We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the Money - Upgrades planned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth the Money - Upgrades planned”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed two days in Feb/12, check in was expediant and the staff were very professional and helpful. Evening reception and daily breakfast were very good and the quality was better then expected. Food was hot and plentiful. Suites are dated but comfortable given the amount of time spent there and TV stations were in abudance. It is clearly advertised in the hotel that upgrades are planned over the next few months. Location was good especially as we are very familiar with the area, restaurants and bars. Definitely will look the return when the upgrades are complete.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtlHabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    103
    44
    13
    11
See reviews for
114
48
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My stay was mediocre I used the murphy bed and when I pulled it down there was dirt and garbage hiding behind it so it made my sleep uncomfortable. I liked the size of the suite and the kitchen seemed clean. It did seem a bit dark and definitely needs refreshing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I am a Marriott Platinum, and have not been this disappointed in many years. This RI represents the original layout, with a series of buildings, and outside staircases. We could not make a step in the room without the floor sounding like broken glass. I found gaps in the floor under the carpeting. The murphy bed and the pull-out couch were almost unuseable.

Bill, it's time to tear this one down.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. The hotel room was very outdated and dirty. The staff had a very nonchalant attitude. The breakfast was less than appetizing. The bagels were very stale. The bathroom in our room was dirty and the toilet barely flushed. This hotel needs a make over. I would not go back for another stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArizonaMamaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
386 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel is in a good location and the staff are very friendly. Excellent overall value and a very good breakfast (super staff in the morning) but the rooms are a bit tired and need a refresh. The chairs had some burn holes in them and some hair was left on the sheets by the previous guests which made us wonder about the cleaning staff. The Internet was painfully slow. Close to shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hkloban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed at the Residence Inn in Amherst near SUNY Buffalo. The location was perfect for visiting our family. We really liked the rooms, with the kitchen and living area. The bed was very comfortable. We didn't try out the fireplace, although it seemed to be a very nice feature for cold Buffalo winters. The only complaint we had was that the showers tended to be luke-warm, especially if we showered later in the morning. We heard from the front desk that they plan renovations at this location, and we would recommend bigger (or better) water heaters. A nice place, and good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed Dec 25 -26 Check in was easy we're very helpful. Room was very Clean & spacious lots of Tv to choose from . Morning Staff do great job of Breakfast !!! Feels just like a home away from home !!!! Close to lots of Shopping & Great Food Ted.s , Duffs , Wegmen's Grocery & Tim Hortons. Great choice to stay !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjoe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
1.5 km away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
3.7 km away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.8 km away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
1.4 km away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst

Property: Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Address: 100 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14221-2922
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Residence Inn Amherst
Buffalo Residence Inn
Amherst Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing