fruit and veggie markets,a vegan restaurant,the City Hall with the Artigas statue in front,and cobblestone streets everywhere.They have a long Rambla(wide sidewalk dotted with beaches and exercise equipment)that stretches for several miles,plus the ruins of an old Spanish castle with cannons and a drawbridge that is still there.If you stay at the Hotel Romi,get rooms 8 to 10 on the first floor,or rear rooms on the second and third floors.Bear in mind that not all rooms have a landline phone,though they do have WIFI,so it didn't matter to me.Overall highly recommended for convenience,price and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the rear away from the street and lobby!
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmdrmd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2016

Located near the bus and ferry terminals, and an easy walk to the older part of town. The room was clean and well maintained, and the staff was friendly. The internet was less than ideal. Although present and accessible, it continually kicked me off. It was easy enough to log back in, but interruptions are not conducive for working.

Oddly, while we were sleeping, one of the maids opened our door without knocking and it was rather awkward.

The rooms are weirdly damp. If you shower in the morning, the condensation will still be on the bathroom walls at night. It makes for a chilly stay in fall/winter.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2016

I actually stayed here twice on my recent trip. Rooms were very clean, comfortable beds and fine bathrooms. Quiet convenient location for bus, ferry and the old city. Breakfast was the standard (poor) fare as is normal in Uruguay. But at least the coffee was fine and all you asked for.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddieInIthaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews