We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood but $4.50 for a can of soda is steep ”

Ali Baba Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 106 Restaurants in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This place is popular so early arrival is recommended if you want a table outside. Service was friendly and our food came within a very reasonable time. We both had the fisherman’s basket which I can recommend and you can order it grilled rather than fried. So far so good.
When we asked for the check, our waiter immediately answered 39 dinar. No check was forthcoming.
This seemed a little high so after paying, I insisted on a receipt and that seemed to make him squirm.
Eventually a receipt came and they had charged 2.750 JD + 17% service and tax for a small can of soda. This amounts to US$4.50. Menu listed soda as 1.5 JD + service and tax.
If the management is reading this, you either have a policy of overcharging on drinks or you have a waiter and likely a cashier who are making some extra money. Either way, it impacted negatively on the rating I gave your restaurant!

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Alkemist-SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I am so surprised that this restaurant got such good reviews on tripadvisor.
The restaurant is busy most nights and suspect it is because they serve alcohol instead of the quality of food.
We were served our drinks at the end of our meal after requesting it twice. The fish basket was way too salty and vile. My husband had a chicken dish that was tasteless. Only reason I gave two marks was hummus and veal which was nice.
This place is also more expensive then most. Go for the alcohol and nothing more.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank lizzyOD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

A fine authentic tipical arabik restaurant. Very good and fresh food.
Humus. Lamb . Mixed grill. Fresh fish. Medium price.
Always full. Recomand you to make a reservation.
Odelia

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Odelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

Historically the best place to eat in Aqaba city.

Nice terrace and alcohol available including local wines

Reviews have been mixed and the menu at first glance seems to be a bit touristy.

Nice selection of local starters mains If you opt for the fish or shrimp dishes you can’t go wrong beautifully cooked and well flavoured

Nice to walk into evening shops and 15 mins from the main hotel area

Good value

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank BrianE155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

Despite the pretty limited choice in the menu, more international than local, it’s a good restaurant with friendly and informal staff.
Cheap price and good quality food.
Suggested!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Kinothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ali Baba Restaurant also viewed

Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 

Been to Ali Baba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing